GSC Black Rock Shooter

Good Smile Company’s Black Rock Shooter — the one that almost got away.  I had her on my pre-order list, dropped her, picked her up again, dropped her again, and picked her up once more.  One of the reason she was dropped twice is the fact that she was delayed one too many times.  The only reason that I picked her up (again) many times after is because she is one sexy figure.  Then, of course, I learned later that she’s a reincarnation of Hatsune Miku, which might have played a big role subliminally.

Name: Black Rock Shooter
Series: Black Rock Shooter
Scale: 1/8
Released: 12/2009
Price: ¥9,334
Sculptor: Hiro
Manufacturer: Good Smile Company

I’ll cut to the chase and tell you the one and only thing I don’t like about this figure is how her hair is sculpted.  She looks gorgeous otherwise.  Her bangs looks great, but her twin tails are a mismatch to the rest of the figure; quite crude in my honest opinion.  There is no harmony at all with the flow of her twin tails and the directionality it suggests.  The result is hair strands that looks like twisted metal from Ground Zero.  Well, the good news is this is the only complaint I have for this figure.

Aside for the blemish with her twin tails, the rest of the figure is top notch in typical Good Smile fashion.  While they didn’t take any creative liberty and stayed true to the original design, they did make a beautiful piece out of it.  Thank god they didn’t choose another lame “standing on one leg” pose with this one.  While her pose might seem boring at first, however, it is a beautiful pose that stands the test of time.

The figure is well executed overall with an emphasis on the details.  The paint job and sculpt looks great too, but it’s all about the details with BRS.  Good Smile didn’t miss a beat with this solid piece.  The wavy flow on her jacket, the creases on her hot pants, the rock cannon, the chain on her arm, and of course, the dioramic base are full of details for your eyes to ogle on all day.  Let’s not forget the scars on her body, Good Smile can make them look great too.

Another reason for the success of this figure the huge colour contrast between her light skin and full black attire.  You might think this monochromatic colour scheme is boring at first glance, but she stands out in a world of colourful anime girls.  BRS is like a black dot on a white piece of paper.

GSC also gave us the option to display her without the blue flames on her left eye, but she doesn’t have the flare (sorry for the pun) and intensity without it.

Black Rock Shooter comes with one of the best looking bases to date.  Period.   The level of detail, and the attention given to make it happen, is unrivaled.  The base elevates the elegance and the display value of this figure to another level that one can’t get a grasp of until you see her in person.  It’s the icing on the cake for this near perfect figure.  For this sole reason alone, the upcoming Black Rock Shooter Blade version won’t even come close to the beauty of this original figure, not to mention matching it.

The good:

  • Miku in disguise
  • Beautiful design and details
  • Lovely dioramic base
  • Elegant pose
  • Great angles all around
  • The best looking figure of 2009

The ugly:

  • Huge box
  • Twisted metal twin tails
  • ¥9,334 isn’t exactly cheap

If I were to give out a reward for the best figure of 2009, GSC’s Black Rock Shooter would be the recipient.  It doesn’t have the razzle dazzle of Alter’s Fate T. Harlaown, nor the popularity of Good Smile’s very own Saber Lily -Distant Avalon-, but it’s got one thing that neither of those figures have — perfect harmony.  Yes, she falls a hair short of being perfect, but she is the closest to perfection out of the pack.  She’s got a beautiful pose that will stand the test of time with great viewing angles, nice colours (or lack of it) that stands out from the crowd, and of course, top notch craftsmanship.  Being Miku with a huge weapon is definitely a bonus.  This is one figure you will not regret buying.

I’ve been falling behind on my blogroll, please let me know if you have a review.

You can also find some lovely photos at:

You might also be interested in:

Hatsune Miku L

18 Responses to “GSC Black Rock Shooter”


  1. 1 Leonia 03/01/2010 at 04:07

    Nice shooting. It’s better than mine ^^ This is a must have figure, really original with a big base ^^ Thank for the sharing !

  2. 3 Ninjovee 03/01/2010 at 06:40

    Ahhh BRS. I can only stare at her because I don’t have a scaled figure collector’s budget.

    What I loved most about her are her eyes… they’re so mystifying for some reason…

    Hopefully, she’ll get a re-release… and I hope I have money and shelf space when that happens. *nodnod*

    Oh, and as far as I know, BRS is originally just an artwork, and a Miku song of the same title was derived from that… Then again, it’s a rumor that no one can really confirm… same with the rumor of Miku == BRS

    • 4 Tommy 03/20/2010 at 03:35

      It must be because her eyes are blue and doesn’t really have any pupils/iris.

      I can see the resemblance between the two…especially between the Good Smile figures that were made.

  3. 5 Nopy 03/02/2010 at 00:35

    It’s a nice figure and all, but I’m not a huge fan of the scars. I guess they couldn’t just leave them out though, since they’re a part of the character.

    • 6 Tommy 03/20/2010 at 03:36

      I was hesitant with this purchase at first because I don’t like scars either, but they don’t look too bad on her.

  4. 7 Miette-chan 03/03/2010 at 13:58

    If there is one thing I love about this figure are the eyes, they really stand out to me.

    Now that I take a closer look she is such a nice figure. It was probably you who just got this into my head but she is indeed an elegant figure.

    I do hope to see more figures with these diorama type bases even if raises the price of the figure a bit.

    • 8 Tommy 03/20/2010 at 03:43

      It probably was me. It’s sad that I haven’t gotten around to reading what other people have to say about her. I got a lot of catching up to do when I get a break. Likewise, I wouldn’t mind if more companies take the liberty to make beautiful diorama bases for their figures, even if it means a higher price.

  5. 9 Blowfish 03/06/2010 at 16:12

    I remember how disppointed I was when I unboxed the figure and realized how small she was compared to the stuff she comes with.Shes a great figure but if I had to name a figure for 2009 itd be Alters Yoko in my Case

    • 10 Tommy 03/20/2010 at 03:56

      Well, I think the huge contrast is what makes this figure so interesting in the first place. Yoko is another great figure that I would’ve named as the figure for 2009, but she’s not merely as interesting as BRS on display imho.

  6. 11 Katsura-chan 03/07/2010 at 09:47

    I have the saber version pre-ordered. Actually i don’t like the big gun that much, a bit too big compared to how slim miku is.
    Let’s hope the saber version won’t be delayed for months just like this version …
    But either this version or another, i think Miku is absolutely gorgeous like this even if she don’t have any boobs looool
    Great review btw :)

    • 12 Tommy 03/20/2010 at 04:03

      Thanks Katsura-chan. I think her big cannon in contrast to her slim body line is a beautiful element that is lost in the blade version. The blade version looks more balanced like any other figure, but she’ll end up being “just another figure” on display. The blade version will be lost in the crowd because she doesn’t have the same visual interest as this one, which makes it stand apart form the crowd.
      Seeing what’s going on with GSC these days, I wouldn’t be that surprised if she was bumped back by three months. That’s what they did with Canaan already. It’s a domino effect until they realize that they’re actually losing business because of these delays.

  7. 13 Q 03/07/2010 at 21:42

    Isn’t “BRS being a variation of Miku” a common misconception? It’s originally supposedly just an original character illustrated by someone called huke, and after some time supercell made a song for the character with Hatsune Miku. This made the two “blended” into one character as many fans have thought due to the similarity between the two characters, while it really shouldn’t have been the case.

    Back to the figure, it’s nice to see how closely the figure is portraying to the original artwork. Her eyes really do ‘glow’ as if it’s fluroscent against the monochronic nature of her body and clothes, and the option to have the flare on the bang or not is a nice touch too. On the other hand, her scars do look kinda fresh, and can be a turn-off for some people (I don’t mind it too much but they do stand out I must say).

    The base does look nice like a diorama of some sort. I heard James (from Exelica Meteor) that the one he got has uneven bottom for the base. Hope that isn’t the case for you.

    I did see figure in the box in a shop in Hong Kong in late December – it does look nice, but somehow most shops tag the price even more expensive than ALTER’s Fate lol (well the pricing for a lot of things in Hong Kong can be quite dynamic anyway, especially with figures and things that are poseable).

    • 14 Tommy 03/20/2010 at 04:16

      To be honest, Q, I really have no idea who BRS really is. I just remember reading something about BRS being Miku after placing my pre-order. Thanks for your insightful info. :)
      The base doesn’t sit flush on my copy as well…along with my Alter Yoko, GSC’s Shuraki Mei-feng, and Rizfis…so I’m not too picky about it since I’ve become accustomed to these uneven bases and it’s not that distracting anyways.
      I remember how “dynamic” the prices were when I was there in 2008. It’s all based on demand and popularity and does not necessarily has to have any correlation with supply. If it’s short on supply, than it’ll have an even higher price. I think the demand for Alter’s Fate isn’t that high because of the amount of space required to display her. You can fit about ten BRS figures in the space required for Fate.

  8. 15 meronpan 03/20/2010 at 04:22

    now that you mention it, yeah, her twin tails don’t look particularly natural do they ^^;; i guess that was the benefit of shooting on a dark background, was harder for me to see :P

    i’m actually displaying mine without her flame eye at the moment. think it really struck a chord when i saw her kinda melting into a dark background… liked the subtlety of it or something…

    not that i don’t like the flame eye! that’s the pic i used for my twitter bg :P seemed to catch the light well in pics and looks great ^^

    • 16 Tommy 06/24/2010 at 23:12

      REALLY late with the replies. here goes.

      I know what you mean. Her eyes are so mesmerizing to look at, it’s like looking into a pool of water or something.

  9. 17 Fabrice 04/01/2010 at 21:00

    I didnt manage to get her..*sob

    but i did manage with the figma =D


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

