Alter Saber Alter -Maid Version-

Alter’s Saber Alter -Maid Version- is perhaps the best figure made to-date of this blonde beauty, even though she is dressed in her fan servicing maid outfit instead of her usual battle ready attire. Not that she can’t kick some ass with a mop and bucket.

Name: Saber Alter -Maid Version-
Series: Fate/Hollow Ataraxia
Scale: 1/6
Released: 05/2010 (Hobby Channel Exclusive)
Price: ¥8,000
Sculptor: Kuramoto Ikuma
Manufacturer: Alter

The figure looks gorgeous in typical Alter fashion with highs on quality, sculpting, paint job, and attention to detail. I wouldn’t expect anything less from Alter. Everything about the figure is top notch, too bad the same can’t be said about her accessories.

With all the frills and laces on her maid costume, you would think that Mr. Kuramoto would take the time to give the same level of detail on her accessories — namely her mop and bucket. Don’t get me wrong, she still looks badass with her mop and bucket, but she can look MORE badass with a better looking mop and bucket. The bucket itself looks like cheap plastic instead of the old rusty look the designers were trying to pull off. The last time I checked, metal buckets with that much rust on it are full of dents and scratches as well. Her mop have the same problem as her bucket, a cheap plastic look.

The good news is you don’t really notice the mop and bucket that much in reality because your gaze is locked at either her sexy pair of legs, her pretty face, or mesmerized by her stunning back view.

Sexy eyes.

The checkered base that came with Saber Alter looks somewhat cheap in a way, but I would definitely prefer this base over the dull circular disc that was used in Alter’s original Saber maid figure.

The good:

  • Alter quality
  • Great attention to detail
  • Chibi Saber included
  • Saber Alter without the veins
  • Lovely maid uniform

The ugly:

  • Hobby Channel Exclusive
  • Cheap plastic mop and bucket

Alter’s Hobby Channel Exclusive Saber Alter -Maid Version- is definitely a must buy if you’re a Saber Alter fan, and plus one if you also happen to be a fan of girls in maid costumes. The figure is beautiful, quite possibly the best maid figure I’ve seen to date even if the mop and bucket is somewhat mediocre. And as a bonus, Alter also included a Chibi Saber maid for your amusement. Kudos to Alter for releasing another well made figure.

You can also find some lovely photos at:

You might also be interested in:

Saber Lily L

22 Responses to “Alter Saber Alter -Maid Version-”


  1. 1 Miette-chan 06/25/2010 at 04:28

    I always wanted the original Alter Maid Saber, being a popular figure never got her on the second hand market.

    I wish this hand’t been an exclusive so it hadn’t passed under my radar otherwise I would have bought her.

    Although compared to the original I find this one a little too pale, or perhaps the original to bright. Either way gorgeous figure, I like maids and I like Saber, too bad I didn’t get her.

    • 2 Tommy 07/03/2010 at 17:32

      Well, Saber Alter should be pale compared to Saber. It’s part of her character design, and one of the reason I like Saber Alter more than Saber.

      It is quite sad that some of the better looking figures are exclusives.

  2. 3 reinfinitum 06/25/2010 at 07:27

    There’s this dark aura this figure emits that makes it so awesome! That chibi saber is also so cute!

  3. 4 anonymous_object 06/25/2010 at 10:53

    Absolutely gorgeous figure. I really wanted her but she was an exclusive and I already had ordered too many other items around that time so I did pass on her. Still, I would love to have this figure.
    I love the detail on her dress and stockings. Though it seems to me that her facial expression looks a bit odd from some angles. Even so, she’s a lovely figure!

    • 5 Tommy 07/03/2010 at 17:34

      I dropped a couple orders so I could grab her instead back in the day. And the good news is, some of those figures I dropped are being re-released by Alter. YES!
      She only have one good angle like most figures, and tend to look awkward in other angles.

  4. 6 Guy 06/25/2010 at 16:02

    Those are some awesome photos. They look professional.

    I love mine :)

  5. 10 Tier 06/30/2010 at 15:54

    Holy crap you’re still alive. Saber looks great! Alter needs to do more figures in 1/6 scale rather than 1/8. I thought about trying to get her but I’m more of a nun guy than a maid guy. Especially battle nuns, which there aren’t nearly enough of in anime.

    • 11 Guy 07/01/2010 at 20:17

      Where’s the excitement about my recent return or review? ;)

      Yeah, it’s good to collect people again ;)

    • 13 Tommy 07/03/2010 at 17:39

      I know, I can’t believe I’m still alive. I hope I can be livelier when I get my new computer and camera so I don’t get pissed off as often.

      I agree that they should make more 1/6 scale figures. I also agree that there aren’t enough priestesses/nuns in animes.

  6. 14 Q 07/01/2010 at 12:08

    Didn’t know this figure is an exclusive one. All I knew about it was that it kept on getting delays after delays (but it could be another figure that was similar to this)…

    An interesting figure. I like how Alter Saber has a ‘tainted’ feel as the colours look more of a dull tone and colours looked less saturated and more yellowed.

    You’re not too happy with the mop and bucket? You do seem to have a higher expectations on figures than many others I know. Have you considered doing some touch-ups on them yourself? Some weathering techniques maybe what you want (if you are willing to do so that is).

    • 15 Guy 07/01/2010 at 20:16

      This figure was only delayed one month, so it’s probably not.

      The bucket and mop are slightly different in feel, the mop is too shiny, the bucket not shiny enough, due to different materials used, probably.

    • 16 Tommy 07/03/2010 at 17:50

      My expectations (or standards) isn’t really that high. I find that a lot of people let a lot of things slide because of character love, or any other reason. I just don’t like compromises when I’m spending a ridiculous amount of money on this hobby. A figure review doesn’t do much in reality since most of the figures are already sold out by the time these reviews are out. Another reason why I haven’t posted as much recently.

      As for the touch-ups, I’m not going to trouble myself with something like that. I don’t have the skills to do that…if I do, I’d be building resin kits instead of buying figures.

  7. 17 Blowfish 07/18/2010 at 15:01

    Wait! Why is the fact that Saber Alter is without her Veins on teh Pro side?
    Isnt that one of the most coolsome things about Alter Saber?

    If I had to pick one flaw Id say that she isnt,like the other Saber Maid by Alter,too faithful when it comes to her facial sculpt.

    Otherwise theres much too love and I especially love her Pale skintone <3

    • 18 Tommy 07/27/2010 at 20:40

      Saber Alter without her veins on the pro side is my personal preference. I prefer girls with nice skin. I don’t mind her face with veins, but I hate that bloodshoot eyes with the yellowish pupils. That’s why I like the mask she wears.

      I’m not too familiar with the series, so I can’t really comment on how true to character she is. I just like how she looks. Yes, I’m shallow. :P

  8. 19 Ninjovee 07/20/2010 at 09:41

    OMG Uber late in seeing this. I really should get back to reading my RSS reader D;

    Awesome review on a very epic figure. I somehow regret not trying to get my hands on Alter’s Saber Alter Maid as I was trying to complete my Saber Lily collection — not to mention she costs quite a lot. After seeing several reviews, I’m pretty much regretful about not opting to buy her… so I will now add her to my ever-growing wishlist/to buy list.

    As for half of your blogroll being dead… I’m guilty of that. I should post something new soon D;

    • 20 Tommy 07/27/2010 at 20:50

      This figure looks really nice, but I don’t like the pearlescent paint they used on her dress. To be honest, I don’t think she’s worth anything more than her retail price. So it was probably a good call on your part not to get her.

      Are you planning on buying GSC’s Saber -Triumphant Excalibur-? I think it is much more worthwhile to complete GSC’s set.

      • 21 Ninjovee 07/29/2010 at 08:19

        As much as I would love to get Triumphant Excalibur… my money is pretty much locked on to the incoming Nendoroids. I’m pretty happy in realizing that I’ve completed my Saber Lily wishlist (which I realized I have yet to make reviews for ALL of them). I also have the FSN nendo puchi incoming as well as Nendoroid Saber on pre-order so I’m not really lacking much in the Saber department ^^;

        Another thing why I’m not so keen on getting Triumphant Excalibur is that I’m quite afraid of what will happen to her after a while of putting her in display. She’s in a pose that would definitely suggest that she might get some leaning problems — or worse problems after some time… and it’s not really good since I live in a tropical country where it can get hot and humid most of the time ~_~; /blabber

        I actually like how the shine of the paint gives off a certain air compared to regular Saber maid, but yeah… she would probably have a hefty price tag with her now.

        • 22 Tommy 08/02/2010 at 23:10

          I think the metal peg on Triumphant Excalibur will hold, unless GSC screws up with the material used on her legs. Unity Mei held out so far using the same method, so I don’t have much concern about her being a leaner.


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

