New York – 2008

dsc025621

I want to share these photos I took during my 3-day New York trip last year.  I only spent one day in Manhattan, and spent the other two days in Woodbury outlet and some other shopping malls that I forgot the names of ^^;   I really like this first photo…I should’ve taken one at a lower angle.

dsc02581

Went to New York in March last year, the skies were clear but the weather was freezing.  I was more interested in the sites and sounds while my brother and his buddy was more interested in utilizing the high Canadian dollar back then.

dsc02583

Have you been to Times Square before?  I know many people from Toronto who’ve been to NY multiple times because of the close proximity of the two cities.  But it was my first time in New York.

dsc02548

I guess March-September is the digging season everywhere ^^;;  It had an unforgettable stench…

dsc02552

dsc02554

I’ve always wanted to join the Canadian Armed Forces, but it never materialized because I know my mom will be worried sick if I was ever sent overseas.  She also disapproves me from joining when I talked to her about it.

dsc02571

Who’s Jack?

dsc02575

dsc02589

Your brain gets flooded with signs, billboards, and advertisements in Time Square.  Not a single inch is spared.

dsc02590

dsc02591

There wasn’t much going on in town when I went…baseball season hasn’t started, and the NY Rangers were out of town…

dsc02597

New Yorkers showing some love to tourists.

dsc02616

Have you been kind to your behind?  I took a pic with their “Dog-van” as well, but my face is on it…still a little shy in showing my self on the net.

dsc02621

What colour is your local cab?  I think yellow is the NYC standard…didn’t see cabs in other colours.

dsc02626

Hershey’s…

dsc02629

M&M’s showing some love across the street.

dsc02642

Are site seeing buses popular in your area?

dsc02645

dsc02648

dsc02671

The buildings in New York adds a lot of character and history to the city, something that many cities don’t have.  I need to head to downtown for some photos when it gets warmer.

dsc02672

dsc02675

The Haier Building.

dsc02676

dsc02677

I’m not really good with downtown street signs.  I’ve been ticketed four times for parking infractions, a couple times the signs were on the other end of the street “orz  If there is one thing you should know, never mess with ANY government agencies…they’ll always get the last laugh!!

dsc02697

But I’ve never got caught in the middle of the street like this guy ^^;;  He was stuck there until the lights turned green again…

dsc02699

dsc02708

The hordes of cabs amazes me to this day.

dsc02710

dsc02712

Not sure what it was about, but it warranted for a picture ^^

dsc02716

Macy’s was celebrating their 150th anniversary last year.

dsc02730

150 year old escalator.  It was kinda creepy to go up a series of wooden esculator.  Not to mention their “aged” elevators  =S

dsc02733

Lunch at Macy’s basement.  It was fish and mash potato with pasta I believe, it was pretty good.

dsc02735

dsc02687

Empire State Building, one of the most popular tourist destination in New York.  The view on their observation deck is second to none, and I would definitely go back again for some night shots.  More info on wiki.

dsc02741

Speaking of wiki, there was a recent report that said something in the lines of “…current high school students rely too much on Wikipedia, and expects excellent results with minimal efforts…”  Do you rely on wikipedia for your information?  I think the info on wiki are reliable and convenient for the most part, but I definitely won’t use it as primary research material ^^;;  I tend to rely on wiki for information that I already know, but is too lazy to search for better sources like text books, journals, etc.

While the Japanese likes to greet us with cute 2D babes…

dsc02747

Americans like to use 3D hunks complete with shovel and tool bag. ^^;;

dsc02754

Got some nice shots from the open-air observation deck at 300m.  So how does it look like 300m above ground?

dsc02774

The CN Tower (in Toronto) have a glass floor that lets you look straight down…it’s a pretty chilling, yet exciting, experience.

Here’s a panoramic view from the ESB observation deck.

empire-state-building-1

empire-state-building-2

empire-state-building-3

empire-state-building-4

My trigger finger syndrome acted up, and I ended up taking loads of pictures while I was up there ^^;;  I used the automated photomerge process in Photoshop to stitch the pictures together in case you wanted to know.

dsc02809

I wanted to stitch the 4 panoramas into a single picture, but Photoshop told me that my “scratch disks are full” and ” you do not have enough memory” to continue the process.  It’s time for a new computer when your programs are telling you that your computer is not good enough ^^  I was going to buy a Mac Book (Pro?) next year…but I might buy it later this year now  x_x”

dsc02949

Awesome looking spire with lots of radio transponders…or transmitters.

dsc02986

The easiest way to tell that there’s a circus in town.

dsc02988

dsc02998

Wayne Gretzky, the greatest hockey player of all time.  He’s my childhood idol as I grew up watching the game of hockey.  I believe he holds 51 NHL (National Hockey League) records including most career goals, assists, and points; and most goals, assists, and points in a single season to name a few.

dsc030031

Hmm…so…I guess it’ll read “Born in Holland.  Raised in [your city]” in other places?

dsc03005

The NY Metro station names reminds me of Monopoly ^^  The street names in Monopoly originated from New Jersey after all.  I’ve lost count of how many different versions of Monopoly there are.

dsc030121

It was hilarious when I saw this lady shouting “DO NOT!! Charge the doors.” in people’s faces with her macrophone(?).  I forgot what they’re called ^^;;  Sorry for the blurry picture, I took on the fly without adjusting the settings.

dsc03021

dsc03029

Ground Zero…nothing much to see…but had to go for once.  Will go again when Freedom Tower is completed.

dsc03041

dsc03045

Never seen one of this before, looks pretty cool ^^  Need one on my driveway  lol

dsc03048

Huge American flag on the side of the NYSE building.  It’s really good to see how patriotic Americans are.  Do you think you guys are more, or less, patriotic now compared to 10 or 20 years ago?

dsc03049

dsc03055

dsc03059

DIY astray.

dsc03063

While many folks were busy trying to climb onto the Wall Street Bull in front, this guy was busy stuffing his head up the bull’s ass in the back… ^^;

dsc03066

The Toys’R’Us in Times Square is awesome, they have everything but anime figures ^^;;  My camera’s battery was dying by the end of the day.  I will take more pictures inside next time.

dsc03114

dsc02494

It was a nine hour drive to New York  “orz  We were suppose to switch drivers every three hours, but the other two never woke up…drove through all kinds of weather during the nine hour drive.  Needless to say, my ass was sore when we arrived at our hotel.

10 Responses to “New York – 2008”


  1. 1 Lu 04/21/2009 at 20:56

    Interesting. My friends and I also went to NYC last year, but we went there during “Thanks Giving”. So the weather’s still good and the Canadian dollar’s still OK. We spent the first day in downtown Manhattan, the second day in museums and the third day in Woodbury Outlet Mall.
    It was actally my first trip there and my impressions are:
    1. There’s tons more people in NYC than T.O.
    2. Their subway stations smells really bad but the system can take you pretty much anywhere.
    3. There’s a lot of good restaurants, desert shops.
    4. Not as safe as T.O., I almost got robbed while touring Wall Street.
    My only regrett is that I didn’t get the chance to take the ferry to see the Statue of Liberty.

    • 2 T.I.P. 04/22/2009 at 03:48

      The Canadian dollar was amazing when I went in March, everything seemed so cheap. ^^; I never got around to visiting museums and things like that since I only spent one day in Manhattan. I need to look up for more places to go to on my next visit, probably some time next year.

      I think one of the biggest problems with Toronto’s subway system is that everything is too saturated, it’s not cost effective like many other major cities, but this is about NY, so I’ll skip my talk. lol It was really great to see the sites and sounds of NY, truly amazing…and the smell is UNFORGETTABLE! Statue of Liberty is also on my list for my next visit.

  2. 3 Lyserg (Fallen-angel) 04/22/2009 at 22:54

    hey T.I.P, if you ever come back to NYC, I would like to become your tour guide. I am from the Bronx and pretty much know certain places of Manhattan. Just give me a shout out and I would be glad to help a fellow friend from DC

    • 4 T.I.P. 04/23/2009 at 02:02

      Thanks for dropping by Lyserg. I will definitely give you a shout out when I head over to NYC, I hope it’s not too troubling. ^^

  3. 5 paradigmshift 04/28/2009 at 20:41

    Same here, I live in Manhattan in Battery Park City, and I work in the Financial District, so I know the area like the back of my hand. One of the perks of my job also is that I can get people into the major museums and landmarks, like the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Natural History Museum, in for free.

    • 6 T.I.P. 04/28/2009 at 20:59

      Thanks, I’ll definitely let you guys know when I visit New York again. ^^ I got perks like that at my workplace as well, free entrance to almost all attractions around Toronto like the CN Tower, Royal Ontario Museum, Toronto Zoo, etc. Some of them are for me+one guest. But the funny thing is that I almost never use it to my advantage. “orz

  4. 7 Tommy 04/29/2009 at 00:14

    Seem like you have enjoyed yourself there. You have made the right decision not to join the army since the military are sending people into their grave early.

    About your panorama pictures I can see they are uneven light all spread out in the background. I like the big view of New York, the uneven light is annoying me.

    • 8 T.I.P. 04/29/2009 at 01:16

      Thanks for dropping by Tommy…feels like I’m talking to myself but welcome. ^^;

      Well, it’s a different story for the Canadian army though we are getting more and more casualties day after day.

      And I’m sorry about the panoramas, my picture taking skills wasn’t that good back then. The clouds and sun setting doesn’t help neither. I’ll try to get better shots next time. ^^;

  5. 9 meronpan 05/04/2009 at 19:21

    looks like you had a nice productive trip ^^

    i went for the first time a year or two ago, but it was to hang out with friends… spent most of the time eating and drinking so didn’t really do any touristy things or take any photos ^^;;

    • 10 T.I.P. 05/05/2009 at 15:34

      Too bad there weren’t any games in town that weekend :( So that’s still on my “to do” list…watch Yankees/Rangers game.


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

