MegaHouse Queen’s Blade Alleyne

Alleyne -the Combat Instructor- is the latest gal from the Queen’s Blade universe to be released in MegaHouse’s Queen’s Blade line of figures.  I was sold immediately when I saw her promotional photos earlier this year and pre-ordered her right away because I love her character design.  Alleyne’s design is not cliché, the colour works well together, and her face looks simply stunning — adding up to one beautiful figure.  Do be advised that this review is NSFW!

I really like Alleyne’s character design; she definitely gets my vote for being the hottest babe in the Queen’s Blade universe.

Source: scan from Alleyne’s game book

MegaHouse’s 1/8 Excellent Model Core Alleyne was released in September 2009 and retails for ¥6,300.  Alleyne is one of the latest Queen’s Blade girls to be sculpted by Norio Kibayashi — the master sculptor of MegaHouse’s Queen’s Blade figures — and painted by Tc, one of MegaHouse’s top painters.  As expected, Alleyne turned out to be one of the best Queen’s Blade figure we’ve seen to date; though the best looking Queen’s Blade girl is still up for debate.

Overall, the figure looks great  with the usual high scores for sculpt, paint job, and attention to detail.  The pose is subtle and a bit on the static side, but the sculptor did a good job by incorporating flowing locks and cape into the design…or rather, chose a design with flowing hair and cape to make it look less static.

MegaHouse has made tremendous improvements on their cast-off figures when compared to earlier releases like Queen’s Blade Airi and Nyx.  The clothes look more realistic, they’re easier to put on (or take off), and the details on them are much more refined than older releases.  But like I said in my previous review, MegaHouse always gives us chocolate with a hint of shit every time.

The new cast-off figures looks much better than its predecessors, however, the cast-off clothes are more fragile than before.  The new material they use is easier to break, and the pegs that holds the two ends together is weaker than those on earlier cast-off figures.  They’ll break in the most careful of hands.  The fact that MegaHouse doesn’t include any instructions on how to take the figure apart doesn’t help at all.

When all is said and done, MegaHouse’s Alleyne is a great figure overall and blows away its only competitor – Griffon Enterprises’ Combat Instructor Alleyne.  There is something about an elf in a skimpily clad outfit set in complementary colours that tickles my fancy.  The folks at Hobby Japan sure knows how to design their girls.

As an added bonus, Alleyne is one of the few cast-off figures with multiple display options that lets you customize how you want to have her displayed without looking awkward in any way.  Most of her clothes, excluding her gloves, boots, and leafy thongs, are removable so you can display her in one of three primary display options:

  1. Fully clothed.
  2. Hat and cape removed.
  3. Full cast-off.

Of course, you are free to choose your own combination of how you want her dressed; that’s the beauty of the newer Queen’s Blade figures from MegaHouse.  Though it would help a lot if they decide to include some instructions on how to take the figure apart.

The level of detail on MegaHouse’s Alleyne is top-notch, the paint job and finish on the figure is flawless; though I would consider giving the staff on her weapon a little bit more wear given the aged look on the ends.  One thing I really like about MegaHouse’s Alleyne is her paint job — the colour and it’s quality.  I like the complementary colours used in Alleyne’s character design because the red and green creates a really nice balance that makes her very pleasing to look at.

MegaHouse is not well-known for the quality of their paint jobs, but they are one of the few makers that consistently delivers exceptional paint work on their products.  I especially like the work of Tc, who painted the lovely Queen’s Gate Alice, Sheryl Nome, and this lovely Alleyne figure.  This figure is another fine example of MegaHouse paint quality.  They sit atop my list because their colour pallete hits the sweet spot; not too light, and not too dark.

The typical “hat hair”, though that is how her hair looks like in the original design; but it’s ironic that her hat doesn’t fit that well on her hat hair.

MegaHouse shows us how to make a clear base.  Simple and effective.

The good:

  • Queen’s Blade cast-off glory
  • Amazing details and paint job
  • Multiple display options
  • Beautiful elf
  • Lovely design

The ugly:

  • Fragile clothes
  • No instructions

MegaHouse have outdone themselves once again with their latest addition to the Queen’s Blade line.  The quality of Alleyne is top-notch, and she doesn’t show signs of being a cast-off figure with all the seam lines neatly concealed in this lovely package.  MegaHouse did an amazing job in realizing Alleyne in 3D with lovely details and a beautiful paint job.  I dare say she is the best looking Queen’s Blade figure to-date, and definitely the one to get if you’re looking for an Alleyne figure.

MegaHouse could’ve done better with the figure’s overall execution with my main concern being that her hat doesn’t fit snugly on her head and falls off with the slightest movement.  Another concern is the fragility of the new materials they use for their cast-off figures, which have a tendency to break after one use.  I have faith that MegaHouse is looking into the situation and the problem will be rectified soon…maybe they’ll also put in some instructions as well.

Despite the problems, MegaHouse’s Queen’s Blade Alleyne makes for one stunning display piece.  She is a definite buy for avid fans of the Queen’s Blade franchise, her fans, or anyone looking for a smoking hot elf babe to add to their figure collection.  The cast-off option is a definite plus for those looking for something extra, but the lovely sculpt and beautiful figure sells the figure.

You can also find some lovely photos at:

You might also be interested in:

Queen's Blade Airi L

Queen's Blade Nyx L

Queen's Gate Alice L

22 Responses to “MegaHouse Queen’s Blade Alleyne”


  1. 1 Leonia 12/21/2009 at 05:22

    Thank a lot for this review ^^ I always hesitate between this version and Griffon adaptation. I prefer quality and finition on this figure, but I don’t really like her pose (she is original) and I prefer Griffon for this. Your picture are nice, as alaways ^^

    • 2 Tommy 12/22/2009 at 00:10

      Thanks. I just don’t like how Alleyne’s face and the cast-off looks on Griffon’s version. Their pose is really nice because it’s based on the game book’s cover.

  2. 3 Blowfish 12/21/2009 at 10:56

    The Day Megahouse adds instructions to their figures is the day hell freezes over and Santa rides on a dinosaur to the march of the valkyries.

    I really dont get why they dont add instructions.
    Luckily their newer figures are easier to figure out than their older ones…My last casualty was a strap on Aldras Outfit ^^;;;

    Im not really a fan of Alleyne and I cant really tell why.She simply didnt click with me and Im not a fan of elves.My lust for completing my collection could drive me to get her and her awesome execution but I try to hold back as much as possible

    • 4 Tommy 12/22/2009 at 00:14

      So you’re not an elf person…it seems like our taste in figures are worlds apart.

      Anyways, do you really think it’s easier to figure out the cast-off on their newer figures? I actually had more trouble with their new ones…but then again, we buy different QB figures in general. I want a Nanael figure now…

  3. 5 enrius 12/21/2009 at 11:39

    I agreed on gotten sold at the first look at Alleyne.
    I agreed on the splendid design and painting.
    I totally agreed on Alleyne being the hottest babe in the Queen’s Blade universe!

    *Although Alice would come in close but she’s from a different story.*

    I do have some words about not putting any instruction for casting off the figure. The only hint is from looking at the transparent plastic thingy… If not, who knew that her head could be pluck off. Imagine plucking Alice’s head. ><

    On a different but not unrelated topic, I like displaying Alleyne in her full attire. The red hat and cape give more contrast to the overall color. How about you?

    • 6 Tommy 12/22/2009 at 00:18

      Alice would blow away any competition. No questions asked.

      The transparent things work, but it’s still pretty much a guessing game. Who knows where to pull…and what might happen when you pull on that arm. If my memory serves me right, they didn’t have the transparent plastic film on a couple of Sheryl’s joints. It took me half an hour to figure it out. =\

      I’m displaying her in full attire too. But looking at the photos, I want to take her hat off.

  4. 7 BioToxic 12/21/2009 at 17:34

    Megahouse Alleyne is awesome. I really like your pictures as well.

    I’m glad I pre-ordered her when she was announced. Probably one of my favourites in my current figure collection.

    The P2 version looks really nice as well.

    OT: Your poll is missing Irma :P. Irma +1 here :lol:

    BT

    • 8 Tommy 12/22/2009 at 00:20

      I know I’m missing a couple girls in the poll. I’ll add Irma as well.

      The P2 version looks okay, but I always like the original colours more. =)

  5. 9 Q 12/21/2009 at 23:49

    I read somewhere that this Alleyne is apparently based on the anime version, and is supposed to be slightly different to that of the book. Can’t tell too much difference right now as I am not into QB in general.

    But Alleyne surely looks nice, be it the look or the pose. Can’t complain about that. It’s odd how Megahouse does not provide instructions for castoff on all of the QB figures – something baffles me to this very day.

    • 10 Tommy 12/22/2009 at 00:24

      As far as I can tell, the only thing that looks remotely different from the game book illustrations is her hat. But I’m no expert in spotting the differences.

      It’s more like MegaHouse doesn’t put instructions into any of their figures, period. I guess they figured we’re smart enough to figure it out ourselves…and if we break the figure in the process, they can sell more figures?

  6. 11 lylibellulebiz 12/22/2009 at 05:06

    I’ll have to be careful when i receive it because MH made castoff part more fragile. As i’m clumsy …
    Very nice photos. I would never thought of such background color but i admit it looks really good.

  7. 13 Wolfheinrich 12/23/2009 at 01:39

    Catching up on blogroll after falling behind. Similar to blowifh, I am not a big fan of Alleyne neither, think the fact that she lack emotion in the show did it, but she looks pretty nice though. I still prefer my Airi chan any day though.

  8. 15 lightningsabre 12/29/2009 at 23:24

    I see they’re making the clothes more fragile than ever >_< I am not the most careful person, so this is risky to get. Then again I haven't had any Megahouse's or Griffon's Queen's Blade figures that interests me since Aldora. Alleyne looks cool though. I always get the impression that her clothes are made of leaves since they're so green! I am getting the Revoltech though. I am thoroughly impressed from the pictures available so far.

  9. 16 Miette-chan 12/30/2009 at 04:25

    I think I will change my previous statement. I like this Alleyne figure more than Airi.

    Having no desire to indulge myself on the Queens Blade series I know nothing of the character but I think I like Alleyne. Again as with Airi the more down to earth proportions and costume desgin probably have to do with that.

    • 17 Tommy 12/31/2009 at 15:59

      I, too, find the ridiculous proportions a real turn off with anime characters. Well, not just anime characters, but in general.

  10. 18 Smithy 01/02/2010 at 05:47

    I’m a fan of Allean but I wasn’t convinced by the promo shots of this figure, the face looked a bit off.

    Though seeing your photos of her, do think I’ll try and get her someday…

  11. 19 edwin 01/02/2010 at 06:58

    Looks very nice

  12. 20 Hiroshi 01/03/2010 at 01:52

    I like her more when her clothes are on…guess there is a first for everything (^_^) LMAO

  13. 21 Entropy 07/04/2010 at 00:24

    I recently bought an Alleyne figure from Megahouse at Anime expo LA. However mine was different since her clothing was all shades of crimson. It’s not miscoloring, since it was advertised as crimson on the box as well. Any ideas why? Is it just a limited edition?

    • 22 Tommy 07/04/2010 at 15:56

      That would be the Hobby Japan Exclusive 2P version with red and purple. It is a hobby japan exclusive, but I’m not too sure on its availability.


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

