“The Wall” and the “Other” wall…

dsc09487

This is how the wall-o-figures look right now, I adjusted and pointed all my ceiling lights at the wall-o-figures but there’s not much difference.  The Gashapons are fillers, and some figures are ready to be relocated/retired from the wall when room is needed.  I have space for 3 more figures before I have to evict anyone, so It should last me until the end of the month.  Looking forward to Ryu Meifen, Unity Mei, and Konjiki no Yami…ahhh my wallet!!

dsc09489

Opposite to the wall-o-figures is the 3 Detolf glass cabinets where my figures used to reside.  They look really nice and keeps dust away from the figures for three months before I have to dust them down.  But they were very inefficient in displaying figures because I could fit no more than 4 figures on each shelve without it looking cramped and I have to fit them in their like jigsaw puzzles ^^;  The figures in the back row would be obstructed from view, and the figures didn’t look too happy behind the glass.

I use the Detolfs to display my Saint Seiya: Saint Cloth Myth figures, and the loads of LEGO sets I’ve accumulated over the years.  The LEGO sets looks good in it, but I’m constrained to displaying older sets because the new ones are too big for the Detolf.  I would display the Saint Cloth Myth figures and LEGOs in the open, but they’re a real pain to dust down, so I put them behind glass ^^

dsc09488

Don’t mind the burnt halogen bulb, I couldn’t find the replacement I had in my house…need to look for it.  This CITTRA series light really tells the story about IKEA for the past eight years.  I think I got this set of lights back in 2000 or 2001 when it sold for $25 Cdn.  Fast-forward eight years and this same light is being sold for a whopping $50 Cdn!  It was a really good investment because the light looks really good is easy to clean, and the bulbs last an average of 2-3 years before replacement is needed.

My room is full of IKEA furnitures from top to bottom, left to right, and front to back ^^;  I’ll definitely post more photos of my room in the future, but now is definitely not the time because it’s a disaster “orz

11 Responses to ““The Wall” and the “Other” wall…”


  1. 1 Panther 03/10/2009 at 00:13

    Well I hardly think ceiling lights are that good for display, since they waste lots of electricity and have to be replaced. Possibly wall lights are better. Then again I use a display cabinet and will be going for LED lighting.

    • 2 theinfernoproject 03/10/2009 at 00:25

      The lights didn’t really make much of a difference in reality, I just wanted to see how it would look in photos. I’m thinking about getting some lights for it, but haven’t found any that I like yet. I wouldn’t keep the lights on when I’m not in the room, so electricity bill won’t change much ^^

      LED lights would be good, but I like warm lighting more for figure displays. Need to read up on rather or not the lights will make the figures fade in colour…

  2. 3 meronpan 03/10/2009 at 01:55

    Best thing about LED lighting is the low heat ^^ That said, having seen others’ set ups I can appreciate the desire for warmer light.

    Such a beautiful setup! I would kill for some dedicated display space like that. “on top of my desk” and “on top of my manga shelves” is hardly an ideal situation orz

    • 4 theinfernoproject 03/10/2009 at 12:20

      Thanks meronpan. Everyone have their own way of displaying their Figures, as long as it works for you it’s all good ^^

      I would kill for some of the figures you have ^^;

  3. 5 enrius 03/10/2009 at 04:26

    beautiful wall… may i know where u live? i wanna rob visit you.

  4. 7 Wolfheinrich 03/10/2009 at 17:45

    Nice going there. I am glad we are on the same wavelength on Detolf being inefficient in displaying figures! You’re saint seiya fan too eh? I only have one gold saint cloth ;x.

    • 8 theinfernoproject 03/10/2009 at 18:12

      Thanks. Maybe I would like the Detolf better if it was taller, and the shelves were adjustable. I’m fitting 2-3 times more figures on the Ljusdal shelves than I could with 3 Detolfs with no floor space taken ^^ I don’t display any figures on the bottom shelf of the Detolf because you can’t see it when it’s on the floor, but it works great with LEGOs.

      Saint Seiya is more like childhood memory to me since I watched it when I was 5 years old. I used to love it to bits and pieces, but the endings always suck…well…most anime endings suck IMO ^^; But, yeah you can call me a fan of the series…just need to dig out a few extra bucks to get the rest of the Asgard and Hades arc. Needs $$ for Saga Surplice…

      • 9 Wolfheinrich 03/11/2009 at 00:11

        Before I started using Billy, I was actually going to get a Detolf but they were sold out so I was forced to buy a Billy then the progression to using the 3M film was a natural consequence from my early resin collection being exposed to dust. Detolf is no good to seal the air out because of the big gap they put in… sigh… with air circulation, it comes with dust, and eventually, oxidation.

  5. 10 Rin 03/14/2009 at 02:48

    Too bad I don’t have that much room…
    Currently my room can’t fit much…and figures are starting to stack on my floor!!!
    Your room looks more organized then mine for sure…
    Nice Wall of figures…
    I have a wall of boxes…figure boxes…

    • 11 theinfernoproject 03/14/2009 at 23:12

      My room is “organized” as long as I don’t post the mess in the corner ^^; I’ve seen a couple pics of your room on your blog, and anyway I look at it your room is bigger than mine. I just stock pile stuff upwards instead of laying them on the floor ^^

      I think you can connect the dots and see that my bed actually reaches from one end of my room to the other…I haven’t measured my room before, but I think it’s 8′ x 12′, so it’s a really really tiny room in North American standard.

      Ikea is your best friend. I got some storage systems from Ikea that let me put stuff from floor to ceiling. Not to mention that I’ve thrown out a lot of stuff in the past couple months during my weekly room cleaning.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

counter for wordpress

