Half Wall-O-Figures Completed

dsc07937

I had to do an English Literacy Test as part of a pre-admission requirement for an animation program in College yesterday.  The test itself wasn’t too hard as it was multiple choice (which I’m very good in ^^;) and covered reading, vocab, and grammar.  I think I did pretty good in it, but there were many other folks taking the same test and all of them are fighting for the limited admission space.  I will talk more about the program and why I chose it in the future when I get accepted.  *fingers crossed*  This is another reason why I’ve been working hard on my portfolio, and doing less blogging recently.

dsc07894

I took off to Ikea after writing the English test to do some shopping for my room.  I initially planned to do the shopping in Feb, but decided to go yesterday because it was swimming in my mind during the test.  Wanted to cover the Ikea stores in the GTA area as well, but the weather wasn’t holding up yesterday so I didn’t take any pictures of the store.  Will promise to do that later.

dsc07895

I picked up three more Ljusdal glass shelves to add to the two that I got a couple weeks ago.  These are the only wall mounted glass shelves from Ikea that can handle some of the larger figure bases, and they look really nice too.  The Ljusdal shelves cost a measely $15 a pop unlike other Ikea furnitures which usually cost you an arm and a leg to buy.  The only down side to it is that you’ll have to drill many many holes in your wall to mount one of them.

dsc07896

As mentioned, I already had two of them installed, and wanted to add to it since two wasn’t merely enough to display my figures…well…five still isn’t enough to display all my figures “orz

dsc07908

This is what you can expect when you open the box.  A glass pane, a metal bracket, and a screaming mom outside your room.

dsc07911

I don’t know what I was smoking when I decided to have the moldings painted red in my room.  I definitely want them out now.

dsc07913

After some measuring, drilling, din dins, and 24 holes later the brackets are almost ready for installation.  I say almost because there’s a VERY important step before you can mount the brackets.

You’ll notice that I put up some plastic sheets around the work area to prevent dust from flying all over the place during drilling.  Another option is to move the surrounding furnitures so you don’t have to clean them afterwards.

dsc07914

The plastic sheets catches most of the falling debris.  But some still get through, so vacuuming is inevitable.

dsc07916

The really important step that I mentioned was to put some plastic screw anchors in the holes if you don’t want to be replacing your wall(s) anytime soon.

dsc07921

You won’t be needing these if your walls are built with solid wood.

dsc07922

Some hammering, and the anchors should be sitting flush with the wall.  Something’s wrong if it’s not sitting flush with the wall…

dsc07931

The wall definitely looks better with five brackets in place.

dsc07932

The glass shelves goes on soon after, and I have to say that it looks REALLY good.

dsc07936

Another view from the front.

dsc079371

The figures go on, but not quite according to plan.  I wanted to display all my Revoltechs on the bottom shelf, but there were just too many of them.  So in the end, I had to put them on some of the shelves in the upper level as well.  I already have plans to put up more shelves in my room because my figures list is still growing ^^;

dsc07943

Top shelf: Bunny Yuki, Youko, Nurse Mikuru, Nadeshiko, Maid Mikuru.

dsc07941

2nd shelf: Revotech Saber Alter, Mishiro Akatsuki, Nida Schuetlich, Revoltech EVA 01, Rizfis Luttiva Mente, Rudy, Revoltech Saber.

dsc07940

Middle shelf: Revoltech EVA 01 w/ Positiron Rifle, Iori Minase, Yukiho Hagiwara, Fauna, Figma Kagamin, Queen’s Gate Alice, Miku Hatsune, Figma Miku Hatsune.

dsc07939

4th shelf: Revoltech Yotsuba DX Summer Vacation, Lucy Maria Misora, Revoltech Yotsuba, Kurumi Imari, Asuka Langley, Asuka Langley, Revolecth EVA 00, Natsumi Hinata, Revoltech Suzuki.

dsc07938

Bottom shelf: Lots and lots of Fraulein Revoltech…and a couple Figmas…

The reason this article is called “Half Wall-o-Figures Completed” is because I plan to buy four more shelves to complete my *Wall-O-Figures*.  I haven’t set a date as to when that’ll be done, but It’ll most likely be done in February, or March.  I’ll also be needing a new desk since the other half of the *Wall-O-Figures* will go where my work area is currently.  With the future addition Ishould have enough shelving space for the rest of this year’s figure purchases…hopefully…

The display will be shuffled once I’m finished with my portfolio drawings.  Be sure to check out how it looks in the future ^^

2 Responses to “Half Wall-O-Figures Completed”


  1. 1 Maria 08/14/2010 at 06:04

    Very nice!
    Thanks for the idea.
    Good luck,
    Maria.


  1. 1 big dick Trackback on 11/07/2014 at 04:31

Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

