New Figures for October and November!

Time for another loot post since I haven’t posted in almost two weeks!  I don’t have any excuse for not posting for this long aside from not having much content to post, and school work.  I was hoping to have MegaHouse’s Allean review up before posting this, but this will become a October+November+December loot post if I do that.  I think I’ll stop doing what I’ve been doing and post these loot posts on the first of every month regardless.  It’s a promise this time.

I hope I didn’t leave any figures out because it’s been two months since my last loot post.  But here is my October and November loot: GSC Saber Lily, Kotobukiya Asuka Langley Shikinami, Kotobukiya Taiga Aisaka, MegaHouse Taiga Aisaka, MegaHouse Airi, and MegaHouse Allean.

I didn’t give GSC’s Saber Lily a raving review, and I still stand by what I said.  She’s a great figure, but her viewing angle is just too limited.

MegaHouse’s Queen’s Blade Airi wasn’t suppose to arrive at my doorstep, but she did anyways.  Not a bad figure, but she’s showing her age.

Kotobukiya’s Asuka Langley is definitely the surprise of the month (or two), and quite possibly the surprise figure of the year for me.  She turned out better than what I expected from Kotobukiya.

Kotobukiya’s Taiga Aisaka Dengeki Exclusive also surprised me in more ways than one.  First was her size…then it was the crappy quality.  She looks great, but definitely not worth her price tag (especially the one I paid).

MegaHouse’s Taiga Aisaka is better than Kotobukiya’s in terms of quality, but she is boring to look at.  A little too boring.

Another first for me was that I didn’t dust my figures for two weeks!  Yes, I let the girls gather dust for two whole weeks.  If you know me (which you don’t), I dust my figures down every Sunday.  So you know I’ve been really busy when I don’t even have the time to dust my figures.  Rest assured, I dusted them down the Saturday past when I had a day off.

Figure boxes are piling up as well.  To trash them or not to trash them?  That’s the question…

A HUGE box arrived last week, and it was supposed to be my last box from HLJ this year…which turned out to be false because something else is coming next week.  That box will make for a great contest question.  *wink wink*  The prize will be a great one for some of you.  *wink wink wink*  Anyways, as you can see, this giant box is the long awaited Fate T. Harlaown Shin Sonic Form.  Her shipping cost was ¥6,200 according to what HLJ charged me, but her actual shipping cost was ¥5,400.  They never overcharged me before.  Is this their way of saying F-U after I canceled 20 pre-orders from them last month?

So here’s my question of the day, which review do you want to see first:  MH Allean, or Alter Fate T. Harlaown?

22 Responses to “New Figures for October and November!”


  1. 1 Leonia 12/09/2009 at 06:01

    FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE ! FATE !

    Haem, sorry, I think that I’am a fangirl xD You have really a nice collection :)

  2. 3 enrius 12/09/2009 at 06:17

    Ehehe, I voted for Allean. But anyone of them would make a great review. ^^

    “Not a bad figure, but she’s showing her age.”
    Care to enlighten me? ^^;;

    I simply love your wall of figures + boxes. “Simply love it” is not enough to convey that feeling but that’s the best I could think of.

    I usually keep the boxes – Actually they were not too many for me to have space problem. ^^;; I think of the boxes (Artwork, design of the box) as a part of the figure too. But that’s just me.

    Let me have the first guess – Urm…………… Hatsune Miku Live Version Figma?

    • 4 Tommy 12/10/2009 at 00:44

      I can enlighten you or you can read the review. :P Her clothing is way too bulky.

      Thanks, I love the wally, but I don’t like the boxes stacking up in my room. I’d care less about it if there’s a safe place I can store them in the basement.

      And you are wrong. :P

      • 5 enrius 12/10/2009 at 08:16

        LOL Now I see what you mean by showing her age!!!! ^^ Initially I thought quality wise now I now it’s kinda rhetorical.

        For me, looking at the stack of boxes pumps my adrenaline. Weirdo huh? I just see it as one of the achievements… :-p

        Awww, I don’t suppose I have a second guess, right? ^^;;

        • 6 Tommy 12/17/2009 at 23:04

          Heh, I wish the boxes are smaller like the myth cloth ones, but what can I do.

          That one doesn’t count, so knock yourself out for the figma Miku Live Stage. There’s another one coming after as I think many international readers aren’t willing to pay for the expensive shipping.

  3. 7 Guy 12/09/2009 at 08:52

    I prefer Allean, the shots of Fate never amazed me, and I hate wires/rods…

    Also, maybe HLJ had you pay for the space Fate occupied, dunno.

    I hope this cost was for EMS Shipping, and yeah, talk about a huge box… I think companies need to learn that smaller boxes=better, and perhaps they give you huge boxes to urge you to throw them out, to lessen the chance of you re-selling them, heh.

    • 8 Tommy 12/10/2009 at 00:52

      I haven’t even opened Fate’s box yet. I don’t have space for her atm. “orz

      Yeah, it was by EMS. I think her weight was over the SAL weight limit anyways, so any Fate orders will go by EMS. I think it has more to do with exposure on store displays (which doesn’t apply to online shoppers) and less about you re-selling them. That’s why I never mention anything about how the boxes looks in my reviews; we never see them until they arrive. It’s a surprise every time.

  4. 9 Optic 12/09/2009 at 09:40

    I voted for Fate because I don’t know who Allean is and besides, U know u want to review her first. ;)

    I doubt is F-U. It’s more like their info was wrong or judging by the box she’s boxed in, it was slightly higher than mentioned when shipping to u in ur case.

    I think the sign to when to trash the boxes is when they start touching the roof or unless, there is another better way to store them?

    • 10 Tommy 12/10/2009 at 01:07

      I actually want to review Allean first because I already did her shoot. :P

      I don’t really care that much about being overcharged, I just found it funny that it happens right after I made the switch to AmiAmi. They shipped Airi to me for free, and undercharged me on two previous orders…so it averages out.

      They are actually touching the ceiling now. I started a new row in front. ^^;; I’m thinking about cleaning out the basement and moving my boxes there.

  5. 11 KELTHULAS 12/09/2009 at 12:38

    they first over overcharged me?! they send me payment request with 7000yen for shipping to germany… is this normal or wrong? Did you ask them that this is the correct price for shipping before you paid?
    Well overall the figurine would cost me 170€ with shipping and custom… much too high i think i will cancel her anyways

    • 12 Tommy 12/10/2009 at 01:11

      I pre-ordered her, and had pre-authorized billing set up through paypal with them so it was just charged. I knew she was going to be expensive to ship, I just didn’t know I was overcharged.

      So I take it that they haven’t shipped your Fate yet?

  6. 13 Miette-chan 12/09/2009 at 15:58

    I think you where about the only one who wasn’t head over heels with GSC Saber Lily.

    6200yen for just Fate? I think I’m gonna cry, I don’t want to imagine who much Exceed Mode Nanoha + figma + nendo is gonna cost me.

    I feel your pain about posting and dusting, finals do take away too much time.

    • 14 Tommy 12/10/2009 at 01:19

      Heh, head over heels with Saber Lily? I’m not a fanboy like others. And I am constantly reminded of how bad she looks from other angles when I look at her from where I sit. *shruggs*

      I think Nanoha would end up around the same price as Fate. It’s better to have other figures combined since the price curve is pretty steep for the first kilo with EMS.

      I only have one final. It’s final projects (all due the same week) that’s taking up the bulk of my time.

  7. 15 Lylibellule 12/10/2009 at 03:28

    You did manage to receive nice things. Your collection get bigger and bigger (box piles up but mainly… your dust cleaning sundays will take more and more time)
    Even if don’t come as often now, it’s not too bas. We don’t forgot you for that. It’s normal that school is your first priority.
    See you very soon with the FATE review ??!!

    • 16 Tommy 12/17/2009 at 23:01

      Yes…it’s taking longer and longer to clean up the figures. But it’s all good. :)

      I’ve decided to do Allean’s review first, but Fate will come shortly after.

  8. 17 Pudding 12/11/2009 at 23:52

    6400… wow tatz same as shipping to me here in aus =/
    at least… fate is packed into the box unlike hayate… and the box is actually smaller than hayate… too bad she is just too huge

    and going for fate review =p coz there is just too much love for fate

    • 18 Tommy 12/17/2009 at 23:06

      Sorry to everyone who voted for Fate, I don’t like her as much as you guys/gals. ^^”

      So I’m actually going for an Allean review first. And I’m sure you’ve seen tons of Fate reviews by now.

  9. 19 meronpan 12/14/2009 at 01:16

    ah kotobukiya. they can put out a pretty decent figure but they’ve let me down quite a few times. now i’m extremely cautious when considering anything by them ^^;

    if you already have the pics for her, i’d definitely go with allean… then again, i just finished my own review so i got my fill of fate already :P

  10. 21 Blowfish 12/20/2009 at 12:23

    OMG I fail…I should read posts in the right order…Okay so alleyne wasnt in that mysterious package XD

    Nice Loot man and of course I want Alleyne ^^

    • 22 Tommy 12/22/2009 at 00:28

      Thanks, and yes, it helps to read posts in the right order. I always read the newest ones first, so I get confused sometimes. ^^;;


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

