GSC Hatsune Miku

dsc065751

Good Smile Company presents us with their beautiful rendition of Hatsune Miku, the ever-popular mascot for Yamaha’s music synthesizer program *Vocaloid*.  I got her in the mail back in January and promised a review “next week”, but it never materialized because I was hit with school admission material and new job training sessions ^^;  Those are out-of-the-way now, and here’s my promised review…

dsc06798

Good Smile did a great job in capturing Miku’s charm into this 1/8 scale PVC figure.  The sculpt looks great, and she is detailed down to the minute fold in her pantsu…

dsc066851

The paint job looks great overall, but her skin tone looks somewhat artificial in the flesh.  This is not as apparent in the pictures, but she doesn’t look as life-like as some other figures.

dsc06702

Miku’s pair of giant locks flowing gracefully in the air were sculpted beautifully with great detail.

dsc067181

Unfortunately, the turquois used to colour her hair isn’t part of the colour pallette on my camera.  It should have more of a blue-ish-green tint to it ^^;

dsc067341

Any self-proclaimed Miku fan can’t make-do without this GSC Hatsune Miku figure in their inventory.  She’s the best on the market today.

dsc067521

Miku was number one on my fave figure list when she arrived.  She’s since been bumped down to third place behind Queen’s Gate Alice and Hiyori Pixy.

dsc066441

This is the first time I used a traditional paper background for my figure shoots.  I had a tough time finding one for her…

dsc066651

I think they could’ve done more with her hair,  it could do with more detail.  But her hair looks great if you don’t look at it top-down.

dsc066671

Great details on Miku, as expected from a Good Smile product.

dsc067711

This skirto looks sailor-fuku-ish.

dsc067701

Nice boots, I don’t mind being stepped on by one…if it was Miku wearing it ^^;

dsc066561

A very simple, yet neat, hexagon base that’s modeled after a performance stage with Hatsune Miku written on it.  I believe Rin and Len will come with similar bases so you can park them together with Miku.

dsc066721

She looks much better in the flesh, she really does…

dsc066831

dsc066891

dsc066901

dsc066921

The obligatory pantsu (slip) shot ^^;

dsc066961

dsc067071

dsc067091

dsc067111

Not sure about the choice of nail polish used, but it doesn’t look too bad on her.  Great detail on her cut-off sleeves too.

dsc067291

I really need to standardize on my photoshoots to make things easier on photo selection.

dsc067321

I’ve already automated resizing and watermarking, just wish I can automate the selection process too “orz

dsc067461

Do you find that I post too many photos on my photoshoots?  What would you prefer more (or less) of in my reviews…

dsc067541

Do you like more (or less) close-ups?

dsc067581

How about the 360 photos in the beginning of the reviews?  Those usually take up 6-8 photos, and would significantly reduce the picture count if I take them out.

dsc067632

Cast-off reviews usually results in more pictures because it basically turns into another figure in cast-off mode.

dsc067901

I’ll see how I do with next month’s reviews.

dsc067971

dsc068081

dsc068221

Miku is very cute indeed.  I wonder if they’ll be making a scaled MikuMikku Kagamin figure…will be a definite must buy for me.

dsc065541

This shoot was directed by Haruhi Suzumiya.  “Now cast off!!”

dsc068281

It was a pleasant surprise to find her skirt is cast-off enabled.  I prefer my Miku with her skirt on…

dsc068351

But I guess having a cast-off enabled skirt makes it sell better in Japan?

dsc068331

People like to see more pantsu in my reviews, so here’s some Miku pantsu for you ^^;

dsc068341

Nice ribbon in Miku colour.

dsc068381

dsc08556

8 Responses to “GSC Hatsune Miku”


  1. 1 meimi132 03/05/2009 at 19:27

    Same amount!! More even!! I like lotsa photos. Lovely shoot. Me wants my own Miku….

    • 2 theinfernoproject 03/05/2009 at 20:52

      I would love to upload more pictures if they had a picture organizer tool for inserting photos in posts, I have to insert them one-by-one now. There’s a gallery mode, but it’s thumbnails only and you’ll have to click to enlarge. I cap my photo count to 50 now. Thanks for the feedback :)

  2. 3 Matteas 03/06/2009 at 03:28

    Very nice photos. I agree that her skin tone is a little artificial, I think the main problem is that there’s too much yellow. At least that’s what I think judging from my own Miku.
    As for the cast-off, I prefer Miku with skirt on, too. Her skirt is lovely.
    Always good to show a lot of photos.

  3. 5 Jamaipanese 07/12/2009 at 22:13

    artificial looking skin or not, I want one!

  4. 7 Plasmapitch 01/19/2010 at 17:51

    So…just curious, but do you have to disconnect the torso from the legs to take the skirt off or is there a different area you can take the skirt off? I’m asking cause its the last mistake I wanna do especially on a PVC model. Thanks in advance XD

    • 8 Tommy 01/19/2010 at 23:34

      Yes, you remove the torso before taking the skirt off. I would suggest taking her off her base before doing so and be careful with her hair.

      You’re welcome.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

counter for wordpress

