Fan Expo 2009 Cosplays

fan_expo09_cp_01

Let’s take a look at some of the cosplays at Fan Expo 2009 starting with this super hero gathering…and a couple villains too.  Never knew they got together so well.

Captain America, Wolverine, Spiderman, Rogue, Riddler, Two Face, Poison Ivy, Dare Devil, Punisher, plus a few more I don’t know.  Like my Anime North coverage, I’ll be needing your help with some of these.  ^^;;

fan_expo09_cp_02

Great Hell Boy cosplay with the cigar.  I saw another Hell Boy inside, but I didn’t want to disturb him from his business.

fan_expo09_cp_03

Is this Kallen’s mecha thingy from Code Geass?  Forgot its name. ^^;; ‘Tis Kallen’s mecha, Guren, from Code Geass.  Thanks to Fortress Guy for naming it.

fan_expo09_cp_04

Chun Li from Street Fighters.  I didn’t see as many SF cosplays as AN2009.  In fact, I didn’t see as many cosplays in general…maybe I was at the wrong place at the wrong time.

fan_expo09_cp_05

Sand Trooper with his rifle and voice changer.  There were a lot of Star Wars cosplayers today, you can see them all near the end of the post.

fan_expo09_cp_06

Name this group please. Final Fantasy cosplayers.  Thanks to Aeternal.

fan_expo09_cp_07

Very cute cosplay.  Reminds me of the Chii cosplay from AN, which I didn’t see today.

fan_expo09_cp_09

Girl Maka from Soul Eaters.  Name her please?

fan_expo09_cp_08

Umm…name her as well while your at it.  Probably a regular lolita cosplay…I guess.

fan_expo09_cp_10

Is he from Star Wars? He is in fact a bounty hunter from Star Wars.  Thanks goes to Guy and GNdynames.

fan_expo09_cp_11

Name these two beautiful cosplays.  I love that huge bow…and I think I see the “Desu” girl from Anime North in the background.

fan_expo09_cp_12

Not sure if she was cosplaying; but I love her hat.  She’s got a pretty cute smile too. ^^

fan_expo09_cp_13

Rikku from FFX-2.

fan_expo09_cp_14

Naruto.  There were quite a few anime cosplayers out and about, but none of them really gathered together like Anime North, so it was harder to hunt them down…especially in a larger venue like the Metro Toronto Convention Centre.

fan_expo09_cp_15

Name this group. Magic Knight Rayeart cosplay group.  Some of the indoor photos are blurry because my camera isn’t that good taking photos indoors.  Thanks to Michel for identifying their group.  ^^

fan_expo09_cp_16

Blue girls is Mystique from X-Men, and She-Hulk not sure who the green girl is.  I missed the Green Lantern cosplayers.  “orz  Thanks to Guy for identifying her.

fan_expo09_cp_17

Lovely Princess Zelda cosplay.

fan_expo09_cp_18

Name this babe?

fan_expo09_cp_19

His name is on the tip of my tongue… V from V for Vandetta.

fan_expo09_cp_20

Ash Ketchum with Pikachu!

fan_expo09_cp_21

Name this trio. Lenalee Lee and Allen Walker from D.Gray-man.  Thank you Jenni.  Who’s the blue hair guy? The blue hair guy is Zexion from Kingdom Hearts.  Thanks tenguxchan.

fan_expo09_cp_22

And this trio as well… Shino, Haseo, and Endrance from .hack.  Thanks to Sachi (“Desu” girl) for identifying them. :)

fan_expo09_cp_23

Mario and Princess Peach. ^^

fan_expo09_cp_24

Halo cosplay.  I wonder if he’s the same Halo cosplayer from Anime North.

fan_expo09_cp_25

Ghost Buster!!  Loved that show when I was a kid. ^^

fan_expo09_cp_26

Archer(?) Bard, Red Mage, and Black Mage from Final Fantasy III.  Thanks for the correction Felice.

fan_expo09_cp_27

Superwoman! SUPERGIRL!!

fan_expo09_cp_28

Superwoman Supergirl, Black Canary, Poison Ivy, Black Queen, Batgirl (wasn’t looking this way), Harley Quinzel and Blue Beetle  and please identify the other two for me. ^^  Thanks PhoenixX and Supergirl for the names.

fan_expo09_cp_29

RAWR!?  I mean name him/her/it please? Tauren from World of Warcrack…I mean craft.  It’s a shame since I used to play a Tauren warrior.  Don’t recognize it without the armour.  :P

fan_expo09_cp_30

Really nice cosplay, too bad the photo turned out blurry.  “orz  Ninja is Snake-Eyes from GI Joe.

fan_expo09_cp_31

Name her please? Blind mag from Repo!  Thanks tenguxchan.

fan_expo09_cp_32

And them as well…

fan_expo09_cp_33

Megpoid Ranka Lee from Macross Frontier and Luka from the Vocaloid series.  Kaito and Miku in the background.  Thanks to GNdynames for the correction. ^^  First time I’ve heard of “Megpoid” in my life…

fan_expo09_cp_34

Yaoi x Yuri girl.  She’s not cosplaying, but she’s cute. She’s cosplaying Namine, thanks for correcting me tenguxchan.

fan_expo09_cp_35

Naruto x Guitar Hero group…the same group from Anime North.  Outdoor photos looks so much better.

fan_expo09_cp_36

Boba Fett and a mysterious bounty hunter waiting to be named.

fan_expo09_cp_37

Storm Trooper and Snow Trooper.

fan_expo09_cp_38

Storm Troopers: “FREEZE!! Show me your stamp collection!”

fan_expo09_cp_39

Storm Trooper guarding this TIE Fighter from the Rebels.

fan_expo09_cp_40

Trooper #2: “I heard there was a Jedi around, thought I’d come and check up on you.”

fan_expo09_cp_41

“Whadda you lookin’ at?!?”

fan_expo09_cp_42

Umm…Join the dark side?

fan_expo09_cp_43

Count Dooku’s end.

fan_expo09_cp_44

Clone Trooper: “How can I be of assistance to you  Ms. Hottie?”

fan_expo09_cp_45

Ms. Hottie: “I want to take a photo with you, you’re so handsome.”

fan_expo09_cp_46

Storm Trooper: “Oh man…even the droid gets to take a photo with Ms. Hottie.  Bummer!”

fan_expo09_cp_47

*Man walks in*

Troopers: “Waddaya want?!”

fan_expo09_cp_48

I think the cosplayers were at the masquerade, that’s why they weren’t outside.  Hope I’ll have better luck next year.

Personally, I think Anime North is better for cosplay photo ops because everyone is gathered outside for meetups, whereas people are gather indoors at Fan Expo.  What do you think?

PS:  Let me know if you don’t like your picture being posted here.

53 Responses to “Fan Expo 2009 Cosplays”


  1. 1 Guy 08/30/2009 at 05:42

    Shiny lightsaber looks so much better than the unshiny ones.

    The pirate girl seems familiar, though I don’t remember the name.

    I find “Small tiny hat” annoying to watch, just annoying to even watch. Misa Amano? She had the stripy pantyhoes and the hat, I think.

    Yaoi*Yuri girl is nice.

    Soul Eaters scythe girl could lose the scythe and transform into someone out of Harry Potter, or just about any Catholic school ;)

    Green girl is probably She-Hulk. Like The Incredible Hulk, but IIRC an alien. And she stays human-sized, well, she always is, or something.

    Cute pink-dress girl with parasole is cute.

    The “Is he from Star Wars?” dude is from Star Wars, one of the bounty hunters Java sent after Han Solo, IIRC.

    • 2 Tommy 08/31/2009 at 03:59

      It’s not a light saber if it’s not shiny! :P

      I don’t think she’s Misa Amane since she doesn’t have twin-tails. I was thinking Mio cuz of the small hat.

  2. 3 Aeternal 08/30/2009 at 13:52

    First “name this group” characters are from Final Fantasy.

  3. 5 Fortress Guy 08/30/2009 at 14:22

    I reviewed both seasons of Code Geass on my site. Kallen’s mech is the “Guren”.

    Nice pics! Thanks.

  4. 7 Guy 08/30/2009 at 14:37

    Oh, I forgot, I’m pretty sure the fanged goat/lion is a run-of-a-mill Satan/demon, a semi classic representation of him.

  5. 10 Sachie 08/30/2009 at 19:06

    Haha, yeah, I was the desu girl in the back of one of those pictures.
    My friend, (the Chii from AN) was there too! She was sitting off the the side so you might have not seen her.

    https://theinfernoproject.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/fan_expo09_cp_22.jpg?w=450&h=600
    Are Shino, Haseo and Endrance from the .hack series.

    • 11 Tommy 08/31/2009 at 04:10

      Sorry I missed you girls. I should look harder next time, but at the same time, I didn’t feel like bothering people while they were having a conversation. I know most cosplayers don’t mind, but it still feels weird to me. ^^;;

      Thanks for naming them Sachie.

  6. 12 Chii 08/30/2009 at 19:07

    Ohhhh ! You missed me !
    ^__^
    very nice pictures taken otherwise ! :))

  7. 14 Jenni 08/30/2009 at 20:19

    I don’t recognize the one with the blue hair,
    but I think the girl is Lenalee Lee and the one on the right is Allen Walker from D.Gray-man.

  8. 16 GNdynames 08/30/2009 at 21:41

    https://theinfernoproject.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/fan_expo09_cp_03.jpg?w=450&h=600

    is Guren Mk II (Kallen’s knightmare before any upgrades in S2)

    https://theinfernoproject.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/fan_expo09_cp_10.jpg?w=450&h=600

    Either the guy Han shot in ep 4 or a random bounty hunter in general.

    https://theinfernoproject.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/fan_expo09_cp_30.jpg?w=450&h=600

    The ninja is Snake-Eyes from GI Joe

    https://theinfernoproject.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/fan_expo09_cp_33.jpg?w=450&h=600

    She’s actually Megpoid (the new vocaloid based on Megumi Nakajima/Ranka), don’t worry, I made the same mistake.

  9. 19 saikit 08/30/2009 at 21:49

    Great shots from the convention. I saw your Anime North pictures too, they were great.

    Check out my album when you got the time: http://www.saikit.ca/fanexpo/

  10. 21 Kitty Whisperwind 08/31/2009 at 02:28

    OMG Final Fantasy IX cosplay :D :D

    Those Guitar Hero Naruto guys are awesome :3

  11. 22 Optic 08/31/2009 at 03:17

    The Princess Zelda cosplay is just WOW. Cosplaying characters from Zelda are always hard and I appreciated everyone who makes an attempt because really, a simple attempt is still hard to make it work. ^^

    Great coverage. No loot? :P

  12. 24 PhoenixX 08/31/2009 at 10:32

    The supper hero group that has the ladies… The blue one is hte blue beetle.

  13. 25 Supergirl 08/31/2009 at 10:37

    Oh shoot, you almost caught me taking off. Kal would be pissed if he found out I was showing off like that ;)

    Left to right, it’s “Supergirl, Black Canary, Poison Ivy, Harleen Quinzel, Batgirl and Blue Beetle”, by the way.

  14. 27 tenguxchan 08/31/2009 at 16:08

    The yaoi yuri girl was actually cosplaying namine, she was in my group with a kairi. though she was bombarded with souvenirs it doesn’t look like she’s cosplaying but she is XD. also the girl in the pink dress with the parasol might be dahlia hawthorn from phoenix wright ace attorney.

  15. 28 tenguxchan 08/31/2009 at 16:17

    blue hair guy is from kingdom hearts zexion. “name her please” i think is blind mag from repo! the gentetic rock opera the rawr one is a a tauren from world of warcraft and the tip of you tongue is v from v for vandetta and the soul girl’s name is maka. Darn you missed me at the .hack group. I was shino’s twin atoli

    • 29 Tommy 09/02/2009 at 17:17

      Thanks for naming all those cosplayers.

      I know I missed a lot of cosplayers this year. Maybe I’ll get your group at Anime North next year. :)

  16. 30 coco 08/31/2009 at 20:27

    Ohhh I know Ms. Hottie! haha she’s supposed to be April from the Ninja Turtles.

  17. 32 Michel 08/31/2009 at 21:21

    “Name this group. Some of the indoor photos are blurry because my camera isn’t that good taking photos indoors.”

    I’m a member of this group!

    You are the first one to post us :P

    The anime is magic knight rayearth

    I’m Zagato the 3rd one from the left in the back row.
    http://images.google.ca/images?hl=fr&um=1&sa=1&q=zagato+magic+knight&aq=f&oq=zagato+magic+knigh

  18. 33 Michel 08/31/2009 at 21:35

    Just read your post, on saturdays the masquerade contestants have to enter a room at around 5 pm and are stuck in until they finished their individual group presentations.

    Our group was waiting in line to get in the masquerade (after submitting the proper info) so if you come to fan expo on saturday next year, get pictures before 5 o’clock :P

    Michel

  19. 35 TD-1226 08/31/2009 at 23:40

    There were 6 Street Fighter Cosplayers in total…

    Our Chun Li (on your pic), another Chun Li at the Sony stand, handing out flyers (horribly inaccurate), two Ryus (one Black dude, one Asian dude, the latter teamed with a Sakura cosplayer as well. There was also a Crimson Viper, but we didn’t get to see her in person.

  20. 36 Traxxem 09/01/2009 at 15:16

    Hey Nice photos! I had a blast going to my first ever Fan Expo this year, so always great to see these photos.
    Just thought I would comment on a few of them..the photo titled “RAWR I mean name him/her/it please” is supposed to be a Tauren from the Horde, in World of Warcraft patch 3.2 haha

    and the guy “His name is on the tip of my tongue…” name is V from the movie V for Vendetta.

    Anyways loved all the photos cannot wait until next year!

    • 37 Guy 09/01/2009 at 15:30

      I thought the V for Vendetta character was a joke by Tommy, heh.

      The mask is of Guy Fawkes, which V wears, and later everyone does.

    • 38 Tommy 09/02/2009 at 17:26

      I had fun going to my first too. ^^

      LOL, not sure why I don’t recognize the Tauren since I played one for a year…must be the lack of armour. :P

      @Guy I recognize him from a movie, but I just couldn’t name him. ^^;;

    • 39 Guy 09/02/2009 at 17:39

      Tauren, really?

      Doesn’t look anything like a Tauren to me. Might be that the upper jaw’s paint makes it look like it has fangs, but still.

  21. 40 Brian 09/03/2009 at 01:14

    I am trying to find the girl dressed as Blue Beetle.

    I didn’t get a chance to say how much I liked your costume and was hoping to talk. I didn’t think anybody else liked the Blue Beetle and it kind of caught me off guard and I totally regret not getting to know you. I’ll check on here to see if you get this if you write back on here….hopefully.

  22. 44 thetsundere 09/04/2009 at 02:12

    Great photos!
    And by the way, I think the Luka cosplayer was the ‘Just Be Friends’ version:

    • 45 Tommy 09/05/2009 at 17:22

      Thanks.

      I’m not that familiar with the Vocaloid series, only know of Miku and her fantastic dual leeks, so thanks for the info. ^^

  23. 46 Felice 09/08/2009 at 14:21

    In the picutre with the final fantasy people its a Bard not an archer

    • 47 Tommy 09/08/2009 at 18:34

      Thanks for the correction. I didn’t play the bard class in the game, kinda wish someone cosplayed as a female Devout (can you even play a male devout?).

  24. 48 Felice 09/08/2009 at 14:25

    I was dissapointed that not a lot of people dressed up, and there are a lot of really good starwars costumes because of the 501st costume people

  25. 50 Vivi 09/17/2009 at 15:10

    The ‘Name this babe?’ with the pvc black silor outfit is not really cosplaying anyone. She is the designer from the Coquette lingerie line, and is wearing one of their (her design) ‘Masquerade’ costumes.

  26. 52 Ninjovee 10/03/2009 at 19:21

    The group in the escalator: Vampire Knight cosplayers XD

    Awesome cosplays there! Supergirl, V, Magic Knight Rayearth and Princess Zelda are my faves!

  27. 53 kay magenta 03/03/2010 at 08:12

    I think that woman in the orange dress is DAISY from Mario Bros., not Peach.(Apologizes if wrong ^_^)


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

counter for wordpress

