Broken Pegs

They are every figure collector’s worst nightmare.  More so if you collect scaled figures.  We trust that the sculptors/figure manufacturers does a great job with every release, not only with the sculpt and paint job, but also the base and the tiny pegs that are the difference between a figure standing upright and a figure face planting after falling 5 feet from where she was displayed.  This thought becomes even more scary with the popularity of figures standing on one leg.  It’s game over if the peg breaks.  And that’s exactly what happened here.

I’ve shunned myself from bad figure manufacturers that makes bad figures in general, but it seems that the good ones have their own problems as well.    Figures are released in a rapid rate where I would be surprised if there is any product testing before the product is released.  If you think about it, the figure industry works on a trail-and-error approach, and unfortunately, we are the product testers.  If you happen to buy a figure with inherent problems, you can kiss your money goodbye.  We are never compensated for our loss.  No money back, no replacement parts, and you can only dream of a product recall.  The only thing that we CAN do is fix’em up ourselves.

Good Smile Company creates figures with beautiful bases, I give them that.  But they also have a track record of creating bases with weak pegs that can’t support the figure’s weight.  I have three bases with broken pegs at the moment and all of them belong to Good Smile Company.  Max Factory’s Fauna (first picture) is the latest figure in my collection to join GSC’s Iori Minase (second picture) and GSC’s Rizfis Luttiva Mente (above) in the broken peg club.  The pegs didn’t just snap off, they broke under the weight of the figure over time.  Here’s my word of advice: Think twice before you buy that beautiful figure standing on one leg!

As for the anniversary contest, the winner is enrius who guessed $112.59.  Pretty amazing to be off by only $2.17.  I’ll be sending an email to the address you provided.  Thanks for everyone’s continued support.

42 Responses to “Broken Pegs”


  1. 1 enrius 01/18/2010 at 21:10

    Ahh, the infamous fragile peg of Rize… I’ve heard about the problem and it also happened to me recently. the peg simply came off from the base. OTL Had to lean her against the cabinet wall or she won’t be able to stand. But despite their problem with peg, GSC continue to come up with matrix-style figures (Latest being BRS anime ver and the most ‘dangerous pose’ ever, Saber excalibur ver.). Hope they would resolve that problem already.

    And thanks for the prize! ^^ I guess I really got lucky to win this contest (first time winning too!). Thanks again! ^^

    • 2 Tommy 01/29/2010 at 23:45

      I find that BRS anime pose somewhat boring. I was excited about it when I first saw the photos on DC.com, but then when more pics were revealed it just doesn’t look that good even though “everyone” says they want it. I would like to believe they’ve solved the problem, but you never know with figures.

  2. 3 Guy 01/18/2010 at 22:43

    I’ve had both pegs fall off of Rize.

    You know, I wonder if class action would work, especially with a problematic track record. But of course, what sort of fan sues their beloved company? Well, you’d probably be surprised.

    There are solutions, actually, if the base is strong enough, you can droll a pin from under into the figure’s leg, and if you widen it a tad you can even remove the figure, or you can make it permanent.

    With Rize, you’d need to attack something solid at the bottom to hold the pin.

    • 4 enrius 01/18/2010 at 23:36

      Additionally, change into her battle-damaged outfit to lessen the figure weight. ^^ Her skirt is quite heavy for a relatively small base.

      • 5 Guy 01/18/2010 at 23:41

        Dress is a bit modular, you can keep her undamaged outfit on, but only take down the, what, ABS? Hard plastic “wake” of her dress, the robe.

      • 6 Tommy 01/29/2010 at 23:55

        We want our Rize to be displayed with her fancy dress!! I got the figure because she looks great with the dress, not because she looked nice. I got Needa because she actually looked nice in all three forms.

    • 7 Tommy 01/29/2010 at 23:49

      OUCH! I guess I was lucky to have only one peg break, and after 9 months of display time. ^^;;

      Why not? I’d be the first to sue my “beloved” company”. I just don’t have the time and money…well…mostly the money constraint.

      Anyhow, I’ve thought about screwing Fauna permanently, but superglue seems to be holding its own for now. My Rize, as mentioned, is still standing. I took that clumsy dress off after I saw one of the peg broke off.

  3. 8 Panther 01/18/2010 at 23:26

    So far I only had one figure do it on me and that was Mega House’s Yoruichi. Rangiku from the same maker also can no longer stand firmly on her base, though both pegs are still there.

    No other figure had their pegs break on me so far, but I have very few one-legged figures.

  4. 11 Miette-chan 01/19/2010 at 00:31

    Luckily enough I haven’t had a peg breack off in my scaled figures yet. I did break a stand arm in one of the figma bases though.

  5. 13 Nopy 01/19/2010 at 01:23

    That sucks, having 3 figures with broken pegs. I’m glad none of my figures that are standing on one leg have any problems.

    • 14 Tommy 01/29/2010 at 23:59

      It does suck. I think it’s harder for figures standing on one leg to have problems because they usually reinforce the base/leg, but I haven’t had my figures long enough to know. Took Fauna one year before her peg broke.

  6. 15 Leonia 01/19/2010 at 02:49

    I recognize the base of Rize (Shuraki) on one of pictures. Shad, which possesses this figure, had the same problem. It is always boring this thing > _ < Good luck for the repair, if it is possible

    • 16 Tommy 01/30/2010 at 00:24

      Repair was successful with Fauna, two weeks and she’s still standing. Rize and Iori doesn’t need any repair because they still have one peg left. :D

  7. 17 Ninjovee 01/19/2010 at 09:02

    My only scaled figures to date are Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ and my ArtFX Yuna… so I haven’t had any broken peg incidents like you did… However, I have to agree that GSC has quite fragile bases… the peg for my Nendo Nagi is broken (it’s a joint peg) even though I haven’t mistreated it ><;

    Seeing this makes me wonder what would happen to Saber ~Excalibur~ since preview photos show her being supported by only a slightly thick metal rod.

    • 18 Tommy 01/30/2010 at 00:01

      I think the metal rod is a great idea for figures standing on one leg, even though it doesn’t look pretty. Unity Mei is supported by a metal rod, and she seems pretty stable after (almost) a year. :)

  8. 19 Lylibellule 01/19/2010 at 09:45

    Very good post!
    For my part, i’ve never had a broken base. Lucky me i think. On the contrary, i always worry about figures who stand only on one foot, they start to bend after a while. The funny part is : the only 2 figures that actually bend are fixed on both feet.
    In any case, you weren’t lucky with your bases. :/ And certainly when you have issues like that we’re on your own…. the day when editors will pay back customers is not here yet.

    Congrats to Enrius ;)

  9. 21 Katsura-chan 01/19/2010 at 12:28

    To date i have only on broken peg in my collection.
    It’s Saber Swimsuit Ver. from Alter, the figure stand with 2 pegs but they both broke !
    The base look quite the same as the first picture you displayed here.
    Fortunately the figure itself was safe but it’s really annoying :(

  10. 23 gundamjehutykai 01/19/2010 at 13:39

    add another Rize broken peg owner over here, tho I was able to repair mine without issue and even added a metal pin at the bottom to try and help stabilize it a little!

    But Broken pegs usually aren’t things which register on my radar, given that I don’t buy many PVC figures…

  11. 25 at 01/19/2010 at 15:41

    I’m lucky that not one of my figs’s pegs has broken off.

  12. 26 anonymous_object 01/20/2010 at 11:14

    Ah, I was a bit off on the price >_<

    Luckily, I have not have any pegs on my figure break. I have had a Figma break on me but that's it. I'm just overly conscious about breaking my figures so I tend to be very careful with them ^^;

  13. 28 Blowfish 01/22/2010 at 18:28

    Here I was guessing where I knew that sandy beach base from and OMG its from a figure I own.
    Luckily I knew about Rizes Peg problem before and displayed her in battle mode beforehand to prevent said problem.

    I am amazed that Iori seems to have the same problem since she seems like a sure buy to me.Lightweight figure and static pose.

    Maybe that the reason why I got her for around 10 €?

    • 29 Tommy 01/30/2010 at 00:11

      I should’ve changed her to battle damage when I read about it, but I liked her dress too much.

      You got her from the HLJ sale too? I got her because she was on sale with Yukiho…and I just finished watching Xenoglossia.

  14. 30 Q 01/22/2010 at 23:06

    “Think twice before you buy that beautiful figure standing on one leg!”

    Funny enough how Mei Feng’s base uses a metal rod that goes through the figure’s legs but such thing is not used for Rize.

    Haven’t got a broken peg problem yet (I only have 3 scaled PVC figures, one doesn’t even have a peg), but hope this problem will be less seen with future releases.

    • 31 Tommy 01/30/2010 at 00:18

      So true. I think that’s the only GSC figure I have with a rod going through her leg. Unity Mei has a metal rod, but she’s not as steady as Mei Feng.

  15. 32 motaku96 01/24/2010 at 11:33

    Hi, just found your blog today. I love it. Lot’s of great pictures and detail on the figures.

    Semi related to the bronken pegs, I once bought a Haruhi puchi nendo(GSC) and got the secret figure, but when I was trying to get it on the stand, the stick on the base broke. So now I just have to lean her against the wall or against another figure. Certainly not as horrible as breaking the base on a $100 figure but it still makes me sad that she can’t stand on her own.

    I just bought two miku figures yesterday, which prompted me to look around for figure blog reviews. I bought the “World is mine” by GSC, and the 1/7 scale one by max factory. I’ve been considering getting the BRS blade ver. but I’m still not sure. I also have Nanoha Exceed on pre-order(been waiting months for that, just a few more days now). My favorite manufacturers are Alter and Goodsmilecompany.

    • 33 Guy 01/24/2010 at 13:26

      Try emailing GSC for a replacement stick for the nendoroid. I got a replacement stand-joint for my Saber Lily Nendoroid.

    • 34 Tommy 01/30/2010 at 00:23

      Thanks.

      “World is Mine” Miku looks good, but I have bad experience with displaying figures that are laying down, so I passed on that one. You won’t be disappointed with it though. I think the price is right for the BRS blade version, but she’s not Black Rock “Shooter” without her Cannon. I don’t think she’ll be that exciting of a figure.
      I still haven’t received confirmation on my Nanoha Exceed Mode so I guess they couldn’t fill my order. :S

      • 35 motaku96 01/31/2010 at 15:17

        The base for “World is Mine” Miku is really great. It’s a picture frame that you can stand up or hang on the wall. Miku sticks to the frame with some kind of magnet. So even though she’s lying down, the view is essentially of a standing figure.

  16. 37 lightningsabre 01/30/2010 at 02:15

    I’m glad to have just one figure with a broken peg… but still hurts because it’s one of my favourite figures. President Japan’s Neige Blanc. I have a few tools and materials to fix it one day, but haven’t got around to it yet ^^;

  17. 39 Wolfheinrich 02/07/2010 at 18:17

    Gomen gomen, fallen behind on the blogroll due to having to finish some eroges haha. Broken pegs are bad but perhaps you have already read about how I handled them yeah?

    http://tcwenterprise.com/wordpress/2009/05/24/asuka-langley-soryu-%e9%80%a0%e5%bd%a2%e8%a3%9c%e5%ae%8c%e8%a8%88%e7%94%bb-shapeup-completion-project/

  18. 41 Candy 03/03/2010 at 20:05

    my mai otome lena slayers figure sits on one leg! D: I hope I don’t have a problem with that @_@.

    She is my baby! D:


Leave a Reply

Top Posts

counter for wordpress

