Brilliant Stage iDOLM@STER Chihaya Kisaragi ~ 如月千早

mh_chihaya_00

Chihaya Kisaragi (如月千早) is the latest idol to be released in MegaHouse’s Brilliant Stage iDOLM@STER series of figures.  This blue haired, flat-chested vocalist is amongst the most popular idol in the iDOLM@STER franchise, so it’s logical that she receives the figure treatment before some of the other girls.

mh_chihaya_01

I say it’s logical because MegaHouse is releasing the idols in the order of their popularity, so by the time you have six or seven idols in your collection you will be more inclined to complete the set than if you only had one or two.

I knew I was going for the whole set when they were announced, having my favourites come first makes it easier because I won’t be dreading over a Ritsuko purchase. ^^;;

Chihaya Kisaragi

The original artwork that MegaHouse’s Chihaya is based on looks gorgeous.  I kind of wished the sculpt for this figure was closer to the artwork; most notably the details on her bangs and the sharpness of her face.

Here’s some videos of Chihaya in action:

Chihaya Kisaragi 如月千早 – Arcadia MAD

Lovely fan made video of Chihaya’s personal song.  She have one of the best singing voice in the game, with the other being Azusa.

Chihaya Kisaragi 如月千早 – Relations

Unlike the other girls’ solos, I can listen to Chihaya’s songs for hours.

mh_chihaya_02

MegaHouse’s Chihaya was released in August 2009 and went on sale for ¥6,800.

mh_chihaya_03

Ryutaro Kaminaga from Nekohouse is in charge of the sculpting for the idols in MegaHouse’s Brilliant Stage iDOLM@STER S-3 releases.  They do some lovely illustrations from various series’ as well.

mh_chihaya_04

MegaHouse’s Chihaya is surprisingly pleasing to look at.  Her pose doesn’t have the flare and intensity of Miki and Haruka, yet her figure looks awesome in the sense that “YES, THIS IS CHIHAYA!!”  This is what Chihaya is all about.  Nekohouse did wonders in capturing the essence of her character into the figure.

mh_chihaya_05

Her sculpt looks gorgeous with a beautiful paint job to match, and the attention to detail is everything befitting of her 1/7 scale.

mh_chihaya_06

The base, which I haven’t shown a detailed photo of in four reviews (^^”), is uniform throughout the iDOLM@STER series of figures, a really nice touch in my opinion.

mh_chihaya_07

MegaHouse is arguably the best in making the, otherwise boring, round base work for their figures.  The solution is simple: make it clear and add some etchings on it.  But GoodSmile still makes the most awesome bases for their figures.

mh_chihaya_08

The base isn’t boring to look at anymore because you actually have something to look at when gazing on it, yet the details are subtle so it doesn’t distract your eyes from the figure.  I just wish they weren’t as big as they are.

mh_chihaya_09

mh_chihaya_10

Cool and serious, Chihaya has the greatest enthusiasm and natural talent towards music out of all of the girls, believing that if she were no longer able to sing, she would rather die.  She also prefers to be referred to as a “vocalist” rather than an “idol”, shunning the non-singing aspects of being an idol.

mh_chihaya_11

mh_chihaya_12

Stunning details.  I expected nothing less from MegaHouse.

The fact that she actually looks “game accurate” lands her more points in the sculpting department.

mh_chihaya_13

I’m really happy that they’re not using a black lining on their mouth anymore.  I wonder why they used the black lining in the first place.

mh_chihaya_14

mh_chihaya_15

mh_chihaya_16

mh_chihaya_17

mh_chihaya_18

mh_chihaya_19

I hope everyone likes the orange background.  Personally, I think orange is an ugly colour, but it works well with this figure. ^^

mh_chihaya_20

mh_chihaya_21

mh_chihaya_22

mh_chihaya_23

Lovely details on her hair.  Multiple strands/layers is a nice change to the usual blobs you get with other figures.  They could’ve done more with the top of her head though, it looks quite plain right now.

mh_chihaya_24

Amazing details on her stage outfit.  I love the blue and white colour scheme with sparkles on the blue only.

mh_chihaya_25

Yummy thighs and leg garter.

mh_chihaya_26

mh_chihaya_27

mh_chihaya_28

Pettanko working it’s magic on me. ^^;  In case you haven’t noticed, Chihaya has the smallest bust out of all the idols with (B-W-H): 72-55-78.  Yes…even smaller than the 12 year old Futami twins.

mh_chihaya_29

mh_chihaya_30

mh_chihaya_31

The level of detail on these Brilliant Stage Idolm@ster figures never fails to impress.

mh_chihaya_32

mh_chihaya_33

mh_chihaya_34

mh_chihaya_35

mh_chihaya_36

mh_chihaya_37

mh_chihaya_38

mh_chihaya_39

mh_chihaya_40

Chihaya pantsu. ^^

mh_chihaya_41

Chihaya fans won’t be disappointed with this figure by MegaHouse, she looks magnificent in her blue and white stage outfit.

mh_chihaya_42

mh_chihaya_43

The idols look lovely as individuals, they look stunning as a group.

foo-bar-baz is the only other person I know collecting this set.  Anyone else collecting them?

mh_chihaya_44

I haven’t noticed anyone else on my blogroll with a review of Chihaya yet.  Please let me know if have one.

You might also be interested in:

Haruka Amami L

Miki Hoshii L

Yukiho Hagiwara L

Iori Minase L

17 Responses to “Brilliant Stage iDOLM@STER Chihaya Kisaragi ~ 如月千早”


  1. 1 Lylibellule 09/14/2009 at 01:34

    Chihaya is one of Idol which I like more. My favorite being Iori but, unfortunately, HLJ cancelled my pre-order (not received enough of this figure :'( ).
    Very good job in your pictures. The orange background gives dynamism. Cheer!

  2. 4 Leonia 09/14/2009 at 01:55

    I think that she is my favorite ! Congratulation for this so nice picture. ^^ As always ;)

  3. 6 Guy 09/14/2009 at 05:51

    Nice group photo at the end!

    I have noticed this issue as well, where the hair gets detailed, but not the top of it, where it’s all together like a cap.

    I like the Arcadia MAD song, the other – not so much. Also, the animation of the movements is ridiculous, beyond the movements being too short and not being concluded, they’re almost on slow motion, as if a girl is watching TV and thinking what moves she needs to take.
    It feels like a super slow practice, heh.

    And the orange background worked fine with this figure.

    • 7 Tommy 09/14/2009 at 22:25

      Thanks, they look much better as a group.

      Generally, figure makers will give detail on the top of their head when the original design warrants; but most of them skip it when they don’t have to do it. “orz

      I actually like the relations song a lot, but that’s just my personal taste. If you’re talking about the Arcadia video, the guy slapped a bunch of (unrelated) dance moves into the video. But if you’re talking about the game…haven’t really noticed anything. ^^;;

  4. 8 gundamjehutykai 09/14/2009 at 14:57

    Whenever I see Chihaya, all I can think is “that psycho evil one from Xenoglossia” tho, I guess you’d also have a few screws loose if you were an Idol with a chest smaller than a 12 year old!

    Me, I’m more of an Asuza man, myself!

    • 9 Tommy 09/14/2009 at 22:27

      LOL, I love psycho Chihaya from Xenoglossia!! “Pure…white…creamy…fluid…” ^^

      I think Azusa will be next on the release block.

  5. 10 meronpan 09/16/2009 at 01:21

    chihaya~ ^^

    when i had to choose which psp game to get, i got the one with chihaya ^^ (but don’t tell her i mostly got it for miki ^^;;;)

    your idolmaster set is looking great! agree her bangs coulda used a little more detail or something but as you say, a very solid chihaya aura which is what matters in my book.

    i was really close to blowing a huge wad of cash on a gsc azusa auction but since that loss, haven’t gotten back to filling the idolmaster gap… ^^;

    • 11 Tommy 09/17/2009 at 23:47

      LOL, gotta love Miki. ^^

      I was really close to doing the same, but I still lost the bid in the end. “orz She is mighty expensive (power of otaku!), but I still want her in my collection.

  6. 12 Wolfheinrich 09/17/2009 at 01:56

    Nice collection there! And I still don’t know a thing about them XDD

  7. 14 Blowfish 09/18/2009 at 19:38

    Is she really Flatchested?
    I cant remember her falling in the flatchest category after watching IdolMaster Xenoglossia but maybe thats just my mind trying to seal away that awful anime ^^

    Anyways nice shoot!

    • 15 Tommy 09/20/2009 at 01:03

      She definitely is!!

      I actually loved how most of the girls were depicted in the anime. :P And yes, I think she had a bigger chest in the anime…but the figure is based on the idolmaster game.

  8. 16 Ami 10/31/2009 at 18:08

    I love this figure!! I just got it along with the Yayoi one, and I was impressed. I wish I was as pretty as Chi-chan…. Oh well, my Chi-chan figure is now my favorite

    • 17 Tommy 11/04/2009 at 23:58

      Nice, Yayoi is another well-done figure in the series. I just need to get my ass around to uploading the photos I took of her. ^^;;


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

