Tokyo

DSC07352

Posting some photos of my trip to Japan last summer, starting off with my two days in Tokyo.  I started off at Tokyo and travelled southwest before ending my trip in Osaka.

DSC06054

Departed from Hong Kong International Airport.

DSC06064

Flew on an ANA 747, ’twas my first time on a 747.  ^^;;

DSC06095

Window seat in front of the wings is really nice indeed.  Thanks “A” for helping me book the flight. ^^

DSC06135

Took one of this high speed trains from Narita Airport to Tokyo.

DSC06125

I was at the wrong seat, but that didn’t matter because the train was empty. ^^

DSC06134

DSC06152

Finally in Tokyo!  I’ve always wanted to see these signs ever since I saw them in animes.

DSC06154

I practically took pictures of everything during my trip…400+ pictures each day to be precise.

DSC06186

And since it’s been a year, I’ve pretty much forgotten where some of these photos were taken at.

DSC06203

I didn’t get off here…I should’ve…but I didn’t.  “orz  I think my plans for the trip would’ve changed if I got off the train at Akihabara and went into some stores.  We’ll meet again Akihabara.

DSC06220

It was more of a sight-seeing trip than a shopping trip, so I didn’t buy much during my trip.

DSC06228

I was also suckered into trying the many different drinks offered in the 7-elevens out and about.  It was a horrible horrible drink…if you ever see Pepsi that’s blue, stay away from it.

DSC06241

Taken at Ueno park on my way to the Tokyo National Museum.

DSC06247

Vending machines are everywhere!  You can find them left right and centre where ever you go.

DSC06275

These water basins(?) are found at shrines.  I just wash my hands with the water, though I’ve seen many folks drink the water as well.

DSC06281

DSC06299

DSC06343

The Tokyo National Museum located near the Ueno station.  Some of the exhibits were closed that day so I didn’t get to see everything.

DSC06353

The Asian Gallery is where you’ll find artifacts gather from all over asia.  I believe you can see similar artifacts at your local museums too.

DSC06486

The Japanese Gallery is where you’ll find artifacts showcasing the history of Japan.

DSC06516

I was especially interested in the military attire of the elites exhibit.

DSC06501

I wanted to buy a katana that was fancy like this one, but I had no such luck.

DSC06536

DSC06537

No idea why these folks were gathered at the park.

DSC06545

Kobans are police booths that can be found all over Japan, but this one is especially fancy looking.

DSC06554

Ueno Station.

DSC06557

Had lunch at one of the restaurants on the right.

DSC06565

DSC06569

I love these descriptive signs that can be found in their train stations. ^^  How do you sit on the train?

DSC06576

Headed over to the Edo-Tokyo Museum afterwards to see how folks lived in Tokyo during the Edo-era.  I love the architecture of this building.  Does anyone know if there’s any real reason to suspending the building in mid-air?

DSC06586

Traditional Japanese building during the Ed0-period.

DSC06592

This is how some of the buildings looked after some western influence.

DSC06643

DSC06654

A map displaying where and when the many fires swept through Tokyo.

DSC06661

DSC06688

I think this is where health-care materials were bought back then.

DSC06719

DSC06783

Just outside Shimbashi station, forgot what I was there for. ^^;;

DSC06789

Some construction action around Shimbashi, they’re always so neat and tidy with signs apologizing for the inconvenience caused.

DSC06806

Stumbled across the Pokémon Center by chance, and bought some souvenier for my cousins.

DSC06847

Out and about in Ginza.

DSC06849

The one and only time I’ve seen a Skyline R35 GTR on the street.  There were many R34s in Hong Kong, but not that many R35s

DSC06954

DSC06965

Multi-level parking complex…Japanese Style.  I would love to see something like this in Toronto.

DSC06987

DSC07044

Some firemen were training near the Tokyo Tower, they have a very “unique” uniform to say the least.

DSC07050

DSC07060

This would’ve made a very picturesque shot if the temple(?) wasn’t under maintenance.

DSC07062

Information maps are located throughout Tokyo indicating where the nearest hotel, washroom, koban, train station, etc. is with your current location marked in red.

DSC07065

My friend said these look freaky…like something from a Japanese horror flick.

DSC07070

At Tokyo Tower again, I’ll post the photos later.  :P

DSC07077

It is a really lovely tower indeed, I like it more when it’s lit up. ^^

DSC06886

They were gunning to host the 2016 summer Olympics, that’s why it had “Tokyo” and “2016” lighting on opposite sides of the observation deck.

DSC07288

Decorated manhole covers can be found all over Japan, anything like this where you live?

DSC07292

Talking on the phone is prohibited on Japanese trains because the noise level goes out of control when everyone starts talking on their cells in a confined space.  Many resort to reading a book, texting their friends, or watching tv on their cells during their commute.

DSC07293

During rush hour, station attendants are required to “pack” bodies into the cars. ^^;;

DSC07480

The I-train.

DSC07307

Forgot where this is…I remember it being featured in one of Danny’s Tokyo photo walks.

DSC07314

DSC07308

DSC07339

At Roppongi Hills to get a glimpse of Tokyo from another perspective.

DSC07346

DSC07355

I was forced to walk through the Turner Prize exhibit at the Hills before being allowed to go to the observation level. “orz

DSC07370

I didn’t know there was a open-air observation level at Roppongi Hills, I’ll go there next time.

DSC07371

Tokyo’s night view is pretty amazing.

DSC07375

DSC07423

Ended the day in Odaiba to see the Ferris wheel at Palette Town.  I wanted to go on it, but it was closed for the day…pretty much sums up the story of my trip.  “orz

DSC07448

No Odaiba Gundam last year.  :(

10 Responses to “Tokyo”


  1. 1 Rin 07/10/2009 at 02:00

    I didn’t know that you went to Japan!!!
    That’s pretty nice and was surprised that you didn’t stop in Akihabara!!!
    If I knew you back then, I might had killed you for not going…
    I’ve been on a train during rush hour…not fun…
    Japan is also known for it’s variety in drinks…damn…so many drinks hard to choose sometimes…
    Love the pics!!!
    Odaiba..a great place to go and visit…on my trip, I stayed in Odaiba…

    • 2 T.I.P. 07/11/2009 at 02:57

      I didn’t start my figure collecting career until August-September, so I wasn’t that eager to drop by. But it might’ve prompted me to buy figures earlier…oh well. Yeah, it isn’t fun on the trains during rush hour, but at least people there are courteous enough to let you off without you asking, unlike this “other city” I was at. ^^;; You’re lucky that you get to see the Gundam this year.

  2. 3 - -kizo. 07/10/2009 at 08:31

    Love the pictures. [: When are you planning to go back there?

  3. 5 nyoron 07/10/2009 at 14:23

    Great pictures! Seeing pictures like this always makes me reminisce about my time in Japan.

    Planning on making any trips back there soon?

    • 6 T.I.P. 07/11/2009 at 03:00

      Thanks, I was reminiscing my trip when I was posting the pictures as well.

      I know I won’t be back this year for sure, unless I win a free trip or the lottery. ^^ Maybe next winter or spring 2011.

  4. 7 Blowfish 07/19/2009 at 14:09

    Awesome! Thanks for Sharing your pictures!
    I should cut back on figures so I can save up for a Japantrip but i fail miserably at that ^^;

  5. 9 Dianne 08/06/2009 at 22:16

    What amaze me about Japan, they sell everything but the kitchen sink in
    vending machines. Maybe?


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

