FREEing Yuki Nagato Bunny Girl Version.

dsc00726

This is the beautiful Yuki Nagato from the hit series The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya.  Yuki is not your ordinary school girl; no, a humanoid interface created by the Data Integration Thought Entity whose sole purpose is to observe Suzumiya Haruhi.  That would be her, Yuki Nagato.  In other words, she is what we Earthlings would call an “alien”.

dsc00698

Yuki instantly became one of my favourite characters when I first laid eyes on her last year despite having no idea who she was.  ^^;;  There is something about Yuki that appeals to me, something that tickles my fancy, something that I can’t quite put my fingers on.

dsc00639

Yuki is immortalized as a bunny girl in PVC form by FREEing, arguably one of the best looking Yuki figures on the market today.

dsc00640

She is also one of the biggest Yuki’s as well at 1/4 scale, and measures a towering 42cm tall from toe to the top of her bunny ears.

dsc00641

This FREEing Yuki bunny was released back in December 2007 and retailed for ¥11,238.  Not a bad price for a figure of this size and caliber.

dsc00642

However, I was lucky enough to have grabbed her off the HLJ sale back in January for a much more attractive price of ¥7,867.  ^^v  What don’t I buy off sales these days…

dsc00644

The figure is well made with a beautiful sculpt, superb craftsmanship and excellent paint work.  The overall quality of this figure is excellent to say the least.

dsc00645

A little off topic, but I was expecting to see Yuki in all her bunny girl glory (with high hopes too) when I finally got the chance to watch The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya last month.

dsc00646

You cannot feel my pain, disappointment, and resentment when I finished the series and Yuki did not make ANY appearance in her bunny girl cosplay.  >_<”

dsc00647

So my question then became “why do I have two Yuki bunny figures when she doesn’t even make an appearance in one?  Did she dawn a bunny suit in the light novel?”

dsc00648

Questions aside, I have to say that the level of detail on this FREEing Yuki Bunny is top notch.

dsc00653

Check out the real fishnet stockings.  They are a real bitch to maintain though…

dsc00655dsc00656

One feature that I really liked about this figure is the ability to turn her head from side-to-side.  This makes displaying her much easier because she can face you all the time.  ^^

dsc00658

I was HORRIFIED when I accidentally knocked Yuki over on the day of the shoot.  She face planted on my laptop, and her left bunny ear fell off!!! My initial reaction was “OMFG, I’m such a tard, why did I reach across Yuki’s back…”

dsc00659

Then I calmed down, picked Yuki up, and assessed the damage.  (I was least worried about my laptop ^^;;)  To my amazement, Yuki was fine despite the horrifying scene of her bunny ear landing on the floor and her head was on my laptop.

dsc00729

It turns out that the bunny ears are placed on her head like the removable parts on some scaled figures.  *Phewww* Close one, but I think it just took 5 years off my lifespan.  ^^;

dsc00661

As expected from an 1/4 scaled figure, the level of detail is amazing.  Real stockings, authentic looking bunny suit w/ strings on the side, and fingernails to name a few.

dsc00663

As mentioned, the stocking is a bitch to maintain.  I don’t know how it ripped…I don’t touch her legs that much…honest.

dsc00664

Something for those who likes lots of legs.  ^^

dsc00665

Yuki’s got a really cute face.  Me likes.  ^_^

dsc00666

Another feature that I really like about this FREEing Yuki is her mirror base.  There is no “bonus” (like a pantsu view) to having the mirror base, but it does add a nice luxurious touch overall, further justifying the expensive price tag.

dsc00670

I’ll brainwash all of you into Yuki lovers.  She’s got really pretty eyes.  ^^

dsc00672

Despite all the good stuff I have to say about this FREEing Yuki, I do have a couple complaints with this figure.  First is that my Yuki came with scuff marks on the left side of her bunny suit. : (

dsc00673

Second is that paint is “missing(?)” on the tips of her hair…every single one of them at the back!!

dsc00680

Third is the hard plastic bunny tail…

dsc00683

There’s nothing wrong with the bunny tail, I would prefer if they used a softer material for the bunny tail.  Mmm…yummy behind. ^^

dsc00684

Yuki comes with a very classy metal display stand to help keep her upright.  She stands up perfectly fine without the stand, but I use it because I don’t want to risk another Yuki face plant.

dsc00686

Another minor flaw with my figure is that the pegs on the base doesn’t fit into her feet properly, though it doesn’t have any impact on how she is displayed.

dsc00689

Side-by-side with Atelier-sai’s Yuki Nagato bunny version.  I hate to say it, but the FREEing Yuki Bunny blows away the Atelier-sai Yuki Bunny in every category no questions asked.  I used to think that my Atelier-sai Yuki looked really nice, but my thoughts have changed ever since I acquired this FREEing Yuki Nagato Bunny Girl.

dsc006881dsc00690

If you are looking to buy a Yuki Nagato Bunny Girl figure, I would suggest the FREEing Yuki Nagato Bunny version because she is hands down the best looking Yuki Bunny available at the moment.  You are just wasting your money with the Atelier-sai version, so save up and get the FREEing version.  ^^

dsc00695

Doing something that I can’t do with my other photoshoot setups.  The pictures turned out to be quite interesting…I think.  ^^

dsc00694

dsc00702

dsc00708

I’d love to have this face looking at me when I wake up every morning.  Well…I do have this face looking at me every morning…but you get what I mean.  ^^;

dsc00706

dsc00709

Yuki’s giving you a sneak peak of her legs…

dsc00712

Yummy~!  ^^

dsc00716

dsc00718

dsc00720

dsc00723

dsc00724

dsc00725

Yuki’s got a really boring pose (as usual, and true to character), so I was surprised to see how well the pictures turned out with her lying down.

dsc00726

17 Responses to “FREEing Yuki Nagato Bunny Girl Version.”


  1. 1 lylibellule 05/01/2009 at 08:03

    Your photos are very nice, good review ! You manage to use a black background, which is not simple.
    Too bad for the little hole in the stocking :X

  2. 3 optic 05/01/2009 at 20:57

    Quite frankly, she’s too tall to fit in any of my bookcases so if I do ever get her, she will be displayed out in the open.

    I have yet to purchase a FREEING figure despite the many good reviews I read about them. It’s the size that concerns me, not the quality but I have the Kanu on pre-order so she could be my first depending how my budget looks when she is almost released.

    • 4 T.I.P. 05/03/2009 at 02:01

      To be honest, the lack of space on my table is what’s keeping me from buying another FREEing bunny as well. ^^;; I guess it sucks to have this big a figure if you display them in a bookcase or display case. Two of them will easily take up one shelf. I don’t have much experience with other FREEing releases, so I just hope they are as good as the Haruhi bunny girls.

  3. 5 sanguinerose 05/02/2009 at 02:03

    Yuki is also one of my favorite characters. Haven’t bought any FRREING bunny yet since they’re too big and I’m not really into bunny costumes but I must say that these figures are really nice.

    • 6 T.I.P. 05/03/2009 at 02:06

      Always love to see another fan of Yuki. It seems like their size is what’s keeping a lot of people from making a purchase…and its price as well in some cases. ^^;

  4. 7 meronpan 05/04/2009 at 18:58

    mmm nagato ^^ love all of yuki’s nonchalant handling of things. baseball practice/home run hitting/using a laptop for the first time… then later how entire body is quivering because of her furious typing… and in general she’s just badass when she stands there blankly and uses her crazy powers ^^

    sorry to see the flaws you mentioned… though i guess it can’t be helped. and thank goodness she survived that fall ^^;

    • 8 T.I.P. 05/05/2009 at 15:17

      It was quite fun to see what Yuki does, yet she stands there blankly as if she doesn’t care…well…she really doesn’t care that much. ^^;; The flaws doesn’t really bother me that much anyways. :)

  5. 9 milkcananime 06/23/2009 at 22:50

    I enjoy the pics! Well taken from all angles! I have not come across any stand that is made of mirror. It would be a nice addition, because it can view “up”! :) Overall great description!

    • 10 T.I.P. 06/24/2009 at 02:06

      Thanks for dropping by milkcananime, and thanks for the compliments. ^^

      Hmm…figures with mirror bases…the ones that comes to my mind are the FREEing bunnies, Gift’s Saber and Yoko. It’s a really nice touch over a plain base. ^^

  6. 11 Guy 09/15/2009 at 20:35

    I think they have her in bunny suit because Haruhi and Mikuru do appear in bunny suits, and they didn’t want to leave you without the option to have a set :)

    Then again, as someone on Figure.fm was selling an entire Haruhi Bunny set, someone said they’ve never seen them sold as a set, the whole 6 or 7… and most never appeared in bunny suits.

    Must be a playboy influence..

    • 12 Tommy 09/17/2009 at 06:36

      I think I’ve read somewhere that there’s a poster out there of the girls in these bunny suits, and poses.

      That’s one mighty expensive set to collect, one that requires lots of space to display them as well.

  7. 13 Katelyn 09/23/2009 at 00:04

    OMG~! This just might be the FIRST figure I’m getting…(if I can afford it ^^;;) I absoloutly CANNOT wait to have a REAL first figure…I could almost melt~

  8. 14 Gami 12/27/2009 at 20:40

    I’m confused… why does she have a chest, when she’s actually pretty flat?

  9. 16 Gami 01/09/2010 at 14:38

    I like the FREEing bunny figures better than the Atelier-sai ones in general, though I still don’t have any of either.
    They overdid Yuki’s chest on the Atelier-sai bunny figure anyway, she’s supposed to be pretty flat.
    To be honest, I think they even overdid it on the FREEing ones.

    • 17 Tommy 01/10/2010 at 23:00

      They might have over did it on the FREEing bunny, but it’s acceptable (for me at least) since it gives you something to look at. ;)


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

