Celebrating One Year of Figure Collecting

DSC01329

I don’t recall when I made my first figure purchase, but it was some time in May of 2008 when I finally decided to purchase a Sagittarius Aiolos Myth Cloth, a figure that I’ve wanted for about two years.  And I have to say…my wallet never looked happy ever since.  ^^;;;

DSC01332

My initial figure purchases were all from Bandai’s Saint Seiya Myth Cloth series because I’m not familiar with other series’ aside from Evangelion and Gundam.  My goal was to collect all 12 Gold Saints…

DSC01334

DSC01337

But disaster struck when I reached that goal…I wanted more!!

DSC01342

DSC01345

All your bases are belong to us!!

Hades: All your bases are belong to us!!

The result was the purchase of 27  Myth Cloths in four months…when I eventually ran out of Myth Cloths that I wanted to buy.

I haven’t had the urge to purchase another Myth Cloth until this month when I decided that I will collect the rest of the Hades Heralds/Judges and Asgard’s God Warriors.  Here’s the latest additions to my Myth Cloth Collection: Hypnos and Epsilon Fenrir.

DSC01355

DSC01351

My next Myth Cloth purchase would be whatever is on sale at HLJ that I don’t already have.  I need to save more money for my girls.  ^^;;

Speaking of girls…the first female “figure” that I purchased was a Fräulein Asuka Langley.  She was also acquired some time in May, and remained the only female in my figure collection until September of 2008.

DSC01365

I was a complete noob in the figure collecting world at that time and didn’t know the difference between Alter and  Atelier-sai, nor what a Good Smile was.

“Expensive” figures would turn me away, and low price figures draws my attention because my values were different back then. ^^;;  My definition of “expensive” back then was anything over 40 bucks…it’s $150 now…

Hence, my initial figure purchases were all of mediocre quality.

DSC01366

DSC01367

Leaning waitress Mikuru?

DSC01368

Looks okay until…

DSC01369

Luckily, I stumbled into a local figure store with a very talkative and generous owner.  He told me the differences between Japanese and Hong Kong versions of the Myth Cloth series (I’ve been buying Japanese versions at a premium), and the brands to look for when purchasing female figurines.

He also told me to look out for the many shops that were selling bootlegs around the area, and reminded me that “if the price is too good to be true, then it usually is.”  I purchased two figures from his store based on his recommendation…

They were GSC’s Nida and Rizfis from the Shuraki Trinity Series.

DSC01360

DSC01361

I stopped buying figures after leaving Hong Kong in October, and my wallet was happy to recover…until the faithful December afternoon when I discovered the online store called HobbyLink Japan!

Five months and 56 figures later, my figure buying have finally settled down and I have managed to buy most of the figures on my want-list. ^^

As a result of these figure buys, three new Detolf display cases were purchased…and soon retired to make way for my wall-o-figures.

DSC01371

The shelves will be receiving some new lighting soon…which usually means within two months in my terms.  I really look forward to seeing the results though.

This blog is also dedicated for the girls on my wall, but I have plans to share something different in the future.  Unfortunately, I don’t really have the time to dedicate myself on that yet because my current focus is to make as much money as possible so I don’t have to worry about tuition for the next three years.

Failed at taking pictures of the fireworks on Sunday night.  Tripod needed.  :(

Failed at taking pictures of the fireworks on Sunday night. Tripod needed. :(

I really need to pick up my pace on releasing my figure reviews.  Pink and Silver’ish fabrics to be acquired on the morrow.

You can check out my tsuki-board to see my full collection, which consists of:

  • 38 scaled figures
  • 29 Myth Cloths
  • 22 Fräuleins
  • 14 figmas
  • 14 Revoltechs
  • 3 Nendoroids

I don’t count gashapons because that would give a false sense of a huge collection.  I might stop counting action figures in my collection in the future since it’s falsifying the size of my collection as well.

I received some new loot recently to add to my collection, and here’s a sneak peak at one of them. ^^

DSC01359

So when/how did you get your figure snowball rolling?

19 Responses to “Celebrating One Year of Figure Collecting”


  1. 1 Wolfheinrich 05/20/2009 at 01:56

    Congratulation on your one year anniversary of collecting figures, I don’t remember having collected that many figures ever in the years I have been collecting :P Keep up the good work!

    • 2 T.I.P. 05/20/2009 at 03:04

      Thanks Wolfheinrich. You’re collection is much more impressive. So what’s the latest news on your daughters? Sorry, I haven’t been able to keep up with my blogroll lately…I’ve been working a lot of overtime. :(

      • 3 Wolfheinrich 05/20/2009 at 03:09

        Come take a peek at my blog then :P Beautifl bishoujos are falling over for me left and right :PPP I cannot reveal all of the result so far since they are still en route to my deputy service, but once they are confirmed to be safe and on their way to me, I will reveal their image. Though my masking kind of suck, you can almost tell who is coming anyway :P

  2. 4 Razrig 05/20/2009 at 02:24

    congrat on ur anniversary ^^; i dont own a scale figure yet ~~~ nice displace ^^

  3. 6 paradigmshift 05/20/2009 at 08:11

    My anniversary of serious collecting was a few months ago. I count my gashapons in my collecting if they are especially rare and hard to find, but if you look at my tsuki-board, thats most of the figures I’ve collected since over a year ago.

    lol at leaning Mikuru, have you fixed her up yet? I haven’t suffered the leaning problem on any of my figures luckily.

    • 7 T.I.P. 05/20/2009 at 10:34

      Unfortunately, I haven’t fixed her up yet. She was one of the early figure buys where I had no expectation at all. ^^;; I’m waiting to see how long it takes her to lean until she’s level with the ground. It’s sad too since she’s got a very nice pose…

  4. 8 optic 05/20/2009 at 09:31

    I think I recall back in late 06 where this madness has first started but it never really picked up until mid 07 when I got my first salary paid job.
    After laying my eyes upon Play-asia and moving onwards to HLJ and Hobby Search, things got a bit out of control. lol
    But now, I’m more wiser in my purchases as I kinda seem to have the variety I want but then again when it comes to sales, I haven’t really learnt to control myself. >_>

    Congratz on the first anniversary. I love how ur shelf is all setup properly.

    • 9 T.I.P. 05/20/2009 at 10:39

      I think that’s how it is for most of us. When we first start, we wanted everything out there…the choices are overwhelming, but the excitement is equal when you find that figure you wanted so bad. With each new acquisition, one is crossed off the want list; we end up with pre-orders and impulse buys in the end.

      Just like you, I’ve reduced the number of purchases recently *thinks about the four boxes I just got*…umm scratch that…the sales still does a number on my wallet. “orz

      Thanks, I just wished I had a bigger wall.

  5. 10 sanguinerose 05/20/2009 at 09:40

    Congratulations on your 1st anniversary of figure collecting. You have lots of figures wish I could buy that much.

  6. 12 Panther 05/20/2009 at 11:52

    Congrats on a year, 56 is more than my 4 years of it lol. I really only got into it in 2007 though, but yeah.

  7. 14 lylibellule 05/21/2009 at 10:39

    Congratulation! Your racks go up almost to the ceiling (in my office also ;P ).

    You have pretty figures and your small last, Louise, are one of my favorite (I like Lala of GSC too).

  8. 16 meronpan 05/22/2009 at 03:57

    hahahah sounds very reminiscent of my beginnings for some reason ^^; well, at least the not knowing what i was doing, then buying everything in sight parts ^^;

    grats on one year and here’s to another /kanpai ^_^

    • 17 T.I.P. 05/22/2009 at 12:06

      Thanks. I think the “not knowing what I was doing” and “buying everything in sight” parts happens to all of us when we’re new to the hobby. ^^;;

  9. 18 enrius 05/22/2009 at 04:59

    Happy one year anniversary of figure collecting!

    For me, I’ve just descended into brokeness since this January… But I am quite sure that this hobby will accompany me to my deathbed. :-p Never did I so determined to earn money… Well for the sake of the girls. :-p

    • 19 T.I.P. 05/22/2009 at 12:09

      Thanks. I’m not sure how long this hobby of mine will last, since I have a history of dropping hobbies. ^^;;; But I’ll be happy for the many days that my girls are with me…I don’t think I’ll drop it any time soon though.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

counter for wordpress

