Kotobukiya Asuka Langley Shikinami

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_00

Asuka Langley have seen many figures of her made over the years in more outfits than I can name; but oddly enough, she only received a handful of sculpts in her renowned plugsuit.  Looking at them now, most of them were average to mediocre and would not have pass the eyeball test anyways.  But times have changed, and Kotobukiya brings us a dandy with their Evangelion 2.0 Asuka Langley Shikinami.  Don’t ask me why she’s called Shikinami, I haven’t watched EVA 2.0 yet. ^^;;

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_01

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_02

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_03

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_04

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_05

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_06

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_07

Kotobukiya’s Asuka Langley Shikinami was released in October and retails for ¥6,800.  The price, in a non-monetary term, is quite reasonable for a 1/6 scale figure.  Sculpted by Tsukuru Shirahige, the overall quality of this figure is beyond what I expected from Kotobukiya.  Everything goes together really well with this Asuka.  It looks…pleasing.

While the quality is beyond my expectations for Koto, it’s still a farcry from what we see in Alter releases.  The sculpt looks really good, and no detail is missing from her design; but the paint job and finish needs improvements.  There were evidence of brush streaks and missing paint on my copy, and a few rough spots here and there.  Definitely not something you’d expect from a quality 1/6 scaled figure.

However, I really like the idea of the EVA02 unit acting as Asuka’s base.  It creates a stronger connection between the figure, the character, and the anime than a “regular” base with the logo slapped on it.  The base also makes the figure a better looking display piece overall.  Well done Koto.

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_08

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_09

As far as how “true to character” this Asuka is, I don’t know and I don’t care.  I don’t know because I haven’t watched Evangelion 2.0 yet.  I don’t care because she looks like a goddess to me.  I love how Koto chose to depict Asuka with a smile and sexy pose in a non-sexual way.

If you’ve read my other reviews, you’ll know that I don’t value “character accuracy” as much as other elements of the figure’s design.  She can look like Rei and I’ll still give her a good word if the figure looks great as a piece of artwork.

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_10

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_11

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_12

I love her smile.  It looks lovely on her.  A nice departure from the usual “D” smiles we get with anime girls.

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_13

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_14

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_15

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_16

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_17

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_18

My favourite shot of the shoot. ^^

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_19

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_20

As mentioned, the level of detail on Kotobukiya’s Asuka is everything we’ve come to expect from a 1/6 figure.  Every element on the character’s design is accounted for in this beautiful sculpt.  The only problem is the rough paint job and finish Kotobukiya neglected.  This roughness might’ve passed the test if it was on any other figure, but it’s magnified on the supposedly smooth surface of the plug suit.

Perhaps Koto should have went with the matte finished they chose for their prototype.

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_21

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_22

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_23

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_24

The lack of finish is most notable on Asuka’s hair sculpt, it needs sanding.  The hair is casted out of a translucent plastic like Alpha x Omega’s Sheryl Nome.

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_25

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_26

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_27

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_28

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_29

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_30

The rough surfaces and streaks are also magnified by the glossy plug suit finish.

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_31

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_32

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_33

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_34

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_35

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_36

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_37

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_38

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_39

The base is one of my favourite part of the figure.  It looks like an EVA02 unit carved from stone.  Beautiful details.

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_40

The good:

  • It’s Asuka in a plug suit
  • Beautiful pose and details
  • Lovely EVA02 base
  • Great price for a 1/6 scale figure

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_41

The ugly: (no, not Asuka’s ass)

  • Lack of finish on paint and surfaces
  • You get what you paid for

koto_asuka_langley_shikinami_42

Kotobukiya’s Evangelion 2.0 Asuka Langley is one of the best looking Asuka figure on the market today, and definitely the best in her plugsuit.  Koto did a really nice job in capturing Asuka in a lovely pose with everything you’d come to expect from a 1/6 scaled figure at ¥6,800.  If you’re like me, who was in need of an Asuka figure in her plugsuit, this figure will do the job.  If you’re not, she is still a lovely addition to any EVA army and figure collection.

You can also find some lovely photos at:

Thank you for dropping by again.

On a side note, how do you like the new figure review format?

Kotobukiya’s Asuka Langley Shikinami was released in October and retails for ¥6,800.  The price, in a non-monetary term, is quite reasonable for a 1/6 scale figure.  Sculpted by Tsukuru Shirahige, the overall quality of this figure is beyond what I expected from Kotobukiya.  Everything goes together really well in this figure.  It looks…pleasing.

While the quality is beyond my expectations for Koto, it’s still a farcry from what we see in Alter releases.  The sculpt looks really good, and no detail is missing from this babe; but the paint job and finish needs some improvements.  There were evidence of brush streaks and missing paint on my copy, and a few rough spots here and there.  Definitely not something you’d expect from a quality 1/6 scaled figure.

However, I really like the idea of the EVA02 unit acting as Asuka’s base.  It creates a stronger connection between the figure, the character, and the anime than a “regular” base with the logo slapped on it.  The base also makes the figure a better looking display piece overall.  Well done Koto.

18 Responses to “Kotobukiya Asuka Langley Shikinami”


  1. 1 Blowfish 11/06/2009 at 21:31

    Congratulations!
    Youre the first one that made the semi translucent hair visible ^^b

    As you said the Evangelion Unit base is a nice addon to the figure and it saves precious shelf space.Im not a big Asuka fan so I cant really judge but id say that shes one of the better Asukas out there.

    Btw I always wondered why Asuka was named Asuka Soryu Langley / Asuka Langley Shikinami when shes supposed to be German ^^;;;;;;

    Are you planning to get the matching Rei?

    I think I should mention that I do own the Alter Evangelion 1.0 Rei and to my amazement the painjob wasnt too good on her either.You could see the brush streaks on certain parts of her body and the whole paintjob was rather rough.Maybe its the PlugSuit in general thats giving the manufacturers a hard time?

    Btw I like your new Review Design.Maybe I should think about a consistent one for my blog aswell ^^;

    • 2 Tommy 11/07/2009 at 00:50

      I think she got her name from her Japanese mother. Is Langley a German lastname? Oh well, anime doesn’t have to make sense. :P

      I was planning on getting that matching Rei, but not sure at this point because my shelves are filled with no room to spare. :S

      I have that Alter Evangelion 1.0 Rei as well, but the brush streaks aren’t as apparent on my Rei as it is on Asuka. But you’re right that it’s hard to manufacture something like the plug suit.

  2. 3 Guy 11/07/2009 at 00:18

    Heh, “True to character”, you first say you don’t care because you hadn’t watched EVA 2.0, then you say you don’t care at all ;)
    For the record, the personality should remain the same as in EVA 1.0.

    I think her hair is a bit too highlighted in parts, and I dunno if your light or the painting, but that flash on the crown of her head is… not to my liking.

    Well, to be honest, I always said her outfit was too glossy, as if someone dipped her in body oils ;) and as for there being streaks on her outfit, you can always tell yourself it’s a result of it being a battle-suit, and that she got dipped in some tentacle-slime goo. Though she didn’t :D

    • 4 Tommy 11/07/2009 at 01:03

      I really don’t care because it’s harder to make something out of the ordinary that looks pleasing to the eye than something that is already accepted. Most people don’t value that kind of effort, but I do. :P

      Asuka didn’t appear in Evangelion 1.0; you must be referring to the original Neon Genesis series. According to Wiki (the most trusted source), Asuka’s character received some changes in Evangelion 2.0; she’s not the same Asuka that we know of.

      The highlight is from my lights, though the figure’s hair is somewhat on the shiny side. I don’t have a problem with the shiny paint job, but rather Kotobukiya’s inability to create a smooth surface with the shiny paint job.

      • 5 Guy 11/07/2009 at 01:46

        Yeah, I meant “Eva 1.0” as in “The original Eva” :D

      • 6 Guy 11/07/2009 at 01:48

        Oh, and regarding her personality, it’s still problematic, since there are going to be 4 movies, and it’s likely that basing things on her personality now and now on how we’d understand it after the whole thing is done…

        Well, we could say, “Yeah, that’s Movie 3’s Asuka”, but in the end, after we watch it all, we also better understand past instances.
        I guess that’s something that series do better. That is, until they began creating the figures before the series even got to episode 4, like Canaan ;)

        • 7 Tommy 11/08/2009 at 00:03

          Uggg…Canaan. Trying to get that anime out of my system now.

          To be honest, I didn’t watch all of Neon Genesis; so Asuka’s personality change won’t affect my view as much as those die-hard fans.

  3. 8 Miette-chan 11/07/2009 at 02:41

    Oh hadn’t noticed the base when I looked at the pre-order pictures. Looks like a nice realease, I do agree on the issue with the rough surfaces.

    Like the new format, it’s always nice to see an easy to read summary of sorts.

    • 9 Tommy 11/08/2009 at 00:05

      I kinda like the new format too. ^^

      The base is very neat, and it was one of the reason why I bought this figure. I’m surprised that you didn’t notice it in the promo pics.

  4. 10 Leonia 11/07/2009 at 02:48

    Asuka is better than i thought ^^ I love her expression ! Thanks for your review :)

  5. 12 Lylibellule 11/07/2009 at 04:30

    I couldn’t imagine Asuka so pretty. And I had not noticed it was made to scale 1 / 6.

    Despite the small painting problems and lack of finish (big worry on the part of Kotobukiya), it is really pretty. And presentation is visually pleasing.

  6. 13 Q 11/07/2009 at 15:03

    According to Wikipedia Asuka’s surname is changed with the following reason in 2.0:

    “Among the known changes are Asuka’s family name being changed from Soryu (惣流) to Shikinami (式波), continuing the Japanese maritime vessel naming convention, and that she is now referred to as holding the rank of captain.”

    This Asuka sure doesn’t look bad, abeit a few flaws on the finish, but that’s sort of expected from Kotobukiya (I suppose?). The base is unusual with how it’s a EVA Unit 2 carved out of stone :o

    • 14 Tommy 11/08/2009 at 00:10

      LOL, so Asuka got a new battleship name and a promotion.

      I guess this is one of the better Kotobukiya releases. I actually didn’t have that much of an expectation for this release. But they can still do better.

      The base is part of the charm of this figure…I guess.

  7. 15 Ninjovee 11/07/2009 at 22:23

    A very, very lovely review of Koto’s Asuka. I first thought that the initial photo was one of the photos from Hobby Search since they looked quite similar.

    Also I loved this shot the most. I think it’s the best angle for this figure.

    As for the figure, I liked her details, and I was surprised that the base wasn’t just a random rock (which was what I thought it was). I really didn’t like how they posed Asuka though… I mean, the pose is great, if done right, and this one, well… let’s just say no normal person can really pull off that kind of pose for more than 10 mins, unless you want your leg to go numb or your want to break your ankle if you get off-balance. Then again, the Rei counterpart for this figure has a less pleasing pose than Asuka’s ^^;

    • 16 Tommy 11/08/2009 at 00:14

      Thanks. I really liked the yellow background Koto used for their promo shots, so I decided to use yellow as well. ^^

      That is a lovely angle indeed. I had a hard time deciding between that one and a couple others from similar angles.

      Well, I guess Asuka was posing for a photoshoot? I don’t think Asuka will be sitting around for more than 5 minutes anyways…you know, she have to keep an eye on Rei and Shinji. ^^;;

  8. 17 Wolfheinrich 11/08/2009 at 01:48

    Nice figure indeed, definitely among one of the best releases from Kotobukiya. Most probably the best plugsuit Asuka ever made to-date.

    • 18 Tommy 11/14/2009 at 15:10

      Yes, Kotobukiya did a wonderful job with this release. I’m still wishing for a matching Asuka by Alter though. Let’s hope it’s in the works. :)


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

