New Revoltech Figures

Fraulein Asuka 2.0

I was browsing over at Tokyo Hunter’s Blog and saw these photos.  Instant hi-jack for my own post. ^^;;

Revoltech held their very own expo (who doesn’t?) on Halloween to showcase their current and future products with a couple surprises up their sleeves.  I never knew a company can host their own “expo”, but I’m not complaining here.  Full coverage of the expo can be found over at Tokyo Hunter’s Blog; I’ll be covering what I have my eyes on.

Looks like Kaiyodo will be releasing another Asuka in EVA 2.0 attire for their Fraulein line.  Say what?  Fraulein?  I thought they gave way to the new Queen’s Blade line.  Anyways, I’m all over this one because I like Asuka.

Fraulein Mari 2.0

The painted version of Mari, from EVA 2.0, looks pretty nice as well.  Funny that Q from Daybreak’s Bell was telling me about the new Frauleins yesterday.  It also looks like they’ve strayed away from the cutesy look of the original Frauleins, which is a good thing because people will finally stop saying they’re not “anime accurate”.  I can’t really say that’s the case for sure because there’s only two prototypes, but whatever.  Another noticable change is that the hands looks more “figma’ish”.

It’s a piece of mind knowing Kaiyodo won’t go overboard with multiple releases of the same character for their Fraulein line, plus they’ll only release one per month.  Now, let the battle begin…

Revoltech Alien

Looks like Revoltech is going international…character wise.  From what I’ve gathered at Tokyo Hunter’s blog, Revoltech’s new line, Tokusatsu Revoltech, will focus on characters from American and Japanese movies, tv shows, etc.  Now that’s a smart move by Kaiyodo while other figure makers are still concentrating on the otaku market.

Revoltech Jack Skeleton

Another lovely future Revoltech release is Jack Skellington from The Nightmare Before Christmas.  Not really a fan of the movie, but it does look awesome as a display piece.  Lovely dioramic base.  I’d say at least ¥3,500+ price tag.

Revoltech Batman

Batman, na-na-na-na lalalala Batman…Batman! Batman! Batman!  Or should I call him the Dark Knight?  I’m at a lost…

I’ll wait to see the painted version of this bad boy.  If they’re smart, they’ll go international with this new line.  I know it’s easier said than done with the different regulations in the many countries; but there’s a lot to be gained in the international market (namely U.S. and Europe) with figures from Western movies.  Revoltech Star Wars figures anyone?

I know some might say that it’ll be a bad move because the international toy market is even more saturated than the Japanese otaku market.  But 99% of the American brands can’t compete with the quality of Revoltech, especially at their ¥2,000-¥3,000 price range.  Not that they’ll be gearing towards the 5-12 year olds anyways. :P

22 Responses to “New Revoltech Figures”


  1. 1 Guy 11/01/2009 at 00:04

    Loving the Alien one, Mari is too plastic shiny. Skellington Jack brings back memories ;)

  2. 3 Wolfheinrich 11/01/2009 at 03:25

    Oh so a new Revoltech Asuka, might have to pick her up!

  3. 4 Blowfish 11/01/2009 at 11:22

    Already commented there but Im gonna say it again.Im pretty happy that revoltech FINALLY continues their Fräulein Line.
    Its kinda a bummer that its once again EVA Figures but atleast their articulation will be for the better.The First series was a HUUUUUUUUUUUUGE pain to work with.

  4. 6 enrius 11/01/2009 at 11:23

    Looking at some of the top notched non-Japanese figure companies, such as Hot Toys and Medicom, despite of the quality, their products are mostly targeted towards adults (Usually 100USD >). Not your average kid could afford that. I think Revoltech would benefit by keeping the standard price and aim for the correct market audience. At least from the promo photo this is a viable move.

    • 7 Tommy 11/05/2009 at 00:17

      I think being more affordable is their main advantage if they do go international. They don’t look half bad at all considering their price.

  5. 8 Miette-chan 11/01/2009 at 20:52

    I will keep my eye on these new Eva fraunleins. Revoltech Asuka was the first articulate figure I wanted in the first place and never did get her.

    May be that xenomorph too, they are always cool.

  6. 9 bd77 11/02/2009 at 10:18

    The 2.0 wrist does have a figma-ish joints. XD

    Hmm… Alien eh? Now that is one unique Revoltech that I’ll be looking to have (I could make more “interesting” 4komas that way :D).

  7. 11 Ninjovee 11/02/2009 at 19:08

    Oooh! New fraulein Revoltechs! Finally!
    Might get this Asuka instead of the old version… or maybe I can get both. Hmm.

    Which reminds me, I have yet to watch the new Eva movie

  8. 13 lightningsabre 11/03/2009 at 14:36

    Whoa! New Eva Frauleins?? Interesting… Batman’s looking cool too… but if I know Revoltechs, I’m sure they’ll do multiple colour variations of him XD

  9. 19 Q 11/07/2009 at 14:45

    It looks like that Revoltech is moving to different kinds of stuff to expand its market. There’s even a T-Rex there which is rather amusing :o

    With Queen’s Blade figures going I did wonder whether Fräulein was done for after Yoko Movie ver. The rumours of its comeback was first heard a few months ago, but there were no pictures until recently. Asuka does look good there, so I am looking forward to see it in colour. The “figma-like” hands was used on Yamaguchi line’s Reycal too.

    • 20 Tommy 11/08/2009 at 00:00

      I guess there’s only so many Queen’s Blade girls (and colour variations) they can release. I think they had some “figma like” hands on a couple of the later Frauleins too. But they didn’t use them exclusively.

      It’d be interesting to see what other funky characters they’ll release with the new line.

  10. 21 raptros 11/16/2009 at 20:00

    Looking forward for that ALIEN hehehe :) didn’t know there’s goin to be a new asuka for the fraulein line, must pick her up, and the t-rex and the two zoids… my gosh, 2010 will be a revoltech glory year for me it seems…


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

counter for wordpress

