New stuff for February to July

I haven’t posted about any loot for the last six months because I haven’t gotten much in the loot department recently. I was able to save quite a bit of money during that stretch…too bad it’s all going towards the next five months of pre-orders.

If you feel so inclined to know what I bought before the jump I got 6 figures, 2 Dengeki G’s magazine, and one Dakimakura.

What I bought in the last six months doesn’t even come close to what I bought during the same period last year when I accumulated 56 figures (statues, figma, revoltech, nendos, etc). But what I bought this year is definitely more interesting than what I bought last year.

Just a heads up, one of the Dakimakura below might be unsafe for work.

I received Alter’s Nanoha in March because AmiAmi decided to ship it to me two months after her release. I pretty much lost all motivation to review her by that time. She’s not that electric of a figure anyways.

Alter’s Saber Alter -Maid Version-, MegaHouse’s Azusa Miura, and GSC’s Canaan have all been reviewed recently and Max Factory’s Tamaki and Alpha x Omega’s Ranka are next on the review list. In case you haven’t noticed, I also got a new Ikea Expedit shelf for more figure display real estate. I love Ikea furnitures because you can buy furniture from different series’ and the colour will still match.

I bought a copy of Dengeki G’s Festival Vol. 16 Marriage Royale (Minato Ohba) and Dengeki G’s Festival Comic Vol. 12 (Momoyo Kawakami) because of their respective Dakimakura Cover. I love both freebies since they look (and feel) really nice.

My favourite item from this entire loot is definitely the Asuka Dakimakura. I got her for ¥5,000 with 1/2 price shipping when Hobby Search had her on sale last month. It was quite a steal since she came with the pillow casing, which would normally cost the same.

The only downside to Asuka’s cover is the quality of artwork, she’s single sided, and the fabric feels really rough. But she’s Asuka, they can get away with murder with her. I can sleep at ease now that I’ve got Dakimakura checked off my list.

17 Responses to “New stuff for February to July”


  1. 1 Nopy 08/02/2010 at 00:11

    We have the same shelves ^.^

    I hope you don’t mind me asking where you got Dengeki G’s Festival Vol. 16? I’m looking for Vol. 17, but it’s not available at my usual places.

    • 2 Tommy 08/02/2010 at 14:43

      I got my Dengeki G’s Festival vol. 16 at AmiAmi. But Vol. 17 was sold out when I saw the pre-order going up for it.

      • 3 Nopy 08/03/2010 at 18:50

        Dang, I was hoping it was someplace other than AmiAmi. So far that’s the only place I’ve found that had it.

  2. 4 Ninjovee 08/02/2010 at 10:24

    Such a lovely shelf! I would attempt to buy an IKEA shelf for myself if only the customs people aren’t money hungry sharks… but maybe in the future.

    Funny how I’m the exact opposite as you are when it comes to figure purchases. The bulk of my collection has been bought this year and after checking the total I’ve spent on my figures, it was quite the a shocking amount that I didn’t expect at all (of course, it still can’t compare to most people out there) ~_~;

    The dakimakura are just lovely. I feel a bit weird mentioning this, but I’ve always wanted a dakimakura of my own as well. Just that, I’m not exactly sure how I’m going to just leave it in my room out in the open…being a girl and all. LOL. But I do want a huge pillow that’s specifically for hugging XD

    • 5 Tommy 08/02/2010 at 23:27

      You don’t have local Ikea stores? Shipping would cost a pretty penny.

      My figure purchases have been reduced by a lot because I’ve acquired most of the figures on my wishlist last year, so I’m only buying new releases now. I’ve also kept my urge for impulse buys under control, and there haven’t been that many sales that caught my attention recently. And I missed out on a couple of the sales that I was actually interested in. I can’t complain about having more money in my pocket.

      I know a lot of girls that have hugging pillows…they just don’t have anime babes printed on the covers. You would love something like this Asuka dakimakura because the NERV and Evangelion logo are printed on the back side, so it doesn’t look as weird if that’s what you’re afraid of.

  3. 6 biotoxic 08/02/2010 at 15:16

    Liking the Momoyo Kawakami Dakimakura. I’ve got one of Shinra Kuonji from They are my Noble Masters – another VN by Minato Soft. Would be awesome if one of the VN translators picked either of these titles up.

    • 7 Tommy 08/02/2010 at 23:32

      I haven’t seen a Shinra Kuonji Dakimakura before. Where did you get it from?
      It would be nice if VN makers started releasing official English versions.

      • 8 biotoxic 08/08/2010 at 05:38

        I got the Dakimakura from the first DVD of They are my Noble Masters. It has Shinra on one side and Benisu <3 on the other. There's also 2 based on their (Shinra & Benisu) VN counterparts at GoodsTrain – but I've only ever seen fakes on eBay so far.

        Yeah would be nice if all creators (anime, manga etc) released globally. No one wants to take the plunge it seems :\.

  4. 9 reinfinitum 08/03/2010 at 09:36

    Your collection sure has gotten really big.
    Lovely Asuka dakimura, I’m sure you’re having sweet dreams every night.

    I wanted to order the Dengeki G’s Festival vol.17 but I can’t find it anywhere. T_T

    • 10 Tommy 08/03/2010 at 17:34

      Yeah, I have to be picky about what I buy now because I’ve pretty much ran out of wall space for my figures, and not to mention the time it takes to dust them down. :S

      I was like “wtf” when I saw pre-orders closed for Vol. 17 before it even opened for the English site on AmiAmi.

  5. 11 Miette-chan 08/03/2010 at 15:32

    It has never occurred to me to check Hobby Search for sales on Dakimakura before.

    That new shelf looks pretty cool, how I wish I had more floor space to add more shelves and what not.

    Lucky you that you are not spending as much as before, total opposite from me since this year I started to get a lot more scaled figures than my usual batches of figmas.

    • 12 Tommy 08/03/2010 at 17:39

      You should check Hobby Search’s bargain bin often because they got some really good deals going on all the time.

      I didn’t have enough space to put the shelf between my bed frame and the wall (needed an extra centimeter because my walls aren’t straight), so I had to build a platform to raise the shelf.

      You’ll hit my stage in collecting soon enough, and you’ll just be buying the few figures that interests you.

  6. 13 Fabienne 08/04/2010 at 09:15

    I really like your figure shelf wall, it looks very stylisch and orderly. ;)

  7. 15 Tier 08/05/2010 at 12:51

    Big love for dakimakura, the English-speaking peoples of the world need more dakimakura reviews. I googled for that phrase a few days back to see if anybody else liked them, and I was disappointed to find that my site is like three of the first dozen hits. I guess they’re still kind of a niche thing.

    Did Amiami screw up your order or something? Two months is a crazy long time for them to get your figure mailed out.

    • 16 Tommy 08/05/2010 at 18:48

      I have no clue what was going on over at AmiAmi. They didn’t send me their request for payment, or any notification for that matter, until mid-March. They did the same with Canaan, though it was one month later with her. I decided to switch back to Hobby Search after they started offering 15% off all figures in May. AmiAmi is so slow in sending out their shipments.

      I doubt this dakimakura thing will catch on in the English speaking market because of its outrageous prices. They might have a chance if they decide to release Final Fantasy dakimakuras, minus the naked girl on the back side (their parents won’t give them the money to buy something like that.)

  8. 17 Blowfish 08/29/2010 at 14:12

    You know you kinda got me excited about a slightly nsfw Dakimakura but then there wasnt one to be seen. What a downer ;-P

    You know I am always amazed how neat and tidy your wall of figures looks.Makes me wanna own your room


Leave a Reply

counter for wordpress

