Tracing Fonts

tracing_font_00

What do I do at school?  I trace fonts.  “orz

I never thought I would ever need to know the difference between Garamond, Baskerville, and Bodoni; never dreamed about it.  Well, I do now.  That’s why the prof made us trace these three fonts so their subtle differences will be scarred in our memories forever.  Sounds easy enough, how hard can tracing fonts be?  You’re just tracing some letters.  It’s not so easy when you have to trace them in 80 pt size with the prof expecting the best from you to get an A.

tracing_font_01

We had to space them out ourselves too.  I traced the fonts in pencil first because I’m a pencil person.  Things turn out better, or so I think, when I start with pencil first.  And it’s easy to fix my mistakes too. ^^

tracing_font_02

Retraced the pencil lines using some fine pigment liner.

tracing_font_03

Then the easy part was finishing the fonts to spec by hatching or filling in the fonts with a thicker pigment liner.

Total time used: 2hr 30min.  I could’ve shaved one hour from it if I skipped tracing with pencil, but I would be kicking myself if I made a mistake.  I know people in my class who took three or four hours doing this assignment because they didn’t trace it with pencil first.  Everyone, be thankful for computers and printers!

If you still think tracing 80 pt fonts is easy, print out a set and try it for yourself.  You’ll feel the pain.  ;)

16 Responses to “Tracing Fonts”


  1. 1 thetsundere 10/17/2009 at 06:46

    Fonts/typefaces are awesome – they are a secret love of mine. Not sure how patient I would be with tracing them though >.>

    • 2 Tommy 10/20/2009 at 17:26

      My prof will love to have you in her class. ^^

      We don’t pay much attention to them, but I agree that they’re quite awesome.

  2. 3 Wolfheinrich 10/17/2009 at 23:50

    Interesting exercise, what major are you in again?

  3. 5 Guy 10/20/2009 at 12:15

    You doing well? Hadn’t seen you out and about much lately.

    • 6 Tommy 10/20/2009 at 17:34

      Aside from one assignment due each day, I’m doing fine. Haven’t visited other people’s blogs for…umm…two weeks now, kinda feel bad about it.

      Trying to finish up two big assignments and study for the two midterms coming up this week. Funny that they give us a reading week after our midterms.

      • 7 Guy 10/20/2009 at 17:38

        Are they reading weeks, or just some time to try and get your breath, finish assignments you didn’t on time and thus got an extension, and just because they want time to look over your tests? Heh.

        Well, I just got back to my third year of my B.A. on Sunday, so yeah, “Mid-terms” sound so weird to me.

        Then again, we don’t really have mid-terms, usually have one test worth 70-100% of our grade, with sometimes some assignments during the semester to take some of the load.

        • 8 Tommy 10/20/2009 at 17:46

          Our midterms and assignments are due this week, and we have our reading week next week. I don’t really care since I get time to do my own stuff next week; it’s not like I’d study during reading week anyways. ^^;

  4. 11 enrius 10/23/2009 at 22:20

    Rest well. Sleep was never so precious before, right?

    But that’s a very interesting assignment! I personally never knew of tracing font until I read this entry. :-p

    • 12 Tommy 10/24/2009 at 17:15

      Thanks, it’s more like I was having too much sleep to get any thing done. ^^;;; Yes, I’m a bad student.

      I never knew of tracing fonts neither, until I was given the assignment. :S

    • 13 Guy 10/24/2009 at 17:29

      Once you go to the military, during weekends you’ll find out how valuable sleep is ;)

      Fall asleep at 6 pm the day you go home, wake up 6 am the next morning, sometimes 4 am, cause you’re not used to sleeping too many hours, but you can’t stay awake till the night in order to wake up at a sane hour.

      • 14 Tommy 10/24/2009 at 17:37

        I basically sleep whenever possible. I sleep on the bus (to and from school), I sleep when I get home at 3pm/7pm, wake up for dinner, do some homework, sleep at 1am. There’s no such thing as “too much sleep”. I can sleep for 24 hours, or I should say I have slept for 24 hours. It’s not normal.

        You can say my schedule is packed with sleep. People always wonder how I can sleep so much. ^^;;


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

