GSC Canaan

Canaan was the anime that had so much potential when the first episode rolled out last year with its action packed sequences that blew my socks off. Sadly, everything went downhill from thereon. It is quite fitting (and depressing) that Good Smile Company followed suit and produced a figure with the same qualities as the show itself. A figure that had so much potential, but the end product was never meant to be.

Name: Canaan
Series: Canaan
Scale: 1/8
Released: 04/2010
Price: ¥8,381
Sculptor: Kunihito Iwamoto
Manufacturer: Good Smile Company

The highlight of the figure is definitely her pose. Good Smile ditched the lame standing on one leg pose found in so many of their figures in favour of Canaan’s more dramatic, more gravity defying, more eye catching flying in mid-air pose which I strongly approve of. Her cape is cleverly attached to the base to give it a sleek slipping off the shoulders in mid-flight look that pushes the creative envelop in figure making.

The concept for this figure was good, but Good Smile Company failed to deliver. The end product is a far cry from what we saw in the pre-order photos. The most notable change is that her cape is made from three pieces glued together instead of being one solid piece as shown in the their official photos. The result is two nasty seam lines running the length of her cape. Sadly, those weren’t the only seam line visible on this figure. On top of that, the finish is crude as well with many rough surfaces and scratches that needs some attention.

However, the figure’s fine sculpt and beautiful paint work saved this figure from being a disastrous release for Good Smile and Company. An alternative head with her trademark glowing red eyes that appears when she uses synesthesia would have been a nice touch; but alas, it was not meant to be.

The good:

  • Amazing pose
  • Great paint job

The ugly:

  • Low quality
  • Large seam lines
  • Worlds apart from the promo photos

The overall figure still looks great, thanks to the beautiful paint work and stunning pose. But with all due respect, this figure simply lacks in the quality department that we’ve praised GSC for in previous releases. Her finish is quite crude, and the quality is definitely not up to par for a figure at Canaan’s price range. The least I expect is her cape to be molded in one piece.  It’s a shame that Good Smile Company couldn’t deliver the goods this time.

12 Responses to “GSC Canaan”


  1. 1 Miette-chan 07/27/2010 at 23:40

    I was attracted to this figure exactly because of the pose. It was dramatic and dynamic like Canaan herself was in the show.

    I’m kinda disappointed that GSC didn’t include an alternate face with the red eyes.

    At the end of the day though, even in the pre-release pictures I found something off about the figure something I didn’t like. I haven’t been able to pin point why exactly that is yet.

    • 2 Tommy 08/02/2010 at 23:04

      I didn’t find anything I didn’t really like from looking at the pre-release photos. I have a lot to say about the final product though. Even the angle she’s pointing her gun at is off.

  2. 3 Nopy 07/28/2010 at 21:43

    Splitting the cape into different pieces really does take away from the overall look. Personally, I think her back was sculpted really well.

  3. 5 Tier 07/28/2010 at 23:46

    Those seams on the cape do stand out quite a bit, it’s unfortunate that they didn’t take the care to remove or reduce them. I don’t think I’ve actually purchased a single GSC figure this year, nor do I have one preordered. I used to consider Alter, GSC, and MF to be the three best figure manufacturers but these days, it’s just Alter for me.

    It’s also to unfortunate that the show doesn’t sound too great, since I liked Noir and Canaan looks to be in the same vein. I’m still going to try to make some time to watch it, but I guess I’ll keep my expectations tempered.

    • 6 Tommy 08/02/2010 at 23:07

      I was never into MF figures, I thought their poses were quite dull to being with. Just like you, I think it’s just Alter that doesn’t disappoint nowadays.

  4. 7 BioToxic 07/29/2010 at 16:11

    I didn’t realise her cape had such obvious seam lines.

    It’s a real shame GSC were unable to reproduce the Canaan from the promo shots. She kept getting delayed too and they still only managed this.

    Her face looks totally void and uninteresting, and the paint round her hair line looks jagged. At least her dynamic pose is still intact and interesting to look at.

    While I agree the Canaan anime series started out better than it ended I personally still enjoyed it. I’m hoping to get the R1 DVD/Blu-ray when they’re released.

    • 8 Tommy 08/02/2010 at 23:15

      Yeah, the seam lines were something the pre-order photos didn’t show. Way to go GSC!

      One word sums up the final product, “meh.”

  5. 9 anonymous_object 08/01/2010 at 22:15

    Gotta agree with you on the anime. It started out with lots of potential but gradually degraded to crap. It’s too bad this figure also turned out with problems. GSC’s quality seems to be hit or miss these days. Maybe it’s just me but her hair looks pretty bad, particularly her front bangs :-/ I do like her pose those, very dynamic ^^

    • 10 Tommy 08/02/2010 at 23:19

      It’s not just you, her hair does look really bad with the rough finish.

      I haven’t bought enough GSC figures recently to know how much their figures have degraded. One thing I do notice is that the pegs on a couple of their ’08 releases are starting to break on me. They certainly don’t stand the test of time.

  6. 11 Q 08/11/2010 at 15:46

    I remember reading James from Exelica-Meteor criticising the figure a lot. After looking at the original promotional shots there appears to be a lot of effects that are watered down from the prototype. A lot of the shadings are gone, especially for the head, and the seam line of the cape is kinda unexpected (at least not being that obvious). What I am disappointed after looking at the actual thing is the base itself. Unless one has some nice weathering kits to do some touch-ups, it’s not looking good in my book (since I love dioramas).

    Too bad with the cape, and I really liked how they’ve got it flying off Canaan there with no rods etc sticking out of it. Btw can it be removed like it is seen in the promo shots?

    • 12 Tommy 08/11/2010 at 23:29

      The cape can be removed from the base, but they didn’t include anything to cover the two holes on the base that the cape attaches to. So I wouldn’t consider that as a display option. It really sucks because it was one figure I was actually looking forward to last year. Nothing like the prototype. One or two more figures like this, I’ll be through with them.


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

