New Figures for July

DSC03652

A little late with this post, but here it is. ^^;  There is something special about this particular order, something that’s new to me.  Before I talk about what it is, let’s see who I brought for July.  MegaHouse’s Zero from Code Geass, Max Factory’s Seena from Shining Wind, and FREEing’s Uesugi Kenshin.

DSC03648

What’s special about this loot is it was acquired from Amazon Japan.  I gave Tenso a try after reading Lightningsabre and Wolfheinrich’s experience with them.  I’ll give my thoughts them in another post.  :P

DSC03649

It was a great deal, ¥6,800 for Zero, ¥2,000 for Seena, and ¥5,400 for Uesugi…until you factor in the international EMS shipping and Tenso commission.  “orz

DSC03650

Not to mention the fact that amazon.co.jp on the side of the box = intant tax from the good’ol Canadian customs.  It was a great experience though; and Amazon Japan have some awesome prices for figures.

DSC04209

Dusted down some figures a couple minutes ago.  It takes around 2 hours to dust down my entire room, used to take 4 before my clean up. ^^

DSC04212

Rearranged some figures on the wall, with my room looking as dark as ever.  I try to keep a specific theme for each level, but that top shelf needs some new blood.  Uesugi is too big to go onto the shelves, I need to find her a new home.  Btw, she’s my second 1/5 scale figure.  Next up is a post on my trip to Hiroshima, the city of peace.

15 Responses to “New Figures for July”


  1. 1 meronpan 08/03/2009 at 02:11

    ooo some very nice gets. i’m kinda sad that i’ll be letting kenshin slide but i gotta save up for impending wonfes aftermath ^^;

    seena was very nice from the reviews i’ve seen. i’ve kinda purposely stayed away from that series so as not to tempt myself with another set to complete ^^;

    and zero, well… it’s lulu! ^^

    • 2 T.I.P. 08/03/2009 at 03:18

      LOL, I’m sure there will be many casualties in that aftermath.

      It’d be nice if MF decides to release a Elwin, one can only hope.

  2. 3 Guy 08/03/2009 at 02:47

    How are Tenso’s rates?

    I once wanted to make an order from Amazon Japan, but seeing their shipping rates made me go, WTF?! They were that bad, for the Shining World book it was like 4,700 yen, for a 3,000 yen book.

    Didn’t Wolf suggest on his site Goody Japan before?
    And that Seena was cheap, I wants!

    • 4 T.I.P. 08/03/2009 at 03:23

      The Tenso rate is dependant on your package’s weight. My packages were 2kg each, so they charged 980 yen each plus the standard EMS shipping rates.

      I think Amazon Japan offers international shipping for books and cds at a flat shipping rate plus 300 yen each item. That might be a good alternative to using Tenso.

      I didn’t know Amazon was going to ship them in two separate packages, so Tenso would’ve been a better option if they shipped in one package. But yes, Wolf did mention Goody Japan as well; that’s why I used them for my WonFes Miku orders.

      • 5 Guy 08/03/2009 at 05:12

        Amazon Japan does have a set rate+300 yen per item. The problem is the set rate is in the ballpark of 4,000-4,400 yen.

        So… no.

        • 6 T.I.P. 08/03/2009 at 16:42

          That depends on where you live and how much you buy. I would say it’s a good deal if you’re buying more than 3 books, but that’s just me. :P Shipping to NA is not that bad.

  3. 7 optic 08/03/2009 at 07:08

    ¥2,000 for Seena. Dam, that is a steal. ^^
    Not a big as last months but still good.

    I guess for figure collectors like us with an overflowing collection, it’s time to look at a more selective choice and pass on the ones which are regarded as impulses if you don’t really like it or is that just me? lol

    • 8 Guy 08/03/2009 at 08:08

      But isn’t that what impulse means, that you buy it even though that if you actually thought of it you wouldn’t? :D

      But when your collection is really overflowing, then even impulse purchases stop being bought, yeah.

      • 9 T.I.P. 08/03/2009 at 16:55

        Hmm…I think impulse purchases means you made a purchase without giving it second thought. So if you’ve given it some thought, it wouldn’t be considered as impulse anymore. I’m the kinda guy that always end up with buyer’s remorse. ^^;;;

        Anyways, that’s a whole lotta books you got there. I’m not much of a reader, so I don’t have any books in my room. :S

        • 10 Guy 08/03/2009 at 17:18

          I love books, I can’t not buy books, I can’t give books away, unless I got another version of the book…

        • 12 Guy 08/04/2009 at 19:34

          It’s a good thing that I read books. Though sometimes I buy more than I read… for when I will read them.

          And besides, when I finish a book, I like having an array to choose from, depending on my moods at the time.

    • 13 T.I.P. 08/03/2009 at 16:47

      “Not as big as las months but still good.” I don’t want to think about my August loot since everything I pre-ordered for July have been bumped back to August. :S

      My collection still has room for a couple more, but I think everyone should look closely and make more selective decisions. But I just can’t help buying figures on sale. ^^;;

  4. 14 Blowfish 08/15/2009 at 14:57

    Ah Seena!
    Youll be very happy with her :P

    God I havent dusted my figures in ages…Im such a bad figure owner

    • 15 Tommy 08/15/2009 at 23:23

      Indeed I am. ^^

      You keep them (or most of them) in Detolfs if I remember correctly, so you don’t need to dust them down as often. But then, if you don’t dust them down for too long, they might ruin the paint…I’m sure you won’t let that happen to your girls. :P


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

