Alpha x Omega Sheryl Nome

mh_sheryl_00

Sheryl Nome is the latest character to be given the figure treatment by one of the best figure makers in the industry, Alpha x Omega – a collaboration between Alter and MegaHouse.

Sheryl is one of the main character in the popular anime series Macross Frontier, a tribute anime celebrating the 25th anniversary of the Macross franchise.  She is also known as the Galactic Fairy due to her beauty, singing talent, and popularity as the galaxy’s top idol.

Macross Frontier OP2 – Lion

May’N is the voice for Sheryl’s singing.  My personal favourite is Diamond Crevasse because Sheryl sang it during her “awakening” in later episodes.

Sheryl Nome – 射手座☆午後九時 Don’t be late

Sagittarius 9:00pm Don’t be late is one of Sheryl’s most popular song, and for good reason too.  Watch this video of Sheryl as well, it’s really good. ^^

mh_sheryl_01

Alpha x Omega’s Sheryl Nome was released in late August and retails for ¥6,800.

mh_sheryl_02

She is listed as a 1/8 scaled figure, but her size makes look like a 1/7 scaled figure instead.  But a little number crunching does confirm that her scale is correct, it’s just that other figures are smaller than they should be.  In case you were wondering, the figure is 22cm tall; which means Sheryl’s height is 176cm (or 5’10”).  Sexy!!  ^3^

mh_sheryl_03

Alter’s Akatsuki is responsible for the beautiful sculpt, and Tc from MegaHouse is the one who gave life to this beautiful figure.  They were the masterminds who brought us Queen’s Gate Alice as well.

mh_sheryl_04

Overall, as expected, the figure’s sculpt, paint job, and attention to detail is second to none.  I would like to say the figure is flawless, which it would be, if it wasn’t for the inherent flaw of being a cast-off figure, seam lines.  However, they did a really good job with the cast-off sculpt nonetheless.

mh_sheryl_05

Usually, bulky clothing is another inherent flaw in cast off figures, but this wasn’t the case because Sheryl’s stage outfit is bulky in the first place.  Thus, Sheryl looks perfect in both display options!!  Most of the seam lines are strategically hidden from view, but some of the seam lines on her stage outfit can still be seen.

mh_sheryl_06

Seam line or no seam line, Sheryl looks gorgeous.

mh_sheryl_07

Since I am on the topic of her cast-off option, I would like to curse MegaHouse for not including any instructions on how to remove her clothes!!  Alter gave us an instruction on “how to put Yoko’s pistol in her holster”; yet, MegaHouse, as usual, didn’t give us any instruction on how to remove Sheryl’s complicated set of clothing.

mh_sheryl_08

Here is a run down on how to remove her clothes.  You’ll have to do this at least once if you plan on displaying her.

  1. Remove Sheryl’s head.  It separates at the collar.
  2. Remove the boots.  They separate at the top of the boot.
  3. Remove the “leggings”.  They’ll slip out from her thighs.
  4. Remove left arm.  Note that it does not connect at the shoulder, but at her armbands.
  5. Remove the bottom part of her coat.  They separate into two down the seam line.
  6. Remove right arm.  Like her left arm, it separates at the armband.
  7. Remove the top part of her coat.  You’ll have to pull it over her right shoulder.

Use this photo as a reference. ^^

mh_sheryl_09

mh_sheryl_10

mh_sheryl_11

Hotness!!

mh_sheryl_12

My favourite part about this figure is the many display options available.  You can have one for each day of the week. ^^

mh_sheryl_13

Sheryl’s my favourite girl in Macross Frontier.  Heck, she’s one of my all time favourites.  ^^  I really liked her carefree and outgoing character, yet she will be serious when the occasion calls for it.  Not to mention she was always entertaining to watch.

mh_sheryl_14

mh_sheryl_15

mh_sheryl_16

mh_sheryl_17

The seam lines detracts the appeal of this figure, but the details are there to distract your eyes from the seam lines.

mh_sheryl_18

mh_sheryl_19

mh_sheryl_20

No detail was left out on the string.

mh_sheryl_21

mh_sheryl_22

mh_sheryl_23

mh_sheryl_24

Sheryl’s flowing pink hair adds a lot to the appeal of this figure’s, otherwise boring, pose.  Her flowing pink hair signals a sense of movement, wether it’s the wind or her head turning, it makes this figure visually interesting, yet it doesn’t distract your attention from the overall figure.

mh_sheryl_25

The attention to detail on Sheryl’s hair is worth mentioning as well.  Yes, the sculpt looks great and all, but the paint job is simply gorgeous and jaw dropping.  They captured her hair colour perfectly in this figure, right down to the end of her hair turning into a pinkish-opaque colour.

mh_sheryl_26

mh_sheryl_27

She is such a temptress.

mh_sheryl_28

Usually the hair on the top of the head will be void of details when a hat is involved, but that wasn’t the case with Sheryl.  That’s Alpha x Omega craftsmanship for you.

mh_sheryl_29

mh_sheryl_30

It’s not like we need low-angle shots to get a glimpse of the good stuff, but I took them anyways. ^^

mh_sheryl_31

Did I forget to tell you there’s no lack of fan service when it comes to the smexy Sheryl Nome?

mh_sheryl_32

I had a hard time deciding how I want to display her, so I decided to get two Sheryls to ease the pain. ^^

mh_sheryl_33

How would you display Sheryl?

mh_sheryl_34

She is still “visually interesting” to look at in cast-off mode. ^^v

mh_sheryl_35

mh_sheryl_36

mh_sheryl_37

mh_sheryl_38

mh_sheryl_39

Definitely didn’t regret getting two Sheryls.

mh_sheryl_40

The minute details are there to be seen.  See her fold quartz earring?

mh_sheryl_42

Don’t you think it’s sexier when you can’t quite see it all?

mh_sheryl_43

She’s such a tease.

mh_sheryl_44

Sheryl gives you another reason to buy her figure. ^^

mh_sheryl_45

mh_sheryl_46

The base is simple, yet elegant, with Sheryl’s signature on it.  I would’ve preferred a stage diorama base though.

mh_sheryl_47

mh_sheryl_48

mh_sheryl_49

Alpha x Omega’s Sheryl Nome is definitely a buy for her fans, fans of the series, or anyone looking for an interesting figure to spice up their collection.

mh_sheryl_50

This is how I have her on display.  You won’t be disappointed with a figure of this caliber.  ^^

mh_sheryl_51

mh_sheryl_52

mh_sheryl_53

mh_sheryl_54

I didn’t notice anyone else on my blogroll with her review yet.  Please let me know if you have a Sheryl review. ^^

30 Responses to “Alpha x Omega Sheryl Nome”


  1. 1 Leonia 09/03/2009 at 01:28

    Beautiful review and picture mister ^^ This figure is really nice and great (colors and sculpture) but I don’t like her clothes ^^

  2. 3 Guy 09/03/2009 at 04:32

    I had a hard time deciding how I want to display her, so I decided to get two Sheryls to ease the pain. ^^

    No wonder you need to work so hard at work, when you spend your money so ;)

    I would have liked her clothes, but aside from being slightly too bulky (cast-offable common bug), the pants are really not doing it to me, what with the revealed thighs being a bit ridiculous.

    Love her face and hair.

    • 4 Tommy 09/03/2009 at 19:16

      LOL, what’s the point of making money if you don’t plan to use it? At least I’m using it on something I like. :P

      The bulkiness isn’t much of a problem with this one because her stage outfit is quite bulky in the anime. Not sure about you, but I’ve seen more ridiculous stage costumes in real life. ^^;;

      • 5 Guy 09/04/2009 at 03:44

        With people like Lady Gaga roaming the stages, the “I’ve seen more ridiculous stage costumes in real life” is not hard, nor does it hold much water ;) that there are worse stage-outfits does not make a bad stage outfit any better :D

        And no, her is slightly ridiculous, not overmuch.

        • 6 Tommy 09/05/2009 at 10:56

          Well…it’s Lady Gaga, she’s “special”. I was actually referring to Asian pop idols’ stage outfits. I guess it just boils down to personal preference as I really liked the Sheryl concerts, and the nanobot outfit. And personally, I don’t find this outfit bad in design, must be the uniform appeal working its magic on me. ^^;;

  3. 7 Lelouch 09/03/2009 at 06:42

    will be doing a review of her on Panther’s blog once I get her

  4. 8 rotaku 09/03/2009 at 21:54

    Nice… but I don’t know, but I hate Macross ^^;

  5. 10 Miette-chan 09/03/2009 at 22:24

    I must have her, I looked at some preview figures before and wasn’t much interested. But now that I have taken a closer look at her face, I really want her. I been wanting a nice high quality set of Sheryl and Ranka figures for a while, and this surely takes care of first.

    Hmm…I would probably display her in her cast off costume >_<'

    • 11 Tommy 09/05/2009 at 14:05

      You definitely won’t be disappointed with this one. I was quite skeptical about this figure as well,but knowing it’s by Alpha x Omega is insurance for a great figure. ^^

      They’ll be releasing a Ranka in stage outfit around spring 2010, so this figure will definitely be even more sought after when she’s officially announced.

  6. 12 gundamjehutykai 09/04/2009 at 15:15

    still waiting for my Sheryl to arrive, but I don’t have particularly high aspirations for her after I found the megahouse Queens blade Nyx to be so crushingly disappointing.

    But I got something else to do in the meanwhile…

    • 13 Tommy 09/05/2009 at 14:10

      Queen’s Blade Nyx was bad, but you have to keep in mind that she was a 2007 release and how much figure making have improved since then.

      On top of that, Alpha x Omega makes better figures than MegaHouse alone because they have their best sculptors and painters working on these projects.

      • 14 Guy 09/05/2009 at 14:31

        Always makes you wonder: Why do something half-assed to begin with, and then spend double the effort to fix it?

        Of course, because half-assed turns in enough money, usually.

        • 15 Tommy 09/05/2009 at 16:55

          I don’t mind it looking “half-ass” as long as the problems are fixed in future releases. Hey, everyone have to start somewhere right? It’s not just MegaHouse that had problems with their figures, other companies like Alter, Max Factory, and Good Smile have seen their share of problematic figures.

          Cast-off figures were still relatively new back in 2007 (I think) and if it wasn’t for Nyx’s failure, we wouldn’t have awesome figures like Alice, Nanael, Allean, and Sheryl. :P

          The way I see it is they did their best back then with the resources/knowledge available to them. They strive to make better figures and continue to improve, and that’s what matters the most to me.

  7. 16 Ryuuzaki 09/05/2009 at 11:58

    I absolutely love my Sheryl. I also had a really hard time deciding how to display her. So, for now I’ve decided on a compromise. I have her with the leggings on but no coat, with the hat, the microphone with the cord, and I attached the suspenders. It looks as though you’ve caught her in mid change.

  8. 17 Tommy 09/05/2009 at 14:11

    I actually found it quite interesting how you can display her “in between” the two display options, yet the figure still looks okay. But I’m surprised that someone is actually displaying her that way. ^^

  9. 20 Lylibellule 09/06/2009 at 02:52

    A shooting very impressive! The photographs are superb! Congratulations!
    Sheryl is splendid. MegaHouse spoiled us.

  10. 22 Mar 09/08/2009 at 18:20

    I love my Megahouse Sheryl.

    It’s got an impressive sculpt.

    It’d give it a 9.5 out of 10.

  11. 24 optic 09/09/2009 at 09:41

    Great shoot. She indeed looks very nice even though I have yet to start on the series. I’m missing the last few episodes which is a shame. :(

    Maybe it’s just me but what was the point in getting both? Was just the love of Sheryl, u decided to grab both?

    • 25 Tommy 09/10/2009 at 01:54

      I think they’re still available at animesuki. ^^

      I wasn’t sure how I wanted to display Sheryl, so i decided to get two for both options. You can say it was my love for her as well. :P

  12. 26 BluePencil 09/12/2009 at 15:42

    Thanks for the great review. Now, I’m thinking of getting two of them instead of just getting one.

  13. 28 Blowfish 09/18/2009 at 19:29

    Haha Im glad that Im not the only one critizising MegaHouse for their Lack of Castoff Directions.I was about to refer to the Yoko Gun Holster Manual in my next MH review too ^_^

    I havent seen an episode of Macross but out of the two maingirls im definately for Sheryl^^
    Id display her in castoff mode though.Im not a big fan of that military like looking uniform

    • 29 Tommy 09/20/2009 at 00:50

      LOL, they did put “instructions” on Zero’s box…so we know they do put instructions for simple cast-offs. Let’s just hope they do it for complicated ones in the future. ^^

  14. 30 animefigures 10/09/2010 at 08:00

    Beautiful figure and an interesting read


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

counter for wordpress

