Nagoya

DSC07753

After some down time for the last week or so, I’ll continue with my trip to Japan last summer.  After spending two days in Tokyo, my next destination is Mt. Fuji…or so I planned.

DSC07504

I highly recommend buying the JR pass if you will be traveling on the Shinkansen.  A round trip on one of these babies will cost more than the JR pass; it saved me a lot of money on this trip.  However, the JR Pass doesn’t cover a ride on the Nozomi.  :(

DSC07514

It feels like flying on a plane.

DSC07519

Breakfast for the day.

DSC07557

Arrived at Fuji only to find out Mt. Fuji is actually closer to Fujinomiya.  “orz

DSC07544

DSC07628

It was so cloudy that Mt. Fuji was no where to be seen.  I decided to head over to my next planned stop, Nagoya, instead.

DSC07684

Arrived at Nagoya that afternoon, though you can’t really tell what time it is with the cloud and all.

DSC07701

Hmm…now I’m not sure if that person is dead or alive…

DSC07704

DSC07725

Stayed at a “Ryokan” type hotel because I’ve always wanted to sleep in a futon on straw mats. ^^;;;;

DSC07787

It was quite creepy though, probably because of the colour of the room.

DSC07729

DSC07731

DSC07752

Very interesting building.

DSC07762

DSC07773

I waited for a hour and no body shoke my hand.  :'(

DSC07810

Headed over to the Noritake Garden to snap a few pics.

DSC07819

I’m not much of a photographer, but I really like how some of these photos turned out.

DSC07822

The Red Brick Plant at the Noritake Garden.  It was a brick manufacturing plant in case you were wondering.

DSC07834

The Six Chimneys, two of them are behind me.

DSC07839

DSC07844

DSC07853

An art teacher took his students to the garden for a field trip.

DSC07855

DSC07879

DSC07887

The Nitto Shrine:

Nitto Shrine was established on November 19, 1940, in prayer for the company’s security and prosperity.  The three gods enshrined are Amaterasu-omikami, Atsutano-okami, and Kagutsuchino-kami…”

That’s what a sign says nearby.

DSC07893

Perfect for figure photo shoots.

DSC07951

My next stop, and the purpose of dropping by in Nagoya, is the Toyoto Automobile Museum (TAM).

DSC07969

The TAM deserves it’s own post!  A must go for people who likes cars.

DSC08417

The TAM is located at the Geidai-dori Station on the Linimo line.

DSC08419

The best looking train I’ve been on so far.  It feels like sitting in a TIE fighter. ^^

DSC08433

DSC08421

This is when I noticed something called “Women-Only Car”.  I’m not sure why I didn’t notice it in Tokyo.

DSC08462

DSC08451

DSC08536

DSC08514

Strolling around to the front gate of Nagoya Castle.

DSC08478

DSC08480

It was closed when I arrived around 4:30’ish, so I had to go back the next morning.

DSC08662

My first visit to a Japanese castle; it was quite awesome despite the crappy weather.

DSC08666

Deers are considered sacred animals in Japan, more on that in a later episode.

DSC08840

Unfortunately, the Nagoya Castle we see today is a rebuild of the original structure that was flattened in an air-raid during World War II.  Many other historical structures in Japan fell to the same fate.

DSC08781

Inside, you’ll find some artifacts from the original structure and many models and replicas of what the original structure looked like before 1945.

DSC08784

DSC08808

The sacred kinshachi.  A mythical creature with the tail of a dolphin and the head of a tiger.

DSC08819

‘Tis a beautiful view from the top of Nagoya Castle.  Too bad it was raining that day.  :(

Next stop, Hiroshima.

You might also be interested in:

Tokyo

Tokyo Tower

6 Responses to “Nagoya”


  1. 1 Q 07/23/2009 at 23:10

    Very interesting. I personally haven’t been outside Tokyo so far, so these are definietly new to me.

    Haven’t been to a castle before, but I did see some photos of Kumamoto’s from my sister when she went to Kumamoto last Christmas. They surely look grand and impressive!

  2. 3 Miette-chan 07/24/2009 at 19:22

    I’m amazed at how some of the seemingly more mundane things like the train stations and buildings or things you find walking around are more fascinating to me. Nice pictures, looks like you did a great tour.

    • 4 T.I.P. 07/28/2009 at 13:14

      It was an eye opener for me as well. That’s why I took photos of almost everything around me. ^^;; I had a great time during my trip.

  3. 5 aaroninjapan09 07/25/2009 at 13:30

    It’s kind of interesting to read someone else’s impressions of a city that I’m living in :P.

    Looks like you had fun. I keep complaining Nagoya has nothing, but looks like I need to do a bit more looking around.

    • 6 T.I.P. 07/28/2009 at 13:16

      I would say it’s a really lovely city, though you would run out of things to do after a couple days. So you can’t really compare my two day trip to what you think. ^^; I was only there for Nagoya Castle and the Toyota Automobile Museum, so I left happy.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

counter for wordpress

