Alter Fate T. Harlaown -Shin Sonic Form-

Alter’s Fate T. Harlaown -Shin Sonic Form- created a lot of buzz in the figure world when she was announced.  Did she live up to the expectations?  Gorgeous sculpt – checked.  Lovely paint work – checked.  Dazzling details – checked.  Striking pose – checked.  Ginormous Zamber – checked.  Thigh highs – checked.  Alter’s Fate T. Harlaown takes awesome to a whole new level.

Name: Fate T. Harlaown -Shin Sonic Form-
Series: Magical Lyrical Girl Nanoha StrikerS
Scale: 1/7
Released: 11/2009
Price: ¥12,800
Sculptor: Tsumezuka Hiroyuki
Manufacturer: Alter

Alter’s Fate T Harlaown is one of the most anticipated figure of the year, and she definitely lived up to all the hype around her.  Alter delivers a solid Fate figure that looks exactly as I envisioned her to be based on the promo photos.  Yes, right down to the craptastic white base with funky English and German written on it.  I envisioned that too.

Alter’s Fate is a giant.  Don’t let the scale fool you, her size is anything but a 1/7 scale figure.  She measures in at just over 33cm in height (from base to hair) and 60cm in length from the tip of her Zamber to the end of her flowing hair.  Her size is definitely part of this awesome package, but it’s a double-edged sword.  She is a space hog no matter how you choose to display her.  Her flowing hair and extended blades make her impossible to be displayed in any Detolfs (the cheap man’s choice for figure display), and her orientation makes it unfeasible to be displayed sideways on wall mounted shelves.

Nonetheless, Alter’s Fate T Harlaown is an awesome figure overall.  The sculpt, paint job, and finish is Alter quality, the pose is the most dynamic I’ve seen so far, and Zamber puts a smile on my face.  The figure itself is executed to perfection, definitely one of the best I’ve seen all year.  However, the same cannot be said for the base, the rods that holds the figure onto the base, and the extra base/rod that holds Zamber in place.

While it’s true that I knew Alter would use the crappy white base in the first place, and there is no other solution to hold the figure in this pose without the rods, I kinda hoped Alter would take the liberty to give her a diorama base from the final scene where she changed to her True Sonic Form.  It would definitely make this figure a more worthwhile purchase even if it meant adding ¥2,000 to the already expensive price tag.  The same goes for the rest of the figures from this series.  The base they opted to use takes a lot away from the appeal of the figure, and this is one aspect of figure making where Good Smile Company shines.  The day that Alter decides to put more effort into the base of their figures is the day that they become the number one pre-painted figure manufacturer in Japan.

Fate can be displayed with Zamber or Riot Zamber; which do you prefer?

Fate’s Zamber is awesome!  But it takes up twice the space required for display and covers half of her face when you look at her from her right.  While Fate’s Riot Zamber gives her a more dynamic look and more viewing angles than Zamber, not to mention it’s easier to display with, it’s just not the same as Zamber.  I’m torn on how I want to display her, so I’ll switch between the two blades every month.

The attention to detail on Alter’s Fate is second to none, even when details are hard to come by given Fate’s overly simplistic outfit.  But Alter managed to deliver details where it counts most.  However, I do have a couple complaints on how her hair is done.  First is the seam line on the top of her hair and how the right pony tail is connected to her head.  Second is the sheen on her hair.  Shiny hair is a pet peeve of mine.  She looks stunning otherwise.

I looked like a kid in a candy store when I first saw Fate’s  Zamber after unpacking her.  That card is standard credit card size.

The good:

  • Fate with thigh highs
  • Great details
  • Zamber makes me smile
  • Awesome pose

The ugly:

  • Goliath size
  • Ugly base
  • Price (figure and shipping)

Alter delivers another solid entry into the Nanoha lineup with Fate in True Sonic Form.  This figure is badass!  The pose is awesome, the paint job is awesome, the details are awesome, and most importantly, Zamber is awesome!  This is one awesome figure to say the least.  She’s well worth the ¥12,800 price tag; though I would rather pay more to have a better looking base.  Alter’s Fate is one of the best figure to be released in 2009.  Be sure to make room, lots of room, for Fate!

You can also find some lovely photos at:

You might also be interested in:

Vita L

22 Responses to “Alter Fate T. Harlaown -Shin Sonic Form-”


  1. 1 Guy 12/29/2009 at 06:52

    Ok, you ended my real question at the end, the one that really matters, especially when you pay retail, doubly so with the EMS shipping for that monstrous package, the “Is it worth it?” question.l

    I love how her hair looks at the end, when it is trailing behind her, though I am less enamored with the shots of her hair on her head.
    To me, the best part of the figure, aside from her thighs at the rear, is definitely Fate’s face, which is masterfully constructed.

    Good review!

    • 2 Tommy 12/31/2009 at 14:36

      She’s definitely worth it. I say more so than Saber Lily, which was a real let down for me. I had my doubts about paying that outrageous shipping cost at first, but it was all smiles when I opened up the box and saw her Zamber. It’s that awesome, even if it needs an extra stand to keep it up.

      Her flowing twin tails is another reason I love this figure. She is a really nice figure to end the year for me. :)

  2. 3 Lylibellule 12/29/2009 at 15:02

    A very impressive figure by it’s dimension and, unfortunately, shipping cost froze more then once.
    It’s true that she’s wonderful… and she’s going to do a great impression on your shelf.

    • 4 Tommy 12/31/2009 at 14:38

      I think she’s one of those figures that might be cheaper to buy locally. But then again, I haven’t checked local prices in a while.

      I’m still thinking about how to display her since she doesn’t fit on the shelves. She’ll most likely end up on my new desk next month.

  3. 5 Blowfish 12/29/2009 at 17:06

    Wheres the craptastic german?I was looking for it!
    I only see english on the base :(

    Shes not my kind of figure but I admit that the Giant Bardiche is super hot

    • 6 Tommy 12/31/2009 at 14:40

      My bad, no German here. But hey, I made you look. =P

      She’s not your kind of figure because she got too much clothes on?

  4. 9 KELTHULAS 12/29/2009 at 22:33

    Well the figure itself is very beatifull but the base with the pins just fucking horible… Also i dont like the design of the big Bardiche but well just my opinion i would took her with the 2 swords, would be great when they would be a bit larger. For me was the price much too high with shipping and customs 170€ isnt her worse :D

    • 10 Tommy 12/31/2009 at 14:44

      Yeah, the base and rods is horrible. The sad part is Nanoha will come with that crappy base too. “orz

      Based on looks, I prefer the Riot Zambers too. But the huge Zamber is just too awesome. You have to see it to appreciate how awesome it is.

  5. 11 lightningsabre 12/29/2009 at 23:10

    I like the coolness of Zamber, but I’m a sucker for dual wielding swords ^^ I’m so glad I’m not too much of a fan for the Nanoha series because I’m just in shock looking at that price 0.o

  6. 13 Miette-chan 12/30/2009 at 04:33

    Now here we have a figure that I understood what the hype was for. The size of Fate never ceases to amaze me, I can’t begin to image what it’s like to display her with other StrikerS figures and the upcoming Nanoha.

    If it wasn’t for the price I would probably pick her up since I tend to think of Fate and Nanoha as a set.

    You know, I would probably be thorned apart deciding which Bardiche form to display her with too.

  7. 17 Leonia 12/31/2009 at 03:15

    Shad received her when we were on holidays ^^ The box is just amazing xD I love Fate character, and this adaptation is beautiful ^^ But Shad will move (new home), and she will be in her box for one, or two week >___<

  8. 19 Q 01/01/2010 at 11:58

    Fate’s a crazy space hogger for sure. Not something people can randomly buy without some considerations on the price and the space (more for the the latter for me).

    Even though she stands very tall on my shelf right now, I don’t get bored looking at her from time to time. The flowing hair, the curvy body lines, the breathtaking Riot Zamber… What can I ask more?

    The rods and especially the base are kinda unsightly indeed (“Lightning Wizard”??). I’m actually thinking of getting someone to make a smaller custom base for me so I can try to put Fate in the shelf, well that is if I can actually find one… Btw is your ponytail (the one you have to put in) feels a little loose or not? Mine has a notable seam line so I wonder whether there’s a simply way to make it more stable without having to glue it in.

    Btw nice photos! I’m still wondering where in my room I can find the space to do a photoshoot of some sort -_-

    • 20 Tommy 01/03/2010 at 23:36

      Some people just keep them in their boxes, so it shouldn’t be a problem for them.

      You can ask for a better looking base! =P

      I would definitely go for a custom diorama base if I have the skills. Unfortunately, I don’t have the skills. “orz Maybe I can pay someone to do that…just wondering how much it’ll cost.

      The pony tail isn’t lose per-se, but it’s got a unsightly gap around the connection point. I tried pushing in a little harder, but didn’t want to put too much force. So I left it with the gap.

  9. 21 at 01/12/2010 at 22:45

    One of the figures I wish I had pre-ordered. =*(

    The only thing that I didn’t like about this figure is those visible metal poles. I wish they used a different base to elevate her. Even with that she still looks amazing.


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

