New Lights

DSC01903

No, it’s nothing fancy like the new lights meronpan bought so please don’t expect too much.  I grabbed a third Ikea Tertial desk lamp to light up my photoshoot area because two wasn’t good enough.  It’s amazing what good lighting can do for your photos even if you have a crappy camera like me. ^^

DSC01904

The extra light also means my lighting option can be more versatile than before.  Here’s a photo from my recent photoshoot of GSC’s Lala Satalin Deviluke.  The lighting was great, but the colours doesn’t show up right on my crappy camera.

DSC01914

The folds and creases on the fabric helps the camera’s sensor for some reason, and effectively eliminates the fold lines from sight at the same time…two birds with one stone. ^^

Most of the photos taken with fabric background will be given the warming filter treatment in photoshop for “truer” colours, something that wasn’t needed with the LCD background set up I use.

DSC02059

The next girl to have her mugshot taken is Alter’s Louise Uniform Version.  I wasn’t going to do a shoot with her this early, but since the pink background was already up I decided to do the shoot with her as well.

DSC02081

Lovely figure to say the least, but it was an autofocus nightmare.  The camera kept its focus on either her cape, or her pantsu 80% of the time.  “orz  I really long for a DSLR for the manual focus…

DSC02197

The smexy Miki Hoshii by MegaHouse walked on stage and gave us her signature move for the photoshoot.  She’s a lovely figure to take pictures with because she looked great in every angle.  Experimented with the lighting on this photo, and turned out okay I guess.

DSC02201

The Idolmaster girls by MegaHouse really shine under lighting, they’re much easier to take pictures with.

DSC02458

I bought this silverish-blue background for the Idolmaster girls…they’re getting a lot of love from me. ^^  It still turns out gray’ish looking, but the quality is much better than the Miku photoshoot.

DSC02294

Still need to do a photoshoot for Yami-chan, Haruka, and Yukiho for their respective reviews.  Planning on doing that tomorrow, hope I won’t be too tired after work.

DSC02298

Lots of beautiful figures to feast your melons on this month, so stay tuned for them.

18 Responses to “New Lights”


  1. 1 lightningsabre 06/04/2009 at 03:17

    Uhuhu… everyone’s focused on lighting while I still have crappy setup without any background T-T

    Good setup there. I’m just too lazy to set up everything like this…

    • 2 T.I.P. 06/05/2009 at 00:06

      The lighting really helps I have to say. It takes some experimenting to start, but everything just snaps into place afterwards. You should give it a try too. :)

  2. 3 sanguinerose 06/04/2009 at 10:16

    Nice setup. I’m using the same technique with the creases on the fabric. I will also be getting pink satin by next week.

    • 4 T.I.P. 06/05/2009 at 00:08

      Thanks. My pink cloth is just some cheap fabric. ^^;; I find that the cheap fabrics aren’t too bad since they don’t reflect light and is easier to control.

  3. 5 Tier 06/04/2009 at 23:44

    I really like the way the backgrounds turned out in your photos, especially in the first Miki shot where the folds sort of converge towards the center. I had no luck myself using colored fabric.

    • 6 T.I.P. 06/05/2009 at 00:09

      Thanks, I think experimenting and taking many shots helps a lot…the problem I have is choosing the ones to upload. =__=”

  4. 7 Wolfheinrich 06/05/2009 at 21:58

    Now that my computer is fixed, I am back checking my blogroll. Nice setup, I need to work on a new continuous lighting source myself so I can take pictures of my musumes.

  5. 9 Rin 06/06/2009 at 02:34

    Nice lights!!!!
    Be expecting more figure shoots from you soon!!!!!
    This reminds me…I need to get some new lights soon…

  6. 11 optic 06/06/2009 at 10:16

    I’ve finally found a setup that actually works with some lights and I’m currently test trailing it. From my analysis the shots turns out too bright.
    What do u use to cover those lamps?

    • 12 T.I.P. 06/06/2009 at 13:43

      Nice, I’ll be expecting more from you. I too have to tweak the background setup a bit because it’s not turning out that good. There’s some tracing paper in the front of the lamps.

  7. 13 enrius 06/06/2009 at 20:54

    Wow, you’re getting better and better at taking photo for your daughters, must be the fatherly love. :-p

    I especially liked the idea of making the pink background fabric to fold and converge to the top – You’d thought it was done in a pro studio!

    • 14 T.I.P. 06/07/2009 at 02:49

      Thanks enrius.

      I think that photo of Miki looks so good because of the figure itself. The same shot would look half as good if it was another figure on stage. So I give credit of the lovely shot to MegaHouse for making such a beautiful figure.

      I still think the background have lots of room for improvement.

  8. 15 Blowfish 06/14/2009 at 10:04

    Im glad that you are using the same lighting setup as me and im not the only one stuck with Ikea Lamps.Ill buy a third Tertial Lamp in the future too :P

  9. 17 saikit 06/15/2009 at 17:55

    What type of light bulbs are you using?


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

counter for wordpress

