New stuff for January

I don’t anticipate anything coming in for me in February, though I was quite tempted by the HLJ MegaHouse sale; however, I resisted somehow.  Here is what I got way back in January: GSC’s Black Rock Shooter, GSC Nendoroid Chiaki Minami, and a shiny new desk from Ikea.  I finally have a proper work area, not that I needed one before.

I was going to post my BRS review last week, but I kinda screwed up on the photos so I need to upload them again; so you’ll have to wait a week(?) for those.  The new desk is a combination from Ikea’s Vika series.  The legs are called Fagerlid and the table top is called Glasholm.  I was going to have the glass custom made because the one from Ikea is 5cm too long, but went for Ikea’s in the end because the custom made one costs twice as much.

I chose the Fagerlid table legs because there’s built in storage space so I don’t have to look for another piece that will fit under the table.  Bought a new Karsten work chair as well while I was there.  Pretty satisfied with the new work area, I just need to get a couple desk lamps and more shelves (or a LCD TV?) for the wall space above.  Next up on my 2010 get list: MacBook Pro and a new camera.

I’ll wait until a MacBook Pro with i7 core comes out (possibly in August), and as for the camera, I’m torn between a Canon 50D or 7D.  Then of course the Macro lens and tele lens…expensive hobby to have.

22 Responses to “New stuff for January”


  1. 1 Miette-chan 02/13/2010 at 21:44

    Oh what a small world, I got myself a new glass desk and a new chair as well. So nice to finally have a nice workspace.

    Good pick on Chiaki she is awesome. With BRS it’s one of those things where I know it’s an excellent figure but at the same doesn’t appeal to me. Either way I look forward to see what you have to say about her.

    • 2 Tommy 02/13/2010 at 22:07

      Ooooo…really nice. Ikea furniture as well?

      Chiaki is awesome, I haven’t opened mine yet. It was a no brainer because I absolutely loved the first season of Minami-ke. BRS might look boring at first, but she’s a lovely figure when you look at it in person.

      • 3 Miette-chan 02/13/2010 at 23:30

        No Ikea near me, Office Depot, still good though.

        Yes Minami-ke is awesome, even if the second season was kinda meh. I hope next we get a Kana nendo.

        • 4 Tommy 02/14/2010 at 13:40

          I see. It’s all good. I think glass tables are the best.

          Yeah, first season was epic. I’m actually looking forward to Haruka and Hoisaka. :P

  2. 5 Q 02/14/2010 at 12:34

    Nice desk there. The top sits firmly on top of the legs and won’t slide right? I see your Fate is now being displayed openly there~ I do like the small storage space on the table legs.

    Looking forward to your BRS review. That picture on the comp’s wallpaper is your photo?

    • 6 Tommy 02/14/2010 at 13:41

      Thanks. Yes, it sits firmly with a couple rubber “stoppers” on top of the legs. That wallpaper is one of the photos. :)

  3. 7 Blowfish 02/15/2010 at 09:20

    Id be kinda scared about accidently dropping something on the table and to break the glass.
    That happened with a bottle of coke when i was a small wee lad in my older sisters first appartment on her glass living room table ^^;

    • 8 Tommy 02/15/2010 at 17:31

      I can’t worry too much. It was either glass or wood…and I’ll take glass over wood anytime. I’ll try my best not to drop anything on it.

  4. 9 Optic 02/15/2010 at 09:48

    Been wanting a new desk as well but since my sister doesn’t want it and neither does my bro and throwing it out will be a waste, I’m kinda stuck with it until it’s deem unusable.

    I recently got myself a 15″ Macbook Pro and loving it. OSX took a bit of time to get use to but it’s real easy to use when u get the hang of it. Learning the on board features and software is easy as well.

    This month, there has been plenty of sales from many online retailers. I’m remaining focus and sticking to my preorders. lol

    • 10 Tommy 02/15/2010 at 17:37

      A desk is one of those things that seems to last forever. At least for a long time anyways, that’s why I wanted to get something that I really liked so I won’t be wasting it in the future. Maybe an “accident” can occur to that desk of yours? ;)

      Lovely. I was tempted to get it last September, but decided to wait for ones with i7 core. One thing I hate about their UI is the file navigation…can’t really get to like it unless you quit using windows altogether. Even then, you’ll be begging for some of the features from windows.

      A lot of the good figures are sold out already, the only ones that I was tempted to get were the Queen’s Blade girls from HLJ’s sale.

  5. 11 anonymous_object 02/15/2010 at 12:51

    Go for the 7D. 50D was not that great of a camera. I would prefer even the 40D over it ^^; Of course, the 7D is quite a bit more but if money is a big issue, just get a 550D ;)
    Lenses come later xD

    • 12 Tommy 02/15/2010 at 17:41

      I’m not sure how big a jump the 550D is over the 450D (which I’ve been using recently), but it’s not exactly what I’m looking for.

      I’ll go for the 7D if it goes on sale like it did around christmas. It went on sale for $1,700 Cdn with a 17-85mm kit lens while the 50D stayed at $1,500 Cdn with an equivalent lens. I’ll be getting a macro lens with the camera for sure though.

  6. 17 Nopy 02/17/2010 at 14:58

    I got the Chiaki nendoroid too, she’s so cute ^.^

  7. 19 Katsura-chan 02/21/2010 at 09:53

    He he Chiaki again, she’s everywhere but she’s so cute :)
    A new desk is an important buy since it’s something you’ll keep for many years.
    And you plan to buy a MacBook, great ^^ I have a Windows and a MacBook (an old one but still very fuctional) myself but i use only my macbook ha ha :)
    I love it especially for iPhoto ^^

    • 20 Tommy 03/01/2010 at 00:44

      Yup, I’ll be getting a MacBook later this year…or whenever they decide to put i7 processors into their MBPs. I don’t really have a preference between the two since they have their pros and cons depending on what you do. :)

  8. 21 Fabrice 04/01/2010 at 21:02

    Nice i like your desk layout. =) neat.

    oh irrelevant lol
    Nice loot to your collection =)


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

