October Pre-orders update ~ Ordered, Wished, and Canceled

BRS Promo

Another month, another edition of my monthly pre-orders update covering what I’ve ordered, what I want to order, and what I’ve chucked from my orders.

I’ll start the coverage with Good Smile’s Black Rock Shooter who, yet again, have been delayed to a November release.  Hopefully the delays aren’t caused by GSC sticking a BRS logo onto the base as an anti-counterfeit measure. :P

Fate T Harlaown Promo

Alter’s Fate True Sonic Form have also been delayed once more to November.  I didn’t expect her to be delayed again, and I bet Q‘s neck is as long as a giraffe now. ^^;;  I usually hate delays, especially if it was already delayed before, but I’m not complaining this time because I didn’t want to dig that deep into my pockets for October anyways.  I have to pay my tuition, you know.

Wonfes figma Miku

Max Factory’s Wonfes figma Miku Live Stage version and Good Smile Company’s Wonfes TV Commercial Miku will be arriving in November as well.  My wallet won’t be taking as much of a beating because these two, or rather three, Mikus have been paid for.

Miku TV CM version

I’m just waiting for the killer shipping.  Hopefully I can skip the customs with these two.

Nanoha Promo

As I predicted last month, Alter’s Nanoha Takamachi -Exceed Mode- have been delayed to December.  My guts tell me she’ll be delayed once more.

Chiaki Promo

One of my most anticipated figures of all time, Chiaki-sama!!  Good Smile’s Nendoroid Chiaki-sama will be released in December.

Canaan Promo

GSC’s Canaan is slated to be released in January 2010.  But who knows with GSC, it might be July until we get to see her.

Alphard Promo

GSC’s Alphard will be released in March 2010.  Only getting her to complete the set since she looks kinda creepy in the promo photos.  Her attire is worthy to go on “What Not to Wear” AND she didn’t die in the end!! Sorry for spoilers, but you have no idea how pissed off I am with that crappy happy ending.

Figures I wish to have…

Yagyu Jyube Promo

Alter’s Yagyu Jubei have been in the forefront of this list for a while now.  I don’t know, and don’t care, who she really is; she just looks great as a figure.  She is stated to be released in October(?) but have not been released yet.  I hope I can get my hands on her.  Really.

Ritsu Nendoroid Promo

I’m not that big a fan of Nendoroid stuff, nor am I a raving K-ON! fan.  If I were, this figure would be sitting in my “ordered” list; and not here.  GSC’s Nendoroid Ritsu probably have 80% of her poster in the “ordered” list.  She is just so darn cute.  I love her “I passed!!” look with her bangs down.  Oh, and that drum set looks great too.  But look at how cute she is. ^^

Alter Mercedes Promo

Alter’s Odin Sphere Mercedes looks gorgeous with that beautiful dioramic base.  That’s why I like this figure.  I haven’t ordered her yet, but let’s all pray that Alter doesn’t put a “Odin Sphere” logo on the base. :P  I still have time to decide for Mercedes, and she ain’t all that expensive neither.

Saber Alter Maid Promo

Alter’s Saber Alter Maid should be in my “ordered” list already; but sadly, I have to pay my tuitions this week.  I’ll place my order next week since I like to have my money with me a little longer.  A Hobby Channel Exclusive, she is scheduled to be released in April 2010, and pre-orders are open until November 10, 2009.  Anyone ordered a Fate/Stay Night emblem?

Pre-orders I canceled…

Drossel figma Promo

I didn’t cancel a lot of pre-orders this month because, as you can already see, my pre-order list is quite slim now.  I canceled Max Factory’s figma Drossel because HLJ shipped my canceled Queen’s Blade Airi to me.  I had to cancel something.

Speaking of Max Factory, they’ve pretty much dropped out of the static figure business because they’re too busy milking the figma line.  I wonder what they’ll do when they run out of popular characters to figmatize.  Or better yet when the articulated figure market becomes too saturated, especially with new competition from Griffon with popular franchises like Zero no Tsukaima and To Heart, and Alter announcing they’ll take dibs in this sector as well.

Maybe I’m not otaku enough, and people will actually buy 20 variants of Saber and Haruhi that looks essentially the same, even if it’s just for the new accessories.  This seems to be true because fanboys are relatively content with what MF is doing: releasing new figmas with new accessories that could’ve been packaged with earlier releases.  Heck, they’re willing to pay ¥10,000 for a figma.  They know the otakudom well.

Kanu Promo

Alter’s Kanu Unchou, considered the best Kanu on the market because the rest are by Taki, was cut from my pre-order list because BRS and Fate got delayed to November, the same month Kanu’s supposed to be released.  I guess I can do without a Kanu figure for now. ^^

How does your pre-order list look like?

24 Responses to “October Pre-orders update ~ Ordered, Wished, and Canceled”


  1. 1 Guy 10/29/2009 at 13:44

    Yeah, this Kanu doesn’t look “sharp” enough.

    Also, you are part of the “Don’t make monetary sense” Otaku…

    I order a figure, I put money aside for her, at least for the month she gets released. Figure gets delayed, I merely push the money to the next month, so it doesn’t affect my buys during that month, but on the other hand, I don’t get the money back to spend this month.

    Yagyu Jubei looks awesome. I really really love her figure. I think she even gives Saber Alter Maid a run for her money.

    Also, I’d cut Alphard. Canaan only really looks great when looking at you, and this makes Alphard’s pose not optimal. Alphard’s a good figure, but if you’re getting her only to go along with Canaan? Don’t.
    Either it’ll result in a sub-optimal Canaan display, or in a truly atrocious Alphard display. And both of them at mediocre can’t compete with Awesome Canaan.

    • 2 Tommy 10/29/2009 at 16:14

      Hmm…since when did figure purchases make monetary sense? :P

      If I’m willing to part with a pre-order, chances are I had second thoughts and don’t like that figure as much as before. I’m just saving some money in the end. Everyone have their own way of keeping track of their money, mine is through a excel spread sheet, yours is money in the bank. Whatever works for you.

      I don’t know, maybe I’ll cut Alphard if something else comes up…it’s too early now.

  2. 3 Guy 10/29/2009 at 19:09

    Ah! I had something to ask, forgot, remembered, took a nap, forgot, and now I remember once more, so will ask before it flees my mind once more!

    Zero no Tsukaima articulated figures? Where? When? Show me! :D

    • 4 Tommy 10/29/2009 at 20:15

      I’m taking Q’s word for it. You can see what Griffin Enterprise have in store for us over at his blog. They don’t have a prototype for it yet though.

  3. 5 Optic 10/29/2009 at 19:44

    “My guts tell me she’ll be delayed once more.”

    I hope ur gut is right because I want her to be delayed at least till January. Working out my expenses for December, I’m gonna die when she’s released at the time. :S

    For Alter’s Yagyu Jubei, I’m kinda tempted in the swimsuit ver. I’m not sure if u have seen it but her sword is in-between her ‘eyes’. I know she’s another Hobby Japan exclusive but i will see if I can find her somewhere.

    As for MF, I don’t think they have completely dropped out from the static business. If u look at it from the Japanese market perspective, if they are selling like hotdogs then MF will continue making more regardless if it’s the same character or not. Besides, will some many anime series already out and continues to be out, their character list is endless.

    • 6 Guy 10/29/2009 at 19:57

      Swimsuit Jubei is also limited to 1,500 copies and will have a raffle held for her, so good luck there.

      Many people, like myself, seem to like regular Jubei better, which will lead to much saving of money :)

    • 7 Tommy 10/29/2009 at 20:19

      I’ve seen the HJ limited Yagyu Jubei, but I like the regular version more. It’s sexy, but not as provocative. :)

      Only if all of these animes have a lasting memory. But I guess the otaku market is different in that they’ll buy anime related products regardless. That’s why Taki Corp is still around today. Hmm…sounds like the Toronto Maple Leafs. I should cover that topic next month.

  4. 8 anonymous_object 10/29/2009 at 22:30

    Chiaki and Mercedes are high on my list and are already pre-ordered ^^
    Originally planned on getting all the K-ON! Nendoroids but after some thought canceled my pre-orders. Will stick with the scaled versions from Alter instead :)

    • 9 Tommy 10/30/2009 at 20:16

      I was going to pre-order her, but looked at the priced tag and went “WOAH, 4,000 yen?!?”…no thanks. I wonder if Alter’s version comes with a drum set. Not that I’m getting it since it’ll cost a bomb.

  5. 10 JefLebowski 10/30/2009 at 13:59

    Canaan
    Canaan Figma
    Ein Figma

    arrived: Ergo Proxy Vrdian Complete set, Requiem for the Phantom coffee-mug and T-hirt^^

  6. 12 Q 10/31/2009 at 00:47

    Soon my neck will be as long as a Diplodocus ^^;

    So you are just waiting mostly for the big ones. I suppose it’s good not to have too much on pre-order list so one won’t have to fear the danger of empty wallet when a lot of them come in at the same time. :o

    Btw I’ve heard that Fräulein will indeed be coming back soon, and rumour is apparently true: the next one should be Mari Illustrious Makinami.

    • 13 Tommy 10/31/2009 at 10:54

      Thanks for the info. It’d be interesting to see where they pick up the line after stopping it for a year.

      I doubt I’d order more than two figures a month from now on…the figures are getting pretty expensive now.

  7. 14 Blowfish 10/31/2009 at 11:49

    BRS,Chiaki and Alphard are on my list aswell.Im actually thinking about getting Canaan to accompany her ^^;;;

    Seriously Canaan was a pretty mediocre series itself and wouldnt it have been for the TypeMoon design most people wouldnt have watched the series anyway.You really thought Alphard died?You cant be serious right? XD
    The moment she fell down down into the water I knew shell make a reappearance.

    Kanu is on my list aswell as the rest of The Alter Ikki Tousen Girls.I missed Kanu and Choun back then and Im not gonna let that happen again ^^

    I totally agree that the action figure market is pretty saturated and I would never buy a figure twice just for some different outfit/accesoires.

    • 15 Tommy 10/31/2009 at 13:02

      More like I expected her to die. It would’ve made an awesome anime if more people died in it. LOL.

      I don’t really like the Ikki Tousen designs, so I decided I’ll skip them and save some money.

    • 16 Guy 10/31/2009 at 13:24

      I think you knew Alphard survived because that’s the convention in such series, not because she should have survived.

  8. 18 enrius 11/01/2009 at 11:04

    I’m waiting for Yagyu Jubei and BRS this month. Jubei’s released, BRS I hope it will be released. :-p I’ll update you when Jubei arrived and hope that will help make up your mind in getting her (I guess she will still be available.) Initially the swimsuit turned me on, but after looking at detailed photo, the hole between the eyes turned me off instead. Well, good riddance on my wishlist because she will be a pain in the ass to acquire.

    Looking at Alter’s Gwendolyn (Same origin with Mercedes), I don’t think Mercedes’ base will be slapped with an Odin Sphere logo. ^^ They both have the diorama base so rest assured. ^^ I PO’ed her to accompany Gwendolyn.

    Agreed with Nendo Ritsu. She is simply toooooo cute to pass up! Also I would certainly buy Chiaki if I have some extra money lying around…

    • 19 Tommy 11/05/2009 at 00:02

      Last I checked, Jubei is sold out…haven’t checked amazon jp yet. I’ll only get it from amazon jp if she goes on sale, which is pretty unlikely.

      I know Alter wouldn’t, it was just a protest against GSC. :P Mercedes will definitely be a great figure.

      Didn’t get Ritsu in the end because she’s too expensive for my taste. Too expensive for a Nendo that is.

  9. 20 GNdynames 11/01/2009 at 12:25

    I’ve placed my order for the Saber Alter Maid. I personally do wish she gets delayed though, because April is one hectic month.

  10. 24 stringedsonata 11/04/2009 at 00:18

    Not a bad list. I think I’ll steal this idea for an update to my own blog.


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

