Wooo…Nice Cloth

dsc00631

I finally got around to buying a nice piece of black fabric for my photoshoots last week.  ^^  I’m pretty happy and satisfied with the results, but there’s always room for improvement.  I’m not a fabric expert, so I have no idea what you call it…but I do know that it feels nice and is silky smooth…and costs $10/yard.  “orz

dsc00635

I did a couple test shots for my FREEing Yuki bunny earlier today, so here’s a sneak peak at what the pictures will look like in my FREEing Yuki review.  Speaking of reviews…I still need to find some nice pink’ish background for my GSC Lala review.  I usually leave my pictures unedited for posting, but I had to adjust the shadows with photoshop on a couple pictures with this shoot.

dsc00622

The reflector that I normally use (in photo) wasn’t big enough, so I had to improvise and make a larger one out of poster board (not pictured).  I got some new work hours to contend with so I don’t know how that’ll affect my committment to my blog, I’ll try my best to keep those posts rolling.  ^^;  Basically, I got the short end of the stick at work and got the ever crappy NIGHT SHIFT!!  When I say night…I mean NIGHT! with an exclaimation.  8:00pm – 4:00am shifts…”orz  Just have to live with it for now since I need the money for school, food, and figures…

So what do you usually use for your photoshoot backgrounds?  I’ve been using poster boards, computer monitor, and now, fancy fabrics.

19 Responses to “Wooo…Nice Cloth”


  1. 1 paradigmshift 04/28/2009 at 20:33

    Where would you pick up fabric like this? I really like the look. I’m currently using a really ghetto photoshoot environment with construction paper as my background, and I’d like to switch it up with something like this. Give my figures a little bit more class.

    • 2 T.I.P. 04/28/2009 at 20:54

      I bought it at a local fabric store that had a huge selection of fabrics from all walks of life. I think they had at least 50 types of black fabric. ^^;; Try going into local malls that you would never go to otherwise because that’s where I found the store…somewhere that I would never have went into if my mom didn’t tell me about it.

  2. 3 tenchujin 04/29/2009 at 11:50

    I usually go outdoors for photoshoots, generally play with relative perspective and stuff. Really wanted to build dioramas but hardly have the time since I too am on the night-shift (>.<)

    • 4 T.I.P. 04/30/2009 at 12:02

      I would like to do some outdoor shoots as well, but I’m scared that my figures will melt/fade, and I’m a little shy of onlookers. ^^; Hmm…maybe I should build a diorama like lylibellule

  3. 5 Rin 04/30/2009 at 00:31

    Cool!!!
    It’s cool that you use 2 lights for your shoot. I recommend using 3…
    I’m still using my big white bg poster board…
    I feel when taking pictures close up, I can see the fabric which I don’t like…
    Maybe for some shoots, it’s useful, but for most of the time in my case, fabric bg aren’t used…

  4. 7 lylibellule 04/30/2009 at 09:56

    The draped black fabric gives a very beautiful effect to your photographs!
    You left yourselves well there. (sorry for my bad english :X)

  5. 10 Anime Figures Toy 04/30/2009 at 20:52

    Not that much of a photographer as I have nothing much left to spend on photography stuff after buying figures :) But if I were to do it more it’d be more of outdoors shoots. Your newly acquired cloth looks quite good – think it’s a great idea for you to get more variety of colors later on to provide different contrasts for different figures?

    • 11 T.I.P. 05/01/2009 at 03:46

      That’s what I was thinking too. My next colour should be white/silver/light blue/pink. Not sure which one I’ll get yet.

  6. 12 Wolfheinrich 05/01/2009 at 02:39

    Interesting stuff there, after I finish up with my visual novel marathon run, I would go back to snap a few more pictures again.

    • 13 T.I.P. 05/01/2009 at 03:44

      LOL, thanks. How’s the visual novels going? I haven’t seen much news from you, so it should be interesting when you get around to writing the reviews on your visual novels.

      • 14 Wolfheinrich 05/01/2009 at 09:21

        It takes several days for me to finish writing each arc. So I haven’t had much time to do anything else other than focusing on just summarizing the stories. So far, I have completed the normal story for Feena Fam Earthlight ,Natsuki Takamizawa and I am half way on Estel Freesia’s story summary right now. Feel free to drop by and check them out!

        • 15 T.I.P. 05/01/2009 at 15:30

          I’ll definitely drop by to check them out soon. I was there earlier this week when you updated your VN status with the Feena Farm arc.

  7. 16 sanguinerose 05/02/2009 at 02:26

    I’m still experimenting for a good background, In my last photoshoot I used my white shirt. Maybe I’ll pick up something better when I visit my local cloth store.

  8. 18 meronpan 05/04/2009 at 19:02

    that might be satin? seems similar to what i’m using… though i like the way you’ve used the creases a helluva lot more than what i’ve managed ^^;; i’ll have to try and copy your technique :P


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

counter for wordpress

