New Arrivals (06)

dsc092951

Another week, another haul.  Not a really big haul this time, but it definitely warranted the customs to slap me with $18 tax and $5 handling charge to tax me…gotta love Canada ^^

dsc092032

This HLJ loot arrived last friday afternoon…when I was still in bed.  Luckily, my brother was awake to receive the loot AND pay the tax to save me a trip to the post office.  Too bad I had to pay him back…

dsc092021

HLJ loot shipped with SAL costing a lil over 10,000 yen.  I didn’t get taxed last time I shipped with SAL, it was an order for 8,800 yen if I remember correctly.  So I guess they tax when it’s over $100 Cdn in value.

dsc092041

So what’s in the box?  GSC Chu Chu Astram, Fraulein Haruhi Suzumiya, and Rihoko Amaha by GDH.

dsc092301

Wanted to get her ever since I saw her review on Dannychoo.com, but she was kinda sold out everywhere I looked.  Luckily, there’s HLJ around.  They seem to have a huge stock of figures hanging around that are sold out everywhere, HLJ FTW!!

dsc092431

I guess it’s kinda late now, but Chu Chu Astram is very NSFW desu.  Chu Chu definitely one-ups Hiyori Pixy in terms of being skimply dressed ^^;

dsc092481

While Pixy-chan have her magical pumpkin hat, Chu Chu have a flexible bat pantsu.  I wonder what it’s doing to Chu Chu with his left claws…

dsc092491

Very beautiful figure by Good Smile again.  The pose is very dynamic, though I have to be extra careful when handling this one.

dsc092511

I really love her outfit with the see-thru top, bustier, and thigh-high boots ^^

dsc092531

I think Chu Chu Astram just kicked Hiyori Pixy down to third place on my faves list.  They’re both very beautiful figures, but they could be too sexy for some…

dsc092541

Rihoko Amaha from WitchBlade by GDH; nothing much to say about her because she was a total impulse buy.  I was just about to take her off my orders list when HLJ sent me the email that “your order is awaiting payment and ready to ship”  “orz

dsc092591

Just stuck with the order and paid for her.  Luckily she was cheap, so I didn’t care much about it.  She was on sale, and looked kinda cute that’s why I placed an order for her.  I have no idea how to strap the backpack to her back…

dsc092631

Haven’t seen a new Fraulein on my wall for six months now.  When they announced the new releases, I was planning to buy the Fraulein Yuki only.  But recently I’ve found new love for Frauleins, and decided that I would collect all of them so I got this as well.

dsc092811

It’s quite ironic that I’ve only found new love for Frauleins after acquiring six Figmas.  Fraulein review will be my first review for this month, so keep your melons peeled for why I’ve found new love for the Fraulein girls.

dsc092841

The Fraulein Haruhi came with a poster…I have absolutely no idea what it’s talking about, but I do see a Queen’s Blade Reina figure at the bottom.  Are they planning to release some girls from the Queen’s Blade series?  Me wants!

dsc092851

I think I’ll need to get my hands on one of them.  The Revo joints are getting harder and harder to take out, not a bad thing overall, but I see myself breaking more Frauleins in the future…

dsc092901

My Haruhi Fraulein came with a present…a smudged print by some dude back in China  “orz  I won’t flip over this because these things happen, but I know many *cough* who would flip and start screaming “Fraulein sucks, no QA, this won’t happen if it was Figma, screw them, Fraulein sucks…” and keep on ranting for five whole pages.

dsc092941

The new Frauleins are really nice, they’ve made significant improvements over the past year.  I hope they’ll be releasing some more Idolm@ster girls this year.  I can’t sit here with just four of them, I want them all!!

dsc092081

Ah, another package that arrived yesterday.  Turn away now if damaged figures makes you cry because this is definitely not for the faint hearted…

dsc092091

Shipping 101 – This is how you SHOULD NOT pack and ship your figures.  Bubble wrap does squat to protect a figure box and its contents.  The figure box and plastic inserts “should” provide enough protection, but I bet it wasn’t designed to ship like this and take the international shipping punishment…

dsc092111

The damaged box didn’t really matter to me because I already have one, so I didn’t care about the condition for this box.  But still, wtf was that guy thinking when shipping this…I surely didn’t pay $100 for something to arrive at my door looking like this.

dsc092121

I’ve read some of the negative comments that people left for this guy about bad packaging…but I didn’t expect him to ship it with bubble wrap  “orz

dsc092131

And you think one would learn after receiving a couple negative feedbacks…depending on what he does with my case, he might be looking at one more.

dsc092141

It is really painful to see something being shipped like this.  I would’ve flipped if I just purchased this and don’t have another Alice box.

dsc092201

Opened the box, and took out the plastic insert.  I thought “good, the figure is okay.”…

dsc092251

Broken tail…I didn’t see this coming…totally flipped now.  I inspected the figure when it was still in the plastic inserts and didn’t see her broken tail, if I did I probably wouldn’t have opened it.  Contacted the seller right away, will wait for reply until Wednesday.  I’ll send one more message if he doesn’t reply to that…then it’s off to Paypal claims if he doesn’t reply still.  One excellent figure wasted by that guy’s poor shipping =__=”

37 Responses to “New Arrivals (06)”


  1. 1 enrius 03/03/2009 at 23:35

    OMG. Sad to see your Alice to have a broken tail. Do update me with your negotiation with the seller.

    And you know what? I couldn’t resisted Alice and I ordered her from the same seller few days earlier. OMFG. My finger are crossed.

  2. 3 Wolfheinrich 03/04/2009 at 23:35

    I am on the same boat here enrius, but I blackmailed the guy and showed him my army of figurines.

    It seems the tail broke off at a rather hard to see location, any thought of doing a self repair in case seller don’t compensate?

    • 4 theinfernoproject 03/04/2009 at 23:55

      I think it should be covered by Paypal’s Buyer Protection because all the conditions are met for a “Significantly Not As Described” item. If he’s not sending me a new one, I’m going to claim from eBay because her left arm bracelet is bent out of shape too.

      Not to be an a$$ over this, but I’m not accepting any compensation other than full refund or replacement. Either way, I’ll have to ship this box back to him “orz.

      The reason behind this is that the value of the figure decreases by 60-80% with a damaged box, and probably depreciates significantly more if the figure is broken like this case. Not that I’m going to sell it, but why pay for something that is damaged in the first place…unless that’s what you expected and paid for.

  3. 5 Wolfheinrich 03/05/2009 at 00:18

    In my case, damage box doesn’t bother me as well as damage figure, because I will toss the box immediately anyway.

    Well let’s see how mine and enirus’ turn out. I told the guy about your broken tail and he said sometime shipping damage cannot be avoided.

    The way to do it is to hit him on where it hurts, he has over 40 Alice and if you make a big enough deal over the broken tail, he probably won’t be able to sell his on ebay very easily now.

    • 6 theinfernoproject 03/05/2009 at 03:37

      Well, I understand that sometimes things happens. But when I look at the bubble wrap + envelop paper packaging, and look at the box…I don’t know what to say. I don’t know if the tail was already broken before it was shipped, but the poor packaging by the seller is definitely to blame for the crushed box.

      Not that I really care about the box in this case, but generally I prefer my items to arrive in undamaged condition especially when I paid a premium to buy that item in the first place. When I paid for something new, I expect it to be new + undamaged. If I wanted to buy something that’s used/damaged, I would go look for used/damaged and not complain about it.

      Basically, if you walk into a store and see two identical items on the shelf – one in mint condition and the other crushed box – which would you pick up and bring it to the check-out counter?

      If he stated that “The item will be flimsily packed with bubble wrap + envelop paper. Additional $2 will be charged if you want it to be shipped in a box or add insurance.” I would’ve gladly handed over that $2.

  4. 7 Wolfheinrich 03/05/2009 at 03:52

    I know what you mean. That dude is at fault, no question.

  5. 8 enrius 03/05/2009 at 04:40

    Funny that I messaged at least 3 of his buyers and all gave him excellent remarks.

    But I definitely agree that you claim either a new Alice or full scale compensation. Good luck!

    And so basically me and Wolf have to wait until our Alice arrives. My fingers are still crossed.

  6. 9 KELTHULAS 03/07/2009 at 13:41

    hm, i want to buy this figure aswell on this shop. Something new about it? do u get a refund or so and how much did u pay for it before? actually its cost like 70€.

    • 10 theinfernoproject 03/07/2009 at 13:52

      I paid $97 USD (including $25 shipping) from the other seller before and it arrived in excellent condition unlike this one.

      I’ve emailed the seller about my situation, he asked me to provide some photos, and that was the last I’ve heard from him. It’s been 5 days now, and he still haven’t responded after sending him the photos. I emailed him a second time today, so I hope he responds to that.

      • 11 Wolfheinrich 03/07/2009 at 14:06

        The seller has sent me email about mine is being sent out. He is procrastinating because he is obviously there and he knows he was in the wrong for not even doing a half way decent job to package alice. If he keep ignoring you, I suggest stronger medicine may be needed. Rotten behavior should be reported to a wider audience. Perhaps to Danny’s blog?

        • 12 theinfernoproject 03/07/2009 at 14:10

          Well, I need to at least give him a second chance to make things right, that’s why I’ve sent the second email. If he doesn’t respond by Sunday, than I’ll be going to Paypal claims, and make a post on Danny’s blog.

          And thanks for letting me know, much appreciated ^^

  7. 13 Wolfheinrich 03/07/2009 at 14:15

    Well it’s the weekend, some people don’t do work related stuff on the weekend. If you are going to give him more time, I suggest Tuesday.

  8. 15 theinfernoproject 03/09/2009 at 03:25

    Hi, an update for those who are following this. He finally messaged me back, and his offer was $10 refund “orz

    I kindly declined that, so waiting to see what will happen now.

  9. 16 KELTHULAS 03/09/2009 at 09:24

    10$ is a pretty joke :). I would force a new one or a over 50$ refund. Otherwise contact ebay/paypal.

  10. 17 Wolfheinrich 03/09/2009 at 11:00

    Well, this is a joke. But here is my thinking. He promised to send mine out with a box, let’s see what happen to my figure. IF mine arrived without major damage, then it’s obviously his fault for not packaging yours correctly, then your claim is justified. IF mine arrived with a broken tail also, then we both contact paypal, raise some hell on danny’s site about this seller and hope for improved offer.

  11. 18 enrius 03/09/2009 at 19:53

    $10 refund for something $93??? That’s ridiculous. I don’t think he’ll be using a box for my shipment since I bought mine not long after inferno’s. I presume he would be using the same package for mine.

    Well, count me in for the paypal claim by then. I’ll update my status as soon as I get mine.

  12. 19 theinfernoproject 03/10/2009 at 18:24

    Hi, another update for those following this!

    The seller have contacted me and said that he is willing to give me an exchange for a new Alice!

    But the seller is asking me to ship my Alice back first, and he is asking me to ship the Alice to an address to Guangdong China.

    I’m being cautious with this one because 1.) if I shipped it back, and he says he never received it, my money is down the drain. 2.) the return address on the package is in Hong Kong, not Guangdong China. And the fact is that his ebay info says he’s in Hong Kong.

    So I contacted ebay about the situation, and just waiting for ebay to reply me. If they tell me that I’ll not be covered if the package goes “missing”, I’ll have no choice but to ask him to ship it first and I’ll return when I receive. If he doesn’t agree, than I’ll claim from paypal than ship it back after getting money back.

    • 20 enrius 03/10/2009 at 20:25

      well that’s a delightful piece of news! at least you’re going to get a new alice.

      I noticed this guy has at least 2 similar ebay shop. you should noticed it when you search Alice in ebay; 2 shops with exactly the same product name & code as well as price for Alice. the main difference is that one is in hong kong, another is in china, which after your update I suspect it is in guangdong.

      well guangdong province is just beside hong kong… so it may be still a valid address. but better play it safe.

      • 21 theinfernoproject 03/10/2009 at 20:32

        Yes, I noticed that too. But because I bought it from the one in Hong Kong, I’m not sure if it is covered if I shipped it to his “other” store because it’s a “different” ebay store. Better to be safe than sorry ^^

  13. 24 Wolfheinrich 03/10/2009 at 23:41

    It’s quite common that the warehouse for them is in china, I know that because I was born in Hong Kong! Too expensive to warehouse in Hong Kong. Did he give you a shipping label? Or you shipping it out of your own pocket? In any event, just pay a little for the postal insurance and you are covered whether he get it or not.

    • 25 theinfernoproject 03/11/2009 at 02:08

      Unfortunately, he didn’t give me a shipping label so I’ll have to ship out of my own pocket. Still waiting for ebay to message me back, so I can determine what’s best.

  14. 26 enrius 03/12/2009 at 19:48

    Hey ya twu, just an update on my Alice.

    I just acquired her this morning and mine was packaged exactly like yours… Plus I can already see the dented shape before opening up the wrap. T.T Seriously I think he can practice better packaging.

    Thankfully as dent as the box is, Alice is intact. Everything looks fine for now, I just had a quick look before sending her back into the box. I’ll do a thorough check once I got back from work. *finger crossed*

  15. 28 Wolfheinrich 03/13/2009 at 01:50

    Waiting for mine to arrive >.>

  16. 29 enrius 03/15/2009 at 01:50

    hi twu and wolf!

    sorry for the late update, but i dont have internet access at home, so hafta settle at a CC. anyway, i checked my alice, and she’s fine, no damage done by the shipping process. but my alice has some obvious paintjob flaws here and there. T.T i just placed an order from a local retailer at a cheaper price, hopefully the next one would be good.

    • 30 theinfernoproject 03/15/2009 at 16:17

      WOW, that sucks. Is the paint job really bad? Do post some photos if you don’t mind. I hope you don’t have any problems with the local retailer (and I hope they come thru with the order ^^;)…

      • 31 enrius 03/15/2009 at 22:58

        there is a glue spot on the tip of her hair and the paint job on her neck is not completely flawless (some silver paint got to her neck, but hafta look closely at her to see it). I’ll post some photos later.

        yeah actually by chance I found out that local retailer can help me get Alice so I just placed my deposit. he straight called the supplier in front of me so I think should be okay. :-) Finger crossed again, haha!

  17. 32 Wolfheinrich 03/16/2009 at 00:13

    I thought Alice is out everywhere, how do your local retailer get it? Mine hasn’t arrive yet, I will be sure to perform detail inspection on mine.

    • 33 enrius 03/16/2009 at 01:29

      Not sure, but looking how the ebay seller got tons of it, I think it is still possible to find her, but at a higher price (Alice only costs roughly USD65 initially).

      So I won’t worry too much about how they get it, as long as it is not bootleg. And he actually is my friend, so if anything happens he’ll return me the deposit.

  18. 34 Wolfheinrich 03/27/2009 at 21:18

    Would like to report back that my Alice has arrived safe and sound, posted pics at my site

  19. 36 KELTHULAS 05/23/2009 at 04:22

    Do you got now ur second Alice without problems :O?

    • 37 T.I.P. 05/23/2009 at 21:19

      No, in the end the seller refunded the money because he wasn’t willing to ship the second Alice if I didn’t cancel the paypal dispute. So I still need to look for a new Alice.


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

