Kaiyodo Revoltech Saber Alter

dsc049591

This is Saber Alter from Kaiyodo’s Revoltech line-up released in June 2007 and retailed for 2,380 yen.  I only started to collect figures around august of 2008 so this figure was a hard find for me.  I ended up paying about $150 HKD for this saber (approx. $20 Cdn at that time) which I considered quite pricey as it almost doubled what I paid for the Saber Revoltech.  But I think it was worth it since this is one of the few Saber Alter figures on the market, and I got her when the Canadian Dollar was at its peak during summer.  I think you can see some colour fading off in this picture, I’m not sure if it’s fading or part of the design though ^^;

dsc049471

The figure’s revolver system is identical to those of regular Revoltech, and differs from those of the Fraulein Revoltechs.  The joints on this Saber Alter (and Saber) are well hidden in her armor with the torso joint being the most visible.  I’m not sure if it’s the armor on her or the difference in design altogether, but I feel Kaiyodo did a much better job in concealing the joints and allowing for maximum posability than they did with the Fraulein line.  The main difference in design between the two are the use of revolver ball joints on the shoulder, hip, and the knee.

dsc049501

The details on this Saber Alter is fair because I think they could’ve done a better job with her armor, eyes, and hair.  This is why I choose to cover her eyes since it makes posing her much easier for me ^^;  Saber Alter comes with four extras which include two swords (one not pictured because I thought it belonged to Saber instead ^^;), a extra hair set which doesn’t cover her eyes, and a stand which I almost never use.  Yes, that’s it for the extras included with her.  I was quite disappointed with the lack of extra hands which I thought would help a lot with her posability.  The standard set of hands look okay most of the time, but her poses are limited when her hands are clenched in a fist all the time  “orz

dsc049511

Her poses are also limited due to her bulky armor which makes some poses impossible without pulling her arms off.  Another limitation to her leg movement is the lack of flexibility on her “skirt”.  Though they are made with somewhat soft plastic, but it’s not soft enough to pose her kneeling down as she would just float in mid-air being lifted up by her skirt.

dsc049531

However, this figure’s built is very sturdy as it does not have the random falling parts problem that Fraulein owners faces.  The weakest link on this figure is the large ball joint in its torso, but it still doesn’t cause her body to fall off like the first batch of Fraulein girls.

dsc049542

Although the build of this Revoltech is much sturdier than those of the Frauleins, many points are lost for this figure due to the lack of extras and accessories, the limited posability caused by her armor, and the crappy stand she comes with.  She is a get if you want a Saber Alter in your collection (probably the most affordable one), but I wouldn’t recommend her to people who aren’t interested in a Saber Alter.  Furthermore, she would be a really hard find nowadays as I haven’t seen one available since I picked this one off the shelves in Hong Kong last summer.

dsc049551

Saber’s sword gets a dark treatment.

dsc049601

She have one of the most coolsome armor around ^^  I just wished they put a little more detail on her armor…

dsc049781

dsc049821

The joints on her is more revealing when looking at her from the back.

dsc049841

dsc049902

dsc049971

dsc049991

dsc050051

dsc050112

dsc049621

The front part of her hair can be removed and replaced with another set.

dsc049631

The two sets of hairs packaged with this Saber Alter.

dsc049641

Her eyes look quite freakish IMO, that’s why I prefer to display them covered ^^;

dsc049671

Having her eyes looking towards the side makes posing her all-the-more difficult.  Another reason to pose her with eyes covered…

dsc049681

She does look coolish and freakish like this though  ^^;

dsc049741

dsc050851

dsc050891

dsc050911

dsc050921

dsc050932

dsc050982

dsc051011

dsc051061

dsc051131

dsc051151

dsc051231

dsc051321

dsc051441

dsc051461

dsc051471

dsc050152

Revoltech Saber and Saber Alter.  Review of Saber coming soon  ^^;

dsc050171

dsc050261

dsc050301

dsc050321

dsc050451

Just couldn’t resist throwing this Yotsuba head on Saber Alter  ^^;

dsc050461

dsc050491

When Saber Alter was a kid…

dsc050503

I love the interchangability of Revoltech parts.  I wonder if Figma parts will fit on Revoltechs (or vice-versa)…can’t wait til my Figmas come in  ^^;

dsc050562

The Futami twins dawns the Saber armors and joins the cosplay fun as they passed by the studio  *yummy*

dsc050661

Can’t get enough of their cuteness, they need to make some PVC of the Futami twins…

dsc050681

dsc050731

They should put this costume in the iDOLM@STER game.

dsc050771

On a totally unrelated topic, this is the first figure review on my new blog and I’m quite satisfied with the photo uploader as it didn’t cause formatting problems like blogspot.  However, it’s a pain in the ass when you can’t upload and insert pictures into the article in bulk  “orz

You might also be interested in:

Fraulein L

Revoltech Saber L

6 Responses to “Kaiyodo Revoltech Saber Alter”


  1. 1 natsukijiro 04/03/2009 at 02:47

    nice pictures! u really took a lot of detail! its a big help for me… thanks!

  2. 3 tenchujin 04/25/2009 at 21:13

    Thanks for the review…can’t help laughing at those interchanged faces specially with Yotsuba (^_^)

  3. 5 jigoku05 11/11/2009 at 01:02

    Though I’m not a fan of fate/stay and I like figma better than revoltech. I just bought one from play-asia coz it’s realy cheap! only USD12.90! I must say that it’s better looking in person than on pics.

    • 6 Tommy 11/14/2009 at 15:11

      The good thing about these Revoltech figures is that they always end up in sales. I got a lot of my revoltech figures for less than half the retail price. :)


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

