GSC Hatsune Miku CM Ver.

Good Smile Company was one of the first figure manufacturer to capitalize on the popularity of Hatsune Miku, the mascot for Yamaha’s “Vocaloid” music synthesizer program.  Many companies followed suit soon after, but Good Smile Company’s Hatsune Miku remains as one of the most popular figure to be released for the Vocaloid diva — seeing two re-releases in 2009.  Their original release captured Miku’s charm without the robotic voice.  It couldn’t get any better.  Could it?

It did when GSC teased us with this Hatsune Miku commercial.  Soon after, they announced that she’ll be available for sale as a WonFes/Good Smile online shop exclusive.  Her price, surprisingly, is ¥1,000 lower than the regular release.  Lovely!

Name: Hatsune Miku CM Ver.
Series: Vocaloid
Scale: 1/8
Released: 7/2009 (WonFes) & 11/2009 (GoodSmile Online Shop)
Price: ¥4,500
Sculptor: Yoshi(Trepang)/Nendoron
Manufacturer: Good Smile Company

Good Smile Company’s Hatsune Miku CM edition is elegant.  The original release was cute, it was charming, and it was stylish; but this version is elegant above everything else.  This limited edition Miku gives out a different aura than its predecessors.  Miku doesn’t look cartoonish anymore without her anime eyes and she ditched that “D” smile in favour of a more subtle smile — creating a very pleasing figure to look at.

Aside from the change in facial expression, the TV commercial Miku also sports a new base along with 16 nifty tear drop decals for your customization needs.  The new base, white/opaque with snowflake patterns, is a really nice touch in itself, but the original black/opaque base is a better match with Miku’s colour scheme.

Overall, the figure is well executed and great attention is given to perfect this figure, as expected from a figure that was featured in a commercial.  The paint job is really nice, and her pose complements her expression beautifully.  However, the money is in the attention to detail on the part of the sculptors.  It might seem like they just gave her a different expression at first glance.  But the sculptors actually tilted her head downwards to accommodate the new expression, giving Miku this similar, yet, more elegant look.  Her giant twin tails  is still one of my favourite part about this figure, though it is now second to her lovely expression.

The quality of this figure has Good Smile Company written all over it.  Everything is top-notch, even if they aren’t perfect all the time.  I really like the darker shade they gave her this time around, though I’m not sure if it’s intentional or not.  But like the original Miku release, I find her skin tone too artificial for my taste — it’s a really weird colour to look at.  Another aspect that I find rather distracting is the rough finish on the top of Miku’s hair; though it could be a problem with my copy only.  Other than that, this Hatsune Miku figure is another solid release by GSC.

The good:

  • Elegant figure
  • Nice base
  • Beautiful paint job
  • Cheaper than the regular version!

The ugly:

  • Exclusive, limited edition
  • Artificial skin tone
  • Tear drop decal is a pain to work with

Good Smile Company’s Hatsune Miku CM ver. is one of those figures that you have to ask yourself if it’s worth it to pay the extra money to get her.  This is especially true if you already have the original version, or didn’t order her during the scheduled release dates.  Unless you’re an absolute Miku freak, or you really like this version, I wouldn’t suggest you paying the aftermarket mark up unless you can find her at ¥6,500 or less.  She is essentially the same figure as the regular Hatsune Miku, albeit more elegant than the original.

The figure itself isn’t an exceptional piece, nor will it “wow” you in any way; but the craftsmanship displayed is definitely worth her retail price.  She is different from your everyday figure, but she is also stepping on a fine line.  The fine line between a pleasing figure and a boring figure.  I find her to be a very calming figure to look at because her pose is not suggestive, she have a neutral palette, and she doesn’t show any dramatic emotions.  But you might find her to be boring to look at because of the same reasons.

You might also be interested in:

Hatsune Miku L

24 Responses to “GSC Hatsune Miku CM Ver.”


  1. 1 anonymous_object 01/08/2010 at 11:33

    Well, it does seem like a well made figure and she does look cute but I have no real motivation to buy either version. Sadly, I’m not that attached to Miku as a character and that’s a big contributing factor in my buying decisions. Still, I can’t say I dislike the figure ^^

    • 2 Tommy 01/10/2010 at 22:26

      To be honest, I bought the first one because of how hyped up she was…then bought the second one for the heck of it. That’s what I do. But I do like the CM version more. :)

  2. 3 BioToxic 01/08/2010 at 12:28

    Nice photos :D.

    I like this “eyes closed” version of Miku the best. She looks a lot calmer and more peaceful than the other version.

  3. 5 Miette-chan 01/08/2010 at 16:32

    I think I like this one more than the original version. I just love the serene expression Miku has with her eyes closed. Gotta love the details GSC puts into this figure. The painted nails, the details on her sleeves and skirt. Although they keep missing one of the most important things, blue shimapan panties.

    The only thing I dislike from this figure is the odd coloring they used on the sleeves and legs. For some reason reminds me a lot of the pattern on the head of xenomorphs.

    • 6 Tommy 01/10/2010 at 22:29

      I’ve forgotten that Miku’s supposed to have shimapan. But is that an official thing or just what the fans wanted? =P

      Hey, it could be a good thing. You might think of Miku the next time you watch AVP!

  4. 9 Optic 01/09/2010 at 01:32

    “But you might find her to be boring to look at because of the same reasons.”

    Ur last sentence sums is up why I passed on her. Yeah, it’s Miku and Yes, I’m a fanboy but I already have the original ver. to satisfy my needs.
    It’s a very nice figure overall. ppl who don’t have the original ver. will not be disappointed in having this ver. as an alternative.
    I’m willing to bet my Alter Nanoha figure on that. :P

  5. 12 Ninjovee 01/09/2010 at 09:22

    For me, the original version is better than the CM version by just a tiny bit… as you said, the CM version is walking on a very fine line between likable and just plain old boring… and I’m a person who’s easily bored so… after a while she’s a bit boring to look at for me ^^;

    I do love some of the angles you have on some of the shots… they make her look pretty instead of just boring

    • 13 Tommy 01/10/2010 at 22:36

      Thanks. I think the CM version is more photogenic.

      I guess that’s why they gave us some stickers to fiddle around (more like frustrate ourselves) with.

  6. 14 Lylibellule 01/09/2010 at 09:32

    I totally forgot about this figure of Miku.
    I hadn’t been attracted to the first realization of Miku by GSC. Preferring one from VOLKS.
    But this one is really charming. I like the look on her face who seems to be peaceful. And it’s a change to have a figure with her eyes closed for once.
    Nice idea to have different stickers.
    I looooove the base. Much more successful than the first one.
    Too bad again it’s an exclusivity …. :(
    Very nice acquisition. Congrats! ;)

    • 15 Tommy 01/10/2010 at 22:38

      I never liked the other versions of Miku on the market (i.e. Volks, MF, Sega). I don’t like what they did with her hair. It is a nice change to have a figure with her eyes closed for once.

      And thanks, I enjoyed paying less for this exclusive figure. ^^v

  7. 16 Guy 01/09/2010 at 10:14

    This figure is nice, I’m a firm believer of “Less is more”, and this figure, in both versions actually, is a good example of that (except for the price, where less is more, and more is even more! :D).

    I would have liked her clothes to be a bit less shiny, but she’s a glittery idol, so it fits.

  8. 18 Blowfish 01/09/2010 at 11:45

    Dang I just realized I forgot about your giveaway XD

    Hmmm…Personally I am not a Vocaloid Fan so my opinion is kinda unneccassary but I prefer the Nendoroid Miku over the others since I feel the Cibi style works better with the Vocaloid but on the other hand i am not really a fan

    • 19 Tommy 01/10/2010 at 22:44

      LOL, there’s always next year. It’ll probably be something better. :D

      Personally, I’m not a Vocaloid fan neither, and I find her robotic voice rather annoying. I just like Miku’s design, that’s all. It must be her green hair. I’ve been told that I’m a closet green lover, and that was “confirmed” by this “test” that I did in my colour theory class. So I blame her green hair for the multiple figures I have of her.

  9. 20 Gami 01/09/2010 at 14:40

    Nice nails.
    …And panties. 8D

  10. 21 Q 01/22/2010 at 22:51

    I was actually tempted to get this Miku as well when I bought figma Miku Live Stage ver. The closed eyes do give a sort of elegance to her. Miku’s design sure is a big factor that created a lot of doujin/fandom/etc. I was tempted to get the GSC Miku’s normal version twice, but I somehow managed to resist, and including this Miku. Well I suppose I am happy enough with the figma ones for now (especially as I have given her “custom” wings to pose with).

    Overall, this CM ver. Miku is nice for people who haven’t got a Miku and want something that’s special and nice, but its availability and the fact that there’s a normal version out there too means it’s not like a must-get item.

    • 22 Tommy 01/30/2010 at 00:16

      I always thought the wings on the figmas were plastic. I was so disappointed when I opened the box. I couldn’t resist back then. If it was now, I’d probably pass on both of them, and the Nendo, AND the figmas. But Miku does look lovely.

      This Miku looks good, but I do agree that the existence of a regular version makes this figure less attractive, especially with the aftermarket mark up. I’m just glad I didn’t have to pay the aftermarket price.

  11. 23 Mechanic Doll 01/21/2011 at 07:09

    I love the quality of your pictures, a friend of mine came from Japan not so long ago and offered me this figure for only US $50 (considering I’m in Argentina – South America, and I have to pay the shipping and customs this price it’s absolutely cheap). He said it was a “boring figure” and didn’t knew “why” he buoyed her at the time since he had the original release, but to my opinion it’s much better than the original cartoon-like figure…it seems more elegant, more…refined. Excellent review!

  12. 24 Chris_Skylock 03/04/2011 at 08:09

    I have the CM version but I dont have the teardrop. The paint on the outline at the shoes are a mess. I felt it was a pirated copy but overall, I love it.


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

counter for wordpress

