June pre-orders update…

It’s been a good six months since I updated my pre-order list. I was quite content to see that list dwindle down to two figures at one point, until the figure gods at Alter announced this beautiful Asuka Langley Shikinami Test Type Plug Suit figure. I’m eager to see what Alter will do with her base. No…this isn’t the only figure I pre-ordered.

I’m not really a fan of Little Busters (I don’t even know what it is), but this Sasasegawa Sasami figure by Alter looks really cute…and tickles a couple fancies. Thigh highs, school uniform, and twin tails anyone? Reminds me of Miku for some reason. I just really admire how pretty she looks…and how pretty she’ll look sitting on my desk.

The next beautiful lady by Alter is none other than Selvaria Bles from Valkyria Chronicles. I just recently finished watching the anime, and boy, what a crappy ending. I can say it was uninspiring if it will make you feel better. Anyways, I liked Alicia in the beginning, but she turned out to be one of those annoying cry baby types…unlike Selvaria here. I’m not a fan of big boobs or anything, but I adore Selvaria for her loyalty and determination…to beat the crap out of Alicia that is.

The figure looks gorgeous, but I don’t really like where she’s looking in relation to where she’s pointing her spear. Either way, I am looking forward to this one.

Ah, good ol’Alter and their re-releases. They never disappoint me. I dreaded over canceling Yagyu Jyube after I saw how pretty she looked in real life. I searched for her in the aftermarket, but her price was outrageous. It was a no brainer for me when I saw her up for pre-order again. Another figure that I look forward to an Alter re-release is Shihodo Narika, another big mistake last year.

I didn’t plan on pre-ordering GSC’s BRS -anime version- because I already have a BRS figure, but then, I’m a sucker for figures with dynamic poses. I hope they made a really sturdy peg for her to stand on.

Dead Master? Who is she? I don’t know. She’s a matching pair for one of my favourite figures though, and that’s enough to warrant a purchase for me. It’d be wicked if the eyes on the skull glows or something, don’t you think so? I wonder how many more “original BRS characters” they’ll milk us with. I know I’ll buy them…sad…but true.

GSC’s Saber -Triumphant Excalibur- was on the list since last year, I think. She looks great, and I’ll be waiting for a Saber Alter figure from Good Smile once this has been released.

I was so impressed by how good Kotobukiya’s Asuka Langley Shikinami looked, I’m buying another one! This time Kotobukiya is releasing her in her smoking hot Test Type Plugsuit from EVA 2.0. I was going to watch it, but the sub I got was in Espanol…so I have to look for another one. I can’t wait.

Max Factory’s Saber Alter figma will be my first figma in 7 months. I used to buy random characters that I liked from whatever series because they were fun to fool around with. But I stopped buying them because they started to break on me and Max Factory was being too greedy and started releasing multiple versions of the same character where you have to buy all of them if you just wanted the accessories that it came with. So I made a vow not to buy another one unless it’s one of my favourite character like Saber Alter or the upcoming Asuka Langley and Ayanami Rei.

Max Factory’s Kagamine Rin -Nuclear Fusion- is definitely one of those outlandish, and no-so-popular, figures that people will wonder why I would buy it. I like it because she looks different. And Vocaloid figures are never released without Miku.

MegaHouse’s Klan Klang looks awesome, though I prefer her micron version more. Maybe they’ll re-release her micron version as well?

Did you know I fancy Orchid Seed figures? I’ve never bought one, but that’s about to change because I have three of their figures on pre-order at the moment. The first is their re-release of Super Soniko with Shimapan which, in my opinion, looks much better than the original t-back version. I remember reading about a nasty gap on the arm of the original Super Soniko to facilitate the removal of her apron. It looks like they fixed it by giving her arm ribbons. I wonder how much have their quality improved.

Another Orchid Seed figure that I fancied and is getting a variant re-release is their Sweet Body Hustler -Cardinal Red Version-. I think she looks more mature in this version, and I kinda like the red and black colour scheme a little bit more than the original. I don’t recall reading about any problems with her original release aside from a gap between her upper and lower body in full cast off mode. I doubt I’ll be displaying her like that anyways.

And lastly, I’m ordering Orchid Seed’s Sweet Body Rider because I’m looking for something different for my collection. Orchid Seed definitely delivers in that category. Looking sexy at the same time is definitely a welcomed bonus for me.

As I just mentioned, I’m looking for something different for my collection because it does indeed get quite boring to look at and review multiple figures from the same series all the time. One notable reason for this new change is thanks to Hobby Search for their recent promotions of offering 15% off all figures permanently due to the competition from AmiAmi, and having a special promotion offering a whopping 50% off shipping on all orders and pre-orders placed between June 16th and July 11th that are being paid by Paypal.

What does this mean? It means I’ll be saving about $100 on shipping on top of the $200 I save on the figures. It’s definitely a sweet deal that a shopaholic like myself can’t resist. Good times.

15 Responses to “June pre-orders update…”


  1. 1 motaku96 07/06/2010 at 15:29

    Mmmm~ I’ve got super soniko on preorder too. :3

    If you’re still looking for Evangelion 2.22, UTW-Thora did a good sub.
    http://utw.me/2010/05/30/evangelion-2-22-you-can-not-advance/

  2. 3 Tier 07/06/2010 at 22:19

    I’m not sure which combination of Asuka figures I want. I prefer her regular plugsuit much more than the test suit, but the Alter and Kotobukiya figures look so nice. I’m thinking that getting the older Kotobukiya figure and Alter’s upcoming one might be the best combination for me.

    I’m still waffling on the blonde Vocaloid girl, since I don’t really know any of the Vocaloid characters other than Miku (and I don’t really know if there’s anything to know about them). On the other hand, I kinda like it since, as you say, it looks so distinctive. I’d get her for sure if she were wearing less clothing, or maybe if Hobby Search were still taking preorders for her so that I could save on the shipping bill; as it is, I think HLJ’s the only big store I’ve seen that’s still accepting orders.

    Rider’s definitely looking fantastic and I hope that Orchid Seed adapts more of Happoubi Jin’s art. Speaking of Rider, I wonder if GSC will be doing a version of the FSN character. For that matter, I wonder where Rin Tohsaka and Saber Alter are?

    • 4 Tommy 07/06/2010 at 22:57

      I think you got it right with the Alter Test Type Plugsuit and the first Koto Asuka in her original suit, though the new one looks really nice too. I already got the first one so I can go ahead and knock myself out with the new Koto release.

      If you get lucky, AmiAmi might have Rin available after she’s released. It’s happened with them before where a figure is sold out during pre-order and becomes available after release…thanks to people who don’t pay their bills. HLJ is probably the only place where you can find sold out figures now because their price don’t budge despite the fact Hobby Search and AmiAmi are offering 15%+ discounts on a lot of their merchandise. I haven’t ordered from HLJ since December. I wonder when they’ll start to crack.

      I think I’ve seen a unpainted Rin somewhere, so she’s definitely coming…and my hopes are high for Saber Alter being next on the release block. I hope GSC fixed their quality issues…I just opened my Canaan today (after sitting in the box for 2 months) and I’m not impressed at all.

  3. 5 Miette-chan 07/06/2010 at 22:56

    Quite a big list, I have added Dead Master to my list and will reserve Klan just in case too.

    I’m still on the fence for Yagyu Jyube since just like you I regretted not getting her after I saw pictures of her. Same thing for Asuka, if get her I will feel tempted to get that Rei figure Alter released a while ago to have them as a set.

    I never finished the Valkyria Chronicles anime but the game was freaking awesome.

    • 6 Tommy 07/07/2010 at 00:09

      I’d get Yagyu Jyube if I were you. Let’s not make the same mistake, twice. I happen to already have Alter’s Rei on hand, so it’d be interesting how they fit together since that Rei figure isn’t the most interesting to display.

  4. 8 Nopy 07/07/2010 at 21:12

    Even with the discounts, I wouldn’t be able to afford all those figures at once. I like your choices though. I’m really tempted to get Sasami and Dead Master.

  5. 10 Blowfish 07/18/2010 at 14:48

    Here are some things you ought to know about Super Soniko:

    The Shimapan Version looks better in the Butt Department.The Original Versions Thong looked more like its broken instead of crawling up her ass.
    I wouldnt mind the shoulder gap since its only visible when displayed castoff and I dont think youre the type of guy that will do this.

    And lastly shes not SFW when displayed with her apron since her nipples still are somewhat visible under it.

    Oh and lets not forget that here Valentine Choco is annoying since it falls off fast

    Otherwise Good Choice with Rider :D
    Im looking forward to that review

    • 11 Tommy 07/27/2010 at 20:37

      It’s true that I won’t be displaying Soniko naked (all the time), but it’s still nice to have a figure that doesn’t have defects like that. And I’m fine with her nipples showing through…Chu Chu Astram will finally have a partner in crime!

      Oh yes, I’ll be sure to have Rider’s review up asap.

  6. 12 Q 07/21/2010 at 14:07

    Oh the list seems to have grown a lot from last time!

    And wow 4 ALTER and 3 GSC figures. Don’t know much about the Little Busters one but I can see how you’re falling for it ^^; Man her ribbons look a lot like some animal ears for sure, and her pose is sure quite enticing there with the legs lol.

    And yes I too am falling for the BRS animation ver. OTL Let’s just hope the end product is worth the expectation, but I shouldn’t hold too much hope for it. Well since I’ve pre-ordered it (the only static figure this year, compared to Fate being the only one last year), I’ll wait for this one slowly along with the figma one.

    • 13 Tommy 07/27/2010 at 21:01

      This list of mine just got a little bigger since I posted this. =_=”

      Fate -Phantom Minds- and the K-On! crew…and all those tempting future releases displayed at WonFes.

      I’m hoping the same for all those GSC figures I have on the list. Now all we can do is wait.

  7. 14 Leonia 07/24/2010 at 09:59

    Shad just ordered Asuka, and I hestitate for Sasami. She is so cute, and Alter will make beautiful work !

  8. 15 animefigures 10/09/2010 at 08:03

    I would love to order Alter’s Asuka. She’s cute and her base is amazing. Will have to think hard about it!


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

