Canada Post ~ “Value added service”

canada_post_00

Canada Post is our national postal service, and like many other bloggers, I’ll be writing about how much I LOVE them!  I’m just wondering how many people knew I lived in the great white north (a.k.a. Canada)?

I’ve never sent anything larger than a letter with Canada Post in my life because they are mighty expensive to ship with.  This is probably why you don’t see that many Canadian eBayers, and why Canadian exporters are at a disadvantage.  Take a look at the screenshot after the break.  The same package was EMS’d from Japan for ¥2,200.canada_post_01

It costs $150 to ship the package back to its country of origin using Canada Post’s EMS equivalent!  Why would I want to ship a package to Japan you ask?  Remember how I said I’ve canceled MegaHouse’s Queen’s Blade Airi from my pre-order list?  It was sort of a last minute thing, and apparently HLJ didn’t receive my request and proceeded to charge my account for her.  They told me I could return her if I wished, and that’s why I inquired about how much it would be to ship her back to Japan.  I’ll talk about that in another post; but as you might’ve guessed, I didn’t ship her back in the end for obvious reasons.

Hmm…lets pay $150 to ship her back so I can get $70 refunded to me. ^^;;  They do have cheaper alternatives, but HLJ specified that the package must be sent via registered air mail, so my options are limited to the ones you see here.

canada_post_02

Sure, there are other couriers like FedEx, UPS, DHL, and Purolator.  But all of them charge more than Canada Post!  Yeah, can you believe that?  I’m pretty sure they can charge us less since they are more efficient than our crown corp, but why would they want to do that when they can charge more?  It’s just like everything else in Canada; why give consumers a lower price when they are willing (more like forced) to pay the higher one.  It’s not like we have a choice, right?

I understand that Canada is a big country that doesn’t have enough people to support any of its infrastructures.  It’s pretty much a given that crown owned entities will operate at a deficit.  But they can definitely be more efficient in how they deliver the mail to us and lower the cost a little bit…most of us use electronic mail nowadays anyways.  In case you’re wondering how they deliver the mail, they do it by foot, from door-to-door.  Yes, by foot, from door-to-door.  That’s how efficient they are (and why things are so expensive).  They should consider installing community mail boxes where we go to one central location in the neighbourhood to get the mail instead of wasting so much money sending the mailman to our houses.

How is your country’s postal service?

20 Responses to “Canada Post ~ “Value added service””


  1. 1 Wolfheinrich 10/14/2009 at 04:04

    What a mega ouch! $150 to ship something to Japan.

  2. 3 Guy 10/14/2009 at 06:15

    Well, there’s a $90 option as well, but that still ends you up with a loss…

    I am sure you are aware of my own postal office issues, but while ours is a true pain to receive packages with, they’re pretty cheap sending with.

    Also, I’ve seen some places where shipping from USA to Europe was cheaper than shipping to Canada.

    • 4 Tommy 10/17/2009 at 00:14

      I can get another figure with shipped to me EMS with $90. :P

      I’ve read your article, Canada Post is much better in terms of bringing us our packages…that’s about all the good news you get with them. And I wouldn’t be surprised by that, Canada always gets the short end of the stick. You think we would get things cheaper since we’re next to the Americans and our dollar is almost at parity…but everyone costs so much more here.

  3. 5 anonymous_object 10/14/2009 at 10:29

    That is pretty expensive. I’ve never had to ship anything back to Japan (thank God) but I was thinking about it once. Would have cost me about $45 to ship a 2400g item back to Japan, about the same it cost to ship it to me from Japan via EMS. I’m in the US by the way, and that price was from the USPS.

    • 6 Tommy 10/17/2009 at 00:17

      Hmm…2400g package…I wonder how much that would cost to ship to Japan. ^^;;

      I wouldn’t be surprised if it costs $450 to ship that package here. That’s what we get for having a bigger country with 10% of the US population. “orz

  4. 7 Aka 10/14/2009 at 20:10

    Wow! I didn’t know CanadaPost was so expensive!

    I love shipping with courier services that deliver to Canada via Canada Post, but I certainly could not afford to ship anything back via Canada Post!

    I just did a measurement on one of the figure boxes I received from Japan. Cost me say ¥2,000 / $23 CAD, to ship it via EMS, to ship it back back via Canada Posts EMS equivelent, $83 CAD / ¥7,226!

    I wonder why they’re so much more expensive?

    -Aka

    • 8 Guy 10/14/2009 at 21:02

      For the same reason people in concerts here sell a tiny mineral water bottle for up to $4 USD, instead of about half: They’ve got you by the balls, you have no choice but to use them.

      Also, they probably have bloated infrastructure, perhaps they even have a flat-rate for all of Canada, so you pay as much as those in the far-north do, which is silly, but possible.

      • 9 Tommy 10/17/2009 at 00:30

        Tell me about it. At least those people are getting mineral water for $4. The place I work at sells tap water (a.k.a. Dasani) for $4 and $0.10 worth of pop for $7.

        And as you’ve mentioned, Canada Post is so expensive because they have to average out the cost throughout the entire country…infrastructure fail. It should be MUCH cheaper than that if they calculate the cost based on your location’s shipping volume and distance.

        I just checked on their site to confirm that you are right. They do charge a flat-rate for all of Canada, which is a joke, because the same package costs the same if you ship it from Vancouver, which is about 3000km closer to Japan than where I live.

    • 10 Tommy 10/17/2009 at 00:18

      Now you know. ^^

      I love Canada Post too…as long as I’m not sending something with them. ^^

  5. 11 gundamjehutykai 10/15/2009 at 14:14

    However bad you think your postal service is, it won’t be as bad as the UK’s royal mail!! Unreliable AND expensive. All in 1 inconvenient package!
    Their Parcel division charges you extra if you want your stuff delivered to another address or on weekends because you won’t be around to pick it up!!

    • 12 Tommy 10/17/2009 at 00:32

      LOL, now I’m eager to find out if all commonwealth postal service is this bad. ^^;;

      They just leave our packages at the post office if we’re not around to receive it. Canada Post won’t ship on weekends/holidays even if we paid them to!

      • 13 Guy 10/17/2009 at 04:31

        Israeli mail doesn’t ship on weekends/holidays either, though to be honest, that makes sense.

        I mean, they need their time off too.

  6. 14 meronpan 10/16/2009 at 03:19

    wholy crap! that’s horrible! my condolences ;_;

    i remain thankful to the us post office ^^;

  7. 16 Nopy 10/25/2009 at 17:43

    I know how you feel, whenever I order stuff online I’m always praying that it gets to me in good condition and I don’t have to send it back.
    CanadaPost does have good service though. Sometimes when I get a figure delivered, the mailman brings a treat for my dog.

  8. 18 Blowfish 10/26/2009 at 18:11

    Wow I didnt know youre a Canadian.The Canadian Otaku force is quite strong.

    Im actually having a similar problem.Ive got a faulty dakimakura from HLJ and I have to send it back via registered airmail.Sure theyll refund the money but itll still be expensive I fear.

  9. 20 LafWeesebar 09/24/2010 at 04:31

    sex z psom Thank you very much! I took a too-handy. very nice, so we would have done so A huge Thank you to you! and more posts on this topic will be in the future? It is waiting! You know now who rarely writes on the subject, very pleasant to read, I would advise to add more pictures! Well of course tin … Thank you very much! I took a too-handy. Thank you very much! I took a too-handy. Your site in the opera is not the adjustment is shown, and everything is fine! спасибки you for your clever ideas!


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

counter for wordpress

